botomless trap hole versus call of the haunted

woltarr

New Member
good night to everyone in this nice forun

it is good to be here once more

well this is a scenario that happened in a local tourney

player 1 plays monster reborn

it resolves and a monster is special sumoned

player 2 responds with botomless trap hole

player 1 chain with call of the haunted

so we have

link 1 BTH
link 2 call of the haunted

what will happen?

1- BTH will RFg both monsters?
2-BTH will RFG only the monster sumoned by monster reborn?
3- BTH will RFG the monster sumoned by call of the haunted?

any imput will be apreciated

woltarr
 
"Bottomless Trap Hole" -> "Call of the Haunted" (and let's assume for a moment that "Jinzo" wasn't the target since we all know that would negate all the traps).

"Call of the Haunted" resolves first, Special Summoning a monster to the field.

"Bottomless Trap Hole" resolves, now looking at the monster that was Special Summoned by "Call of the Haunted". If that monster has an ATK of 1500+, it would be removed from play. The monster Special Summoned by "Monster Reborn" would not be affected because the "window" was missed once another monster was Special Summoned.
 
Because "Bottomless Trap Hole" looks only at the most recent monster (or monsters in the case of a "Cyber Jar" flip) that was summoned to the field. In this case, when "Call of the Haunted" resolves, it changed the game state. Yes a monster was still summoned to the field, but the exact monster is no longer the same.

It's similar to the ruling on the FAQ where if you play "Monster Reborn" and then chain "Call of the Haunted" and after both resolve your opponent activates "Bottomless Trap Hole", the only monster affected is the one that was more recently summoned to the field (the one by "Monster Reborn" in this example).

And, it's similar to where it you summon "Archfiend Soldier", your opponent responds with "Bottomless Trap Hole", and then you chain an already active "Ultimate Offering", and offer the "Archfiend Soldier" to normal summon "Summoned Skull". During the resolution, "Bottomless Trap Hole" looks at what was just summoned (the "Summoned Skull" in this case) and since the conditions are correct, "Summoned Skull" is removed from play.
 
Back
Top