Chaining to continuous effects (or not being able to).

Deathjester

New Member
A ruling on Continuous Effects is that they cannot be chained to.

However, one of "Greed"'s rulings says that you can chain to the effect which causes damage.

"Two-Man Cell Battle"'s ruling says you can chain to the Special Summoning effect.

So is there a logical way of knowing whether or not you can chain to a Continuous Effect?
 
I have the same problem myself. Novastar seems to have a good grip on Text Templating in YGO, but there are still exceptions.

The rule of thumb is, if the FAQ or "Judge's List" says it's chainable, then it is not a Continuous Effect.

I'm still waiting on Novastar's article about templating. I think its going to be worth waiting for :)
 
well, for Greed, the damage effect is a triggered one that occurs for each draw of the opponent. Two Man Cell Battle: summoning is an ignition effect.

((Im sorry if Im getting the ignition/trigger terminology mixed up)

So, though the cards have a Continuous Icon that keeps them on the field, their effects are not continuous but triggered effects, which can be chained to.

A continuous effect would be one that is activated immediately and mandatory simply through the presence of the card, such as Stumbling and Jinzo...

....you know, you would be better waiting for Novastar. He's who I always refer to anyways.
 
Back
Top