Dark Magician of Chaos effect issue

Dr Sin

New Member
I don't know what is the current ruling for DMC's effect. When he is tribute sumonned, if he is not destroyed via Horn of Heaven or Solemn Judgement I can get his effect, right?

And when he is summoned in the middle of a chain I can't get the spell unless it's the last step of the whole chain... is it right?

Example:

I have a Call set and my opponent uses Heavy Storm... I target my DMC in the grave. I can't get the spell, right?

Thanks
 
Dr Sin said:
I don't know what is the current ruling for DMC's effect. When he is tribute sumonned, if he is not destroyed via Horn of Heaven or Solemn Judgement I can get his effect, right?
Yes you can get his effect unless his summoning is negated by the mentioned cards.
And when he is summoned in the middle of a chain I can't get the spell unless it's the last step of the whole chain... is it right?
Example:
I have a Call set and my opponent uses Heavy Storm... I target my DMC in the grave. I can't get the spell, right?
Thanks
Rulings said:
"¢ When you Normal Summon or Special Summon "Dark Magician of Chaos", resolve all other effects in the current chain, then "Dark Magician of Chaos"' effect activates in a new chain as Step 1.

Chain 1: Your opponent's Heavy Storm
Chain 2: Your Call of haunted
Call of haunted resolves first, special summoning DMOC. Heavy storm destroys it, thus destroying DMOC. Since DMOC was successfully special summoned, a new chain should be started with DMOC's effect.
 
lzy3 said:
Chain 1: Your opponent's Heavy Storm
Chain 2: Your Call of haunted
Call of haunted resolves first, special summoning DMOC. Heavy storm destroys it, thus destroying DMOC. Since DMOC was successfully special summoned, a new chain should be started with DMOC's effect.

Dark Magician of Chaos' effect of getting a Spell Card from your Graveyard is optional, so his effect must be the last "fact" to happen during the chain.

Example:

I activate Call of the Haunted during my Battle Phase. My opponent activates Solemn Judgment. I activate Trap Jammer.

Chain Link 1: Call of the Haunted, targetting Dark Magician of Chaos
Chain Link 2: Solemn Judgment, opponent pays 1/2 of his/her Life Points to negate Call of the Haunted
Chain Link 3: Trap Jammer to negate your opponent's Solemn Judgment

Resolve in Reverse:

Chain Link 3: Trap Jammer negates Solemn Judgment.
Chain Link 2: Solemn Judgment is negated by Trap Jammer.
Chain Link 1: Dark Magician of Chaos is Special Summoned from the Graveyard.

Since Dark Magician of Chaos' Summoning was the last "fact" in the chain, you can start a new chain to get back the Spell Card.


In lzy3's post, however, Call of the Haunted had already resolved and Heavy Storm came up for resolution. In that case, Heavy Storm's destroying all Spell/Trap Cards on the field was the last "fact," NOT Dark Magician of Chaos being Summoned.
 
I got this straight from the rulings of DMOC
"¢ When you Normal Summon or Special Summon "Dark Magician of Chaos", resolve all other effects in the current chain, then "Dark Magician of Chaos"' effect activates in a new chain as Step 1.

Call of haunted special summons DMOC successfully and heavy storm destroys it. that resolves the whole chain, but the fact that DMOC was special summoned successfully and its effect should activate in a new chain.
 
Lzy3: Curtis has even said on the mailing list that that ruling is considered "wrong" because they thought that's how DMoC worked. If you also look at the rulings it further says he has to be the last thing in the chain in order to get his effect, which is indeed the correct way he needs to be played.
 
Well, I've read through the rulings several times and that portion was all I could find regarding such a thing. But well, if Curtis has already stated so, then I guess I've got nothing left to argue about :p I learn something new everyday!
Maybe they should change the stated ruling for DMOC because it's rather confusing, especially for people like me who never read the mailing list (where IS it?). And there's many gamers out there who probably don't come to these forums...
 
they need to get off their keister and update some of those rulings. Densetsu is correct - this is one of the few instances where the ruling on the web site is not correct. DMoC's ruling was changed about the same time Peten the Dark Clown came out and it was ruled that his effect was "optional" so it could only be activated if the timing was proper, meaning it is the last thing that has resolved. After Peten came out, a very bright, skilled and, dare I say, extremely good-looking Judge on the Judge's List (...whistles innocently....) :) noticed that DMoC had the same wording, and it was then ruled that his effect was optional, too, and couldn't be activated unless his summon was the last thing to resolve.
 
Back
Top