Curse of Royal and Mobius

D

DJ Phat Bones

Guest
Recently I was judging a tournament and called a ruling on activating Curse of Royal and the summoning on Mobius the ruling I made was that no you may not activate Curse of Royal because Mobius hits the field before the effect happens so Curse of Royal misses the timing.....am I correct or totally totally wrong?
 
DJ Phat Bones said:
Recently I was judging a tournament and called a ruling on activating Curse of Royal and the summoning on Mobius the ruling I made was that no you may not activate Curse of Royal because Mobius hits the field before the effect happens so Curse of Royal misses the timing.....am I correct or totally totally wrong?

How did the scenario happen? What was Curse of Royal activated in response to? If Mobius, the Frost Monarch is properly tribute summoned, than his effect goes through and destroys Curse of Royal, if it is face-down but you cannot summon a monster in the middle of the chain that Curse was activated in response.
 
Right idea, wrong Reasoning...

Curse of Royal was issued the following errata:

Curse of Royal
Counter Trap

Negate the activation and the effect of a Spell or Trap Card that includes the effect of destroying 1 Spell or Trap Card and destroy it.

So Mobius wouldn't be considered either way, as it is neither the effect of a Spell or Trap card, I had wondered about this earlier with a similar issue (Breaker).
 
SPK said:
Right idea, wrong Reasoning...

Curse of Royal was reworded to the following:

Curse of Royal
Counter Trap

Negate the activation and the effect of a Spell or Trap Card that includes the effect of destroying 1 Spell or Trap Card and destroy it.

So Mobius wouldn't be considered either way.

AGreed...Mobius couldn't be summoned during the chain and his effect doesn't play any part in the effect of Curse of Royal.
 
Thank you I didn't even think to check the card errata....I only went by the wording on the player's card. Thanks loads
 
This is why it's always wise to keep track of cards that have been given various forms of errata, so that you know if the situation may be different due to newer definitions.
 
masterwoo0 said:
Besides, you would have only been able to use it if Mobius the Frost Monarch destroyed just "1" Spell or Trap. It's very specific about only one being destroyed, so you can't use it against Heavy Storm either.

Even if Mobius the Frost Monarch's effect were to destroy "just" one Spell or Trap, Curse of Royal still could not be activated as the card is a counter trap and only effects the activation of another Spell or Trap card, not monster effects.
 
HorusMaster said:
Even if Mobius the Frost Monarch's effect were to destroy "just" one Spell or Trap, Curse of Royal still could not be activated as the card is a counter trap and only effects the activation of another Spell or Trap card, not monster effects.
Notice, I said "besides", which meant, "I KNOW you cant use it against monster effect's!!!"

Occasionally, I do read Errata's.... That's why I mentioned "Heavy Storm" to show that I KNOW you can't use it against monster's, or else I would have mentioned Breaker the Magical Warrior instead, since he only destroys one card.

Can I get a "little" credit????
 
masterwoo0 said:
Notice, I said "besides", which meant, "I KNOW you cant use it against monster effect's!!!"

Occasionally, I do read Errata's.... That's why I mentioned "Heavy Storm" to show that I KNOW you can't use it against monster's, or else I would have mentioned Breaker the Magical Warrior instead, since he only destroys one card.

Can I get a "little" credit????

credit-----a little credit...get it? Just kidding...
 
Back
Top