attack vs call of the hunted

dadejay

New Member
example

my opponent has face up tribe inf virus in attack position...

he decides to attack so i use call of the hunte and i summon breaker the magical warrior..

now what's happen???

1 die all monsters
2 he can decide to stop the attack and use the effect so only my monster die

if the answer is the 2nd why????
 
The number of monsters on the defending player's side of the field has changed so a replay is triggered, this means that the opponent can decide not to attack with TIV. If they've other monsters which had yet to attack they may, if they wish, declare attacks with any/all of these and then attack with TIV. If they decide not to attack with anything then they end their Battle Phase and go to their Main Phase 2. Once in Main Phase 2 they can then of course use TIV's effect to kill Breaker anyway.
 
Well if TIV was the only monster your opponent had then its a case of they either decide to attack your Breaker with it or wait and use TIV's effect in the 2nd Main Phase, so yeah, it'll protect you for the turn.
 
but breaker is summon after the decision of attack

my opponent tell i attack....

i flip call and summon breaker

after he can decide don't attack??? it's not valid

i can decide to attack, my opponent play a trap and after i tell no, i don't attack....
 
but breaker is summon after the decision of attack

my opponent tell i attack....

i flip call and summon breaker

after he can decide don't attack??? it's not valid

i can decide to attack, my opponent play a trap and after i tell no, i don't attack....
 
The difference with summoning a monster during a Battle Step and flipping any general trap is that changing the number of monsters on the field triggers a replay. If you declare an attack and your opponent activates a trap that increases the ATK value of one of his/her monsters, the monsters on the field itself aren't changing, just the ATK/DEF value. The attack was still declared and you still must complete it.
 
Because the effect of Call of the Haunted changes the number of monsters on your (the non-turn player's) side of the field, if it is activated in response to an attack declaration by the turn player it triggers a replay, so once it resolves it resets the game state to just before your opponent declared that attack but now you have the monster summoned by Call of the Haunted.This means that your opponent now has the option of either attacking or not attacking with any of his monsters which haven't yet attacked, just as he would had Breaker been there before the attack declaration anyway.
 
When a monster is Special Summoned during a Battle Step after a monster has declared an attack, a Replay occurs. The attacking monster stops attacking and the game is reset to the point before the attack occurred.

In the situation you presented this is what happens:
Tribe-Infecting Virus declares an attack against your Life Points.
You activate Call of the Haunted, targeting Breaker in your Graveyard.
Breaker is Special Summoned . . . The attack is now cancelled by game rules (the Replay rule). Tribe-Infecting Virus does not complete its attack and may attack again if it wishes, or it can choose not to attack.

Consider this, instead. It might help clear things up for you.
I have Tribe-Infecting Virus on the field. You have Kuriboh (300 ATK) in face-up Attack position. I declare an attack on Kuriboh with my Tribe-Infecting Virus. You activate Call of the Haunted to Special Summon Breaker. Tribe-Infecting Virus stops its attack right there, even though the target for the attack (Kuriboh) is still legal. The game sees it as not having attacked yet (although, it has declared an attack which is important for cards like Black Luster Soldier, but don't worry about that right now). Tribe-Infecting Virus can declare an attack against Kuriboh again, if you wish, it can declare an attack against Breaker if you wish, or it can choose not to attack. Again, this is because the monsters on the field changed after the attack declaration.

In the case of Tribe versus your Life Points, it is the same situation. The monsters on the field changed, so the attack has to stop. A Replay occurs.
 
Back
Top