Imperal Order Vs Equpis and Wave Motion Cannon

Tonylaudat

New Member
I have a couple of questions that game up last week at the store in which I play Yugioh.

1. If I have Imperal Order active on the field, can my opponet activate an equip card, claiming that it the equipping of it to a monster is not part of the card's effect, and theirfore not subject to Imperal Order?

2. If I have Imperal Order active on the field, can my opponet play activate Wave Motion Cannon, claiming that it has no effect until he/she tributes it to deal me damage?

Thanks, any help on this would be appreacated.
 
Tonylaudat said:
1. If I have Imperal Order active on the field, can my opponet activate an equip card, claiming that it the equipping of it to a monster is not part of the card's effect, and theirfore not subject to Imperal Order?

Remember that Imperial Order only negates the effect of a spell card. It doesn't stop it from being played or equipted. Once Imperial Order leaves the field the equip spell card will be active once again.

Tonylaudat said:
2. If I have Imperal Order active on the field, can my opponet play activate Wave Motion Cannon, claiming that it has no effect until he/she tributes it to deal me damage?

Again, Imperial Order doesn't stop Wave Motion Cannon from being activated. In fact, Wave Motion Cannon will still count turns while Imperial Order is active on the field. Wave Motion Cannon won't be able to be sent to the graveyard until Imperial Order leaves the field though.
 
John Danker said:
Wave Motion Cannon won't be able to be sent to the graveyard until Imperial Order leaves the field though.

Why not?



You can still pay a cost to activate/effect a card when Imperial Order is on the field. But if Imperial Order doesn't leave the field before it resolve WMC will be negated because its effect is still considered a field effect.
 
Why not?

* Sending "Wave-Motion Cannon" to the Graveyard is a cost, so when you send it to the Graveyard, it's too late for your opponent to chain "Mystical Space Typhoon", etc., to destroy "Wave-Motion Cannon", because "Wave-Motion Cannon" is already in the Graveyard.



You can still pay a cost to activate/effect a card when Imperial Order is on the field. But if Imperial Order doesn't leave the field before it resolve WMC will be negated because its effect is still considered a field effect.
Why not? well because IO should render Continuous Cards inert and unusable, that includes attemting to pay a cost and activate and effect from it. John is actually correct from a logic and mechanics point of view.

Remember, we are not talking about Card Activation here, we are talking about activating an effect from an already activated Continuous Card. You can activate cards while IO is active, but you should not be able to activate effects from a Continuous Card.

Unfortunately, the rulings suggest otherwise and you can in fact send WMC while IO is active.
 
Forgive me for wording that poorly....as with anything that is a cost, Imperial Order cannot negate it being sent to the graveyard as a cost.

I obviously should have worded it as such and instead informed you that you could not send it to the graveyard and do effect damage while Imperial Order is active on the field.
 
Since we're on the topic here, one question about IO as well. I know we've been mentioning that IO doesn't negate the activation of spell cards, but isn't there the rule that you can't activate a card that is not going to have any affect? Such as you can't activate Heavy Storm if there are no Spell/Trap cards on the field.

Or am I confusing this with activation costs. Because I could see Imperial Order stopping a good deal of cards from being activated as well if its deemed that their effects won't resolve.
 
Isn't the fact that an equip card equpis to a monster, part of its effect? Also, isn't the fact that Wave motion cannon is a continus effect, and establisihed its self as such part of its effect.
 
Tonylaudat said:
Isn't the fact that an equip card equpis to a monster, part of its effect?
No. An eqyuip card equips to a monster That's what an equip card does, if it doesn't equip to a monster its not an equip card: No effect involved.

Why can you only activate Pot of Greed in your Main Phase 1 or 2? Is that part of its effect? No, its a normal spell card, so it work in main phase 1 or 2. That's what a normal spell card does.

Also, isn't the fact that Wave motion cannon is a continus effect, and establisihed its self as such part of its effect.
Its a continuous card because it has a continuous icon on it. Nothing about effects. But its a special case, most continuous cards need to be on the field for their effects to be applied, but WMC can do damage when it is in the graveyard.
 
Back
Top