Curse of Anubis in damage step...

SoilentG

CoG iTrader
Heh, I know this was discussed ad naseum in 2005 as I've been looking through the old posts but I never saw an "official" ruling... so... I ask ... Can Curse of Anubis be activated in the damage step?

Scenario I had:

1) Face up Sabersaurus on my side, set Curse of Anubis
2) Face up Red Gadget on the opponents side, set Shrink
3) Opponent declares attack, I don't activate Curse of Anubis
4) He calls out Damage Step and activates Shrink targeting Sabersaurus
5) I chain (because I think I can) and activate Curse of Anubis
6) We argue over whether it can be activtated in damage step :D

If I'm wrong, that's ok, just want to know. Thanks...
 
hmm... i'l be interested to see how this works out... i would think, since curse of anubis modifies def, that it is a valid activation...my question is with the added effect to change battle position during dmg step - what happens to the atk / calculation? fizzled attack? or zero def destroyed? can the attack be "averted" after damage step is entered?would final attack orders rulings apply? i would think so, but that's to atk pos , so.... interesting question....
 
I'm very curious about this too, since I use a FAO strategy. I put Curse of Anubis in my deck recently, and I never thought of being able to use it in teh DMG step. Please someone who knows, now I neeed to know!!
 
Last edited:
Since Curse of Anubis alters ATK/DEF of the attacking monster, I believe it can be activated in the Damage Step but since the effect monster is now in defense position and unable to continue with the attack, during damage calculation the damage to the attacking player is 0. The only exception to this rule would be if one of the monsters was Total Defense Shogun which is able to attack while in defense position.
 
What do you think would happen if FAO was on the field? Would the attack still continue as normal? What about if crass clown was on the field, and was the target of the attack? How would his effect work out? (Probably after the damage step in this case)
 
FAO is continuous so it would be reapplied after Curse of Anubis. So it would be pointless to activate Curse of Anubis with FAO on the field.

Can we get back on topic? Curse of Anubis in Damage Step?
 
What do you think would happen if FAO was on the field? Would the attack still continue as normal? What about if crass clown was on the field, and was the target of the attack? How would his effect work out? (Probably after the damage step in this case)

This question is answered in the rulings for Crass Clown on Netrep...short answer...Yes, his effect would activate and resolve before being turned back into attack position because of FAO.
 
Wait, my question was, if you can activate Curse of Anubis during the damage step while FAO is on the field, will things still happen the same way? By that I mean, would Crass Clowns effect come into play before or after the damage step is finished?
 
Okay guys, assuming that you can activate it in the damage Step, it woulld be after you would normally be Flipping a Face-down card Face-up (during Damage Step, subset 3), the same time you would activate Rush Recklessly, etc. By this time, Turn Player's attacking Monster has already successfully attacked Non-turn Player's Monster. Assuming that NTP's Monster was also in Attack Position at that time, when Curse of Anubis Resolves, switching the Attacking Monster into Defense Position, the attack has still gone through. Since the Battle occurrred and both Monsters were in Attack Position when it did, the Lowest Attack Monster (in the given case, your Sabersaurus) is Destroyed. The Chain would work like this:

Damage Calculation:
Srhink => Curse of Anubis;

Resolve:Curse of Anubis switches Red Gadget (only) into Defense Position and reduces Defense to "0". Srhink reduces Sabersaurus' ATK by 1/2 (950). Calculate Damage.

Calculate: Red Gadget has Destroyed Sabersaurus and inflicted 350 Damage to NTP's Life Points. Even though Red Gadget was switched into Defense mode, it happened AFTER the Attack whent through (albeit, during Damage Calculation), which is too late for it to stop the attack from happening. And when the attack went through, Red Gadget WAS in attack Mode, so Damage is still calculated and destruction from Battle is still run as if he was still in attack mode (the game looks at what position the Monsters were in when the Damage Step is Entered when determinining Battle Positions). In order to stop the attack, Curse of Anubis would need to have been played before you enter Damage Calculation.

BTW, Unless Konami comes up with a BKSS or erratta, Curse of Anubis CAN be played in the Damage Step, as it meets the requirements. However, as we have seen in the above explanation, it will rarely be of any value, as position changes that happen during the Damage Calculation are usually moot.
 
Wait, my question was, if you can activate Curse of Anubis during the damage step while FAO is on the field, will things still happen the same way? By that I mean, would Crass Clowns effect come into play before or after the damage step is finished?

Ah, yes, that is interesting. No, Crass Clown's effect will be Triggered, the same as Spirit Reaper's, but will wait until Substep 5 to Activate and Resolve--After application of Damage.
 
Back
Top