Chain Resolution

ChaosMachine

New Member
How do these 2 situations resolve. DD Warrior Lady destroys Newdoria and Don Zaloog destroys an attack position Sangan? Which effects resolve first?
 
OoOoOo.... That sub-step drives me nuts!! There isnt even really an issue with Sub-Step since the monster you are battling doesnt activate his effect until the "Send to Graveyard" portion of the Damage Step.

Don's effect activates when he does damage, which can only occur after Damage Calculation has completed to determine if Sangan is destroyed, and how much overflow damage will be inflicted.

Does it matter when it happens between that point and before you send Sangan to the Graveyard? It will happen before Sangan goes.
 
???

I', still confused. I understand Sagan and Don and DD Warrior Lady and Newdoria but I forgot to inquire about Sangan and Cyber Jar. If Cyberjan destroys Sangan what happens first. Part of the reason I'm asking these types of questions is because there have been a few questions at tournaments about cards missing the window to activate their effects and usually theres no judge!
 
ChaosMachine said:
I', still confused. I understand Sagan and Don and DD Warrior Lady and Newdoria but I forgot to inquire about Sangan and Cyber Jar. If Cyberjan destroys Sangan what happens first. Part of the reason I'm asking these types of questions is because there have been a few questions at tournaments about cards missing the window to activate their effects and usually theres no judge!
A legitimate question. If Sangan is on the field and a Cyber Jar is flipped, Sangan will be sent to the graveyard during the resolution of Cyber Jar. After resolution, Sangan's effect will begin a new chain with its activation.
 
ChaosMachine said:
Part of the reason I'm asking these types of questions is because there have been a few questions at tournaments about cards missing the window to activate their effects and usually theres no judge!
This was his statement. I have bolded the 'important' part.

Now, where in your post did you specifically mention missing the window or missing the timing?

THAT is why I posted what I posted.
 
Jason_C said:
How in the world can Sangan's effect resolve before he's ever been destroyed? :confused_

What I meant was the resolution of the effect of Cyber Jar with regard to drawing of the cards, not the destruction of the monsters on the field. Sangan's effect would take priority and allow the player to search for a card BEFORE both players were to draw their cards as part of Cyber Jar's resolution.
 
Sangan would go after you draw the cards. His effect cannot and will not activate in the middle of an effect resolving, not mention it is manditory that it activates which places it outside of the normal chain link to begin with.
 
HorusMaster said:
What I meant was the resolution of the effect of Cyber Jar with regard to drawing of the cards, not the destruction of the monsters on the field. Sangan's effect would take priority and allow the player to search for a card BEFORE both players were to draw their cards as part of Cyber Jar's resolution.
This is ruling #3 for Cyber Jar:

"If "Sangan" or "Witch of the Black Forest" was destroyed by "Cyber Jar"'s effect, Special Summon monsters first and then complete "Sangan"'s effect."

So, no, you dont resolve Sangan in the middle of resolving Cyber Jar's effect.

Resolving Sangan first would reshuffle your deck, and totally screw up the game if there ended up being a issue. Now the Game State is beyond repair and a Game Loss would be given as a Major Penalty.
 
HorusMaster said:
What I meant was the resolution of the effect of Cyber Jar with regard to drawing of the cards, not the destruction of the monsters on the field. Sangan's effect would take priority and allow the player to search for a card BEFORE both players were to draw their cards as part of Cyber Jar's resolution.
That's not possible. "Sangan"s effect cannot interrupt the resolution of another effect.

P1 flips "Cyber Jar", it's effect is activated.
P2 can respond to the activation of this effect, but does not.
P1 can respond to the activation of this effect, but does not.
"Cyber Jar"s effect begins resolution and destroys all monsters on the field.
P1 had a face-down "Sangan" and it's effect was triggered when sent to the Graveyard, but it CANNOT activate now because "Cyber Jar" is still resolving, so it will wait until the current effect/chain resolves.
P1 picks up and shows their 5 cards, then chooses the orientation of the monsters being Special Summoned. All other cards go to the hand.
P2 picks up and shows their 5 cards, then chooses the orientation of the monsters being Special Summoned. All other cards go to the hand.
"Cyber Jar" is now officially resolved.
"Sangan" will now begin a new chain automatically, and either player can respond accordingly.

Make sense?


Hope this helps.
 
HorusMaster said:
What I meant was the resolution of the effect of Cyber Jar with regard to drawing of the cards, not the destruction of the monsters on the field. Sangan's effect would take priority and allow the player to search for a card BEFORE both players were to draw their cards as part of Cyber Jar's resolution.
Ahh! The problem is you are thinking of SEGOC, and trying to put the two effects on the same chain, with the opposing player resolving first.

When you flip summon Cyber Jar, the effect activates, right? Sangan has not been sent to the Graveyard yet, so its effect has not yet triggered.

So you proceed to destroy all the monsters on the field with Cyber Jar's effect. They are sent to the Graveyard, then Sangan's effect triggers.

However, Sangan cannot interrupt the resolution of Cyber Jar's effect, so it waits for the current chain to finish resolving, before its own effect is put on the chain block.

IF, there were multiple effects that happened because of Cyber Jar, such as 2 opposing Sangan, then those effects would activate at the same time and go on to resolve using SEGOC

Im not stating anything the others above me havent stated (Skey, particularly), but I just kind of see where your confusion came in.
 
Back
Top