With DD Warrior Lady and Kycoo so common in the current game we are
seeing the following scenarios every tournament:
Scenario 1
Player A has Spirit Reaper face-up attack on the field and a trap set
from his previous turn.
Player B has DD Warrior Lady face-down on the field.
"chain issue" (trap is Divine Wrath)
Player A declares an attack with Spirit Reaper against DD Warrior Lady
Player A accepts 1300 points of damage
Player B then attempts to remove both cards from play
Player A chains Divine Wrath destroying DD Warrior Lady and sending it to
the graveyard while Spirit Reaper remains on the field
Question: If player B had not decided to remove both cards from play,
is that choice, i.e., not to remove from play still considered an
ability as DD Warrior Lady states "may" therefore implying choice of
action and still a target for Divine Wrath? I am assuming there is none
but do not like to judge from assumptions.
Scenario 2
Player A has Kycoo face up attack on the field and a trap set from his
previous turn.
Player B has DD Warrior Lady in attack on the field.
Player A declares an attack with Kycoo
After damage calculation of 300, Player B then attempts to remove both
cards from play
Question: With Kycoo not destroyed by the battle isn't Player A the only
player who can remove cards from play?
Scenario 3
"timing and chain issue" (trap is Divine Wrath)
Player A has Kycoo face up attack on the field and a trap set from his
previous turn.
Player B has DD Warrior Lady in attack on the field and Pitch-Black
Warwolf in Defense.
Player A declares that he is entering battle phase which triggers The
Warwolf's effect, but tries to chain Divine Wrath to destroy the
Warwolf.
Question - Can he activate Divine Wrath?
Don Kadunce
Level 1 Judge and organizer
Answer:
Scenario 1:
1. If they do not want "D.D. Warrior Lady's" effect to activate they can
simply decline and the effect will not activate. Due to this it would
not be possible to use "Divine Wrath" if the player has chosen not to
activate the effect of the "D.D. Warrior Lady."
Scenario 2:
1. "Kycoo the Ghost Destroyer" says "...your opponent cannot remove any
cards in either GRAVEYARD from play." {emphasis mine)
The effect of "D.D. Warrior Lady" is not trying to remove cards in the
Graveyard from play. "Kycoo the Ghost Destroyer" will have no impact
on what it does.
Scenario 3:
1. "Pitch-Black Warwolf's" effect does not use the chain. The player would
not be able to use "Divine Wrath."
----------------------------------
Curtis Schultz
Official UDE Netrep
CurtisSchultz_Netrep@hotmail.com
http://lists.upperdeck.com/read/messages?id=2901#2901
seeing the following scenarios every tournament:
Scenario 1
Player A has Spirit Reaper face-up attack on the field and a trap set
from his previous turn.
Player B has DD Warrior Lady face-down on the field.
"chain issue" (trap is Divine Wrath)
Player A declares an attack with Spirit Reaper against DD Warrior Lady
Player A accepts 1300 points of damage
Player B then attempts to remove both cards from play
Player A chains Divine Wrath destroying DD Warrior Lady and sending it to
the graveyard while Spirit Reaper remains on the field
Question: If player B had not decided to remove both cards from play,
is that choice, i.e., not to remove from play still considered an
ability as DD Warrior Lady states "may" therefore implying choice of
action and still a target for Divine Wrath? I am assuming there is none
but do not like to judge from assumptions.
Scenario 2
Player A has Kycoo face up attack on the field and a trap set from his
previous turn.
Player B has DD Warrior Lady in attack on the field.
Player A declares an attack with Kycoo
After damage calculation of 300, Player B then attempts to remove both
cards from play
Question: With Kycoo not destroyed by the battle isn't Player A the only
player who can remove cards from play?
Scenario 3
"timing and chain issue" (trap is Divine Wrath)
Player A has Kycoo face up attack on the field and a trap set from his
previous turn.
Player B has DD Warrior Lady in attack on the field and Pitch-Black
Warwolf in Defense.
Player A declares that he is entering battle phase which triggers The
Warwolf's effect, but tries to chain Divine Wrath to destroy the
Warwolf.
Question - Can he activate Divine Wrath?
Don Kadunce
Level 1 Judge and organizer
Answer:
Scenario 1:
1. If they do not want "D.D. Warrior Lady's" effect to activate they can
simply decline and the effect will not activate. Due to this it would
not be possible to use "Divine Wrath" if the player has chosen not to
activate the effect of the "D.D. Warrior Lady."
Scenario 2:
1. "Kycoo the Ghost Destroyer" says "...your opponent cannot remove any
cards in either GRAVEYARD from play." {emphasis mine)
The effect of "D.D. Warrior Lady" is not trying to remove cards in the
Graveyard from play. "Kycoo the Ghost Destroyer" will have no impact
on what it does.
Scenario 3:
1. "Pitch-Black Warwolf's" effect does not use the chain. The player would
not be able to use "Divine Wrath."
----------------------------------
Curtis Schultz
Official UDE Netrep
CurtisSchultz_Netrep@hotmail.com
http://lists.upperdeck.com/read/messages?id=2901#2901