Gravekeeper's Chief and Special Summoning

Tkwiget

Da Twiggy Man!
I have a ruling that I have in question. According to the Netrep Files v. 6.0 (Yes, I've checked around already and I haven't found any proof on why this is legal or illegal.) and this is what the ruling says.


If "Gravekeeper's Chief" and "Necrovalley" are both active on the field, both players may Special Summon from the controller of "Gravekeeper's Chief's" Graveyard.

Does this mean if I am playing against a Gravekeeper's Deck and they Tribute Summon the Chief I can Special Summon a Gravekeeper's monster from their Graveyard onto my field? If that's the case then why isn't this in the Netrep database? I would think it would be an important card ruling that some people like me would like to have clarified.

The reason why I bring this up is because I kind of question this ruling. No where on Gravekeeper's Chief does it state that your opponent can Special Summon a Gravekeeper's monster out of your Graveyard. So why does this ruling even exist? Am I on to something or am I missing something here?
 
Yeah but the ruling isn't clear on that. I am only bringing this up because it's a poorly worded ruling. If Gravekeeper's Chief has to be on your side of the field then yes. But the wording of this ruling brings me to assume (but not limited to thinking this) that if your opponent is the one that controls Gravekeeper's Chief that you would still be allowed to Special Summon from the controller of Gravekeeper's Chief's Graveyard.

Because if this really is true then this should be changed so it's worded more clearly on who can Special Summon and who cannot.
 
That didn't answer a single thing. The ruling in question that I posted up above is worded poorly. Because from what this wording is telling me, both players will have the chance to Special Summon out of the Turn Players (the person that Tribute Summoned Gravekeeper's Chief) Graveyard. I know this is simply wrong based off the text of Gravekeeper's Chief. So shouldn't this ruling be worded slightly better?

Like maybe something along the lines of this.

If "Gravekeeper's Chief" and "Necrovalley" are both active on the field, the player that Tribute Summoned "Gravekeeper's Chief" can Special Summon from his/her Graveyard.

That's less misleading in my opinion. Because the way I worded it makes sure that it doesn't matter who controls Necrovalley, just whoever Tribute Summoned Gravekeeper's Chief will recieve the Special Summoning.
 
I misunderstood your original question.

If "Gravekeeper's Chief" and "Necrovalley" are both active on the field, both players may Special Summon from the controller of "Gravekeeper's Chief's" Graveyard.

If your (the controller of Gravekeeper's Chief's) Graveyard is no longer affected by Necrovalley then why wouldn't your opponent be able to Special Summon from your Graveyard. I don't see the confusion on that point.

EDIT: Man Nova, you are on a fast connection.
 
Because if you control Gravekeeper's Chief and you were the original person to Tribute Summon it like on Gravekeeper's Chief's text, you and only you should have the right and ability to Special Summon. If you're opponent isn't the one that Tribute Summoned Chief, they shouldn't get to Special Summon from your Graveyard.

The reason why I say this ruling is worded poorly or just wrong now is because Gravekeeper's Cheif's effect says that if you Tribute Summon Gravekeeper's Chief that you would get to Special Summon a Gravekeeper's monster. Not your opponent. See what I am getting at?
 
Card Registry says:
If you Tribute Summon this card successfully, you can Special Summon 1 Monster Card that includes "Gravekeeper's" in its card name from your Graveyard to the field.

So that solves that issue, also, Chief has 2 effects, the one printed above (Trigger) and his overriding of Necrovalley (continuous)

-chaosruler
 
No, your opponent doesn't get to Special Summon a Gravekeeper from Gravekeeper's Chief's effect, he is now allowed to Special Summon from your Graveyard because now it is unaffected by Necrovalley. Nothing in that ruling suggests your opponent gets to summon a Gravekeeper from your Graveyard when he's Tribute Summoned.
 
Yes, I know that much. But my question this entire time was if he could Special Summon from Gravekeeper's Chief's effect.

I still say the ruling is worded badly. It doesn't clearly state if the opponent can Special Summon through Chief's effect or not. Which it can't now that it has been clarified. Thank you Digitial, Novastar, and everyone else that contributed (or plans to contribute more information) help in this thread. I am greatful for it. Because I was slightly scared if Konami made another idiotic mistake in their mechanics again. (I plan to make a GK deck later on so I was concerned about this.)
 
Digital Jedi said:
I misunderstood your original question.

If "Gravekeeper's Chief" and "Necrovalley" are both active on the field, both players may Special Summon from the controller of "Gravekeeper's Chief's" Graveyard.

If your (the controller of Gravekeeper's Chief's) Graveyard is no longer affected by Necrovalley then why wouldn't your opponent be able to Special Summon from your Graveyard. I don't see the confusion on that point.

EDIT: Man Nova, you are on a fast connection.
Cable... ;)
 
Tkwiget said:
Yes, I know that much. But my question this entire time was if he could Special Summon from Gravekeeper's Chief's effect.

I still say the ruling is worded badly. It doesn't clearly state if the opponent can Special Summon through Chief's effect or not. Which it can't now that it has been clarified. Thank you Digitial, Novastar, and everyone else that contributed (or plans to contribute more information) help in this thread. I am greatful for it. Because I was slightly scared if Konami made another idiotic mistake in their mechanics again. (I plan to make a GK deck later on so I was concerned about this.)
If "Gravekeeper's Chief" and "Necrovalley" are both active on the field, both players may Special Summon from the controller of "Gravekeeper's Chief's" Graveyard.

I have to disagree with you on that one. This seems worded rather clearly. Nothing in there about both player's using Gravekeeper's Chief's tribute effect or even of Tribute Summoning. Maybe it's just me.
 
I have Broadband...So....I hate Nova...

<<
>>

He has cable...that's why. Still thanks for clearing up this ruling. I should rewrite it in my Judge Book so that I understand it. xD
 
Tkwiget said:
Yes, I know that much. But my question this entire time was if he could Special Summon from Gravekeeper's Chief's effect.

I still say the ruling is worded badly. It doesn't clearly state if the opponent can Special Summon through Chief's effect or not. Which it can't now that it has been clarified. Thank you Digitial, Novastar, and everyone else that contributed (or plans to contribute more information) help in this thread. I am greatful for it. Because I was slightly scared if Konami made another idiotic mistake in their mechanics again. (I plan to make a GK deck later on so I was concerned about this.)
Oh ok, now i see your point.

What chaos said is true, there are 2 effects, one Triggered the other Continuous.

The first effect is always on, and simply opens up the controller's Graveyard. Both players still need another outside effect (ie. Monster Reborn) in order to Special Summon from that Graveyard.

The second effect Triggers in response to the successful Tribute Summon of GKC and allows only the controller of GKC to Special Summon.

The ruling is refering only to the first effect.
 
Then if that's the case it needs to clearly state that. If it doesn't, more people that use these documents will be confused like I was and issue possible bad rulings. We don't want that do we? I don't think so.
 
Tkwiget said:
Then if that's the case it needs to clearly state that. If it doesn't, more people that use these documents will be confused like I was and issue possible bad rulings. We don't want that do we? I don't think so.
Well, Netrepâ„¢ 6 is pretty dated at this point. I would be very careful about what you use it for. I wouldn't consider it authoritative at all in the current environment. There's some valuable history and it's still good for research...but quite a few of the rulings are outdated now (take a look at Thousand Eyes Restrict). ARRJ, RONIN, and the Judge list are much better sources (at least when it comes to accuracy).

Netrepâ„¢ 6 will never be updated as far as I understand it. It is now only considered an archived document.
 
Back
Top