Divine Wrath vs Reflect Bounder

kingpinopie

Himoura Shinta
I have a 2400 ATK monster on my side of the field.. opponent has Reflect bounder....If I attack Reflect Bounder ... and activate Divine Wrath... would it cause a replay since Reflect Bounder's effect happens BEFORE the damage step? and if this is the case would i be able to attack directly with that monster since Bounder was destroyed and a Replay occured?
 
oh ya.. . i forgot about that.. thanks

so does the Damage hit directly to their lifepoints then?? since he is not there when the Damage calculation occurs???
Oh.. and what if there WERE other monsters on their side of the field.. would the attack have to hit one of them since BOunder would be gone at the Damage Calculation step???
 
DimensionalWarrior said:
Huh? But I thought Reflect Bounder's effect was a Continuous effect -_-' (just like Wall of Illusion).
If Reflect is a continuous effect...you can't chain Divine Wrath to it's effect :D

No its a Trigger, and it occurs at the beginning of the Damage Step. You most definately can use Divine Wrath to negate it.
 
densetsu_x said:
No and no. If you "Divine Wrath" the "Reflect Bounder" when his effect triggers, that is it for that particular attack. Move onto the next creature.

Do you mean their is no overflow damag to lifepoints? Or no damage at all, that monsters battle has ended and continue battle phase with other eligible monsters? Please clarify. Thanks
 
this thing has become more confusing than it needed to be...

Player A Has a Gemini Elf and Peten the Dark Clown and the only set He/She has is Divine Wrath.
Player B has a Reflect Bounder and 0 Spell/Trap

Player A attacks with Gemini Elf
Player B's Reflect Bounder Activates in the Damage Step
Player A Chains his Divine Wrath Negating and Destroying Bounder
The Attack goes thru with no replay because replays do not occur in the Damage Step
Now Player A is free to attack with Peten Directly.
 
Big Oldprankster said:
Do you mean their is no overflow damag to lifepoints? Or no damage at all, that monsters battle has ended and continue battle phase with other eligible monsters? Please clarify. Thanks

Basically once you enter the Damage Step, the attack is considered to have happened, and if either monster is destroyed at any point the attack simply halts. You do not get the chance to re-declare another attack with the same attacking monster.

In this example, Reflect Bounder would be destroyed before Damage Calculation, so no Battle Damage would be calculated at all.
 
Bigred Blues said:
The Attack goes thru with no replay because replays do not occur in the Damage Step

I dont think its wise to say that the attack goes through, it still remains that a successful attack must go through Damage Calculation. In reality the attack simply halts, but the attacker and defender are considered to have attacked/been attacked. Thus you cannot declare another attack with the attacking monster (if it is still alive).

An interesting example would be Goblin Attack Force, which if used in this case against Reflect, should still be switched into Defence Position during the End Step, because it would have been considered to have attacked.

On a personal note, with the invention of Divine Wrath, i really think that the Replay rules should be reviewed. You should be able to trigger replay all the way up to Damage Calculation.
 
novastar said:
On a personal note, with the invention of Divine Wrath, i really think that the Replay rules should be reviewed. You should be able to trigger replay all the way up to Damage Calculation.

If you do that, then Sasuke Samurai(#1 and 4)/Paladin of White Dragon/Ninja Grandmaster would be able to destroy 5 monsters and still attack directly. (Though, going back to the old "mistake" would prevent that abuse)
 
DaGuyWitBluGlasses said:
If you do that, then Sasuke Samurai(#1 and 4)/Paladin of White Dragon/Ninja Grandmaster would be able to destroy 5 monsters and still attack directly. (Though, going back to the old "mistake" would fix prevent that abuse)
Good point...but i still think it should be reviewed.

However, one that makes me think is DD Warrior Lady, as she would have been considered to have "attacked/been attacked" and her effect should still trigger.

Although the effect does say "after Damage Calculation" so it might be suggesting a successful attack, rather than her simply recieving the attacker characteristic.
 
Back
Top