Controler of DD Designator activates it with no cards in their hand?

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

Gimpy

Guest
D.D. Designator
Declare 1 card name. Look at your opponent's hand, and if he/she has the declared card in his/her hand, remove that 1 card from play. If he/she doesn't have the declared card in his/her hand, remove 1 random card in your hand from play.

Player A (Turn Player) has only 1 card in hand, D.D. Designator.

Player B has 1 or more cards in hand.

Under these circumstances, would the activation of D.D. Designator by Player A be apropriate?
 
no because player A has to be able to have a card to lose if incase they do not call out a card the opponent has.

since player A has to lose a card in their hand if they mess up then player A if no hand then cannot activate.
 
Gimpy said:
D.D. Designator
Declare 1 card name.  Look at your opponent's hand, and if he/she has the declared card in his/her hand, remove that 1 card from play.  If he/she doesn't have the declared card in his/her hand, remove 1 random card in your hand from play.

Player A (Turn Player) has only 1 card in hand, D.D. Designator.

Player B has 1 or more cards in hand.

Under these circumstances, would the activation of D.D. Designator by Player A be apropriate? 


D.D. Designator
Declare 1 card name. Look at your opponent's hand, and if he/she has the declared card in his/her hand, remove that 1 card from play. If he/she doesn't have the declared card in his/her hand, remove 1 random card in your hand from play

player may activate DD designator even of he dont have other cards in his hands

RFG a card from your hand if you make a wrong guess is a backside of the card and not a activation cost

i recall the rulings over "offerings to the doomed"

skipp his next draw phase is not the activation cost of "offerings to the doomed " as seen in netreps files

woltarr
 
From the FAQ:

"¢ You can't activate "D. D. Designator" if you have no cards in your hand, or if "D. D. Designator" is the only card in your hand.


So as previously answered, no, you cannot activate "D. D. Designator" if it were the only card in your hand.

- Andrew
 
densetsu_x said:
From the FAQ:

"¢ You can't activate "D. D. Designator" if you have no cards in your hand, or if "D. D. Designator" is the only card in your hand.


So as previously answered, no, you cannot activate "D. D. Designator" if it were the only card in your hand.

- Andrew

this rulings is wrong and should be revised

the old rulings on "offerings to the doomed" has a reasonbale solution for the case

the bold part is a backside of the card nothing more

woltarr
 
woltarr said:
densetsu_x said:
From the FAQ:

"¢ You can't activate "D. D. Designator" if you have no cards in your hand, or if "D. D. Designator" is the only card in your hand.


So as previously answered, no, you cannot activate "D. D. Designator" if it were the only card in your hand.

- Andrew

this rulings is wrong and should be revised

the old rulings on "offerings to the doomed" has a reasonbale solution for the case

the bold part is a backside of the card nothing more

woltarr

a) "Offerings to the Doomed" has nothing to do with this. In any case, their are no "official" rulings on that card right now as per the UDE FAQ so do not go by materials which have even been stated as "do not use this for official answers" as many things have since been updated/corrected.

b) The reason for the ruling on this was exactly what krazykidpsx had mentioned. In order for "D. D. Designator" to resolve properly in case you do not call a card in your opponent's hand, you need to have at least 1 card in your hand that can be removed from play. And further, since UDE has been doing an overhaul of all the FAQ rulings starting with the newer sets and working backwards (and they are up to LOD already), the IOC rulings are as correct and current as they can be.

- Andrew
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top