Imperial Order and Jinzo - Different text Same effect?

S

Slavik81

Guest
Question:

Quote:
www.netrep.net
Imperial Order
Continuous Trap
As long as this card remains face-up on the field, negate the effects of all Spell Cards. Pay 700 Life Points during each of your Standby Phases. If you cannot, this card is destroyed.

Quote:
www.netrep.net
Jinzo
Dark/Machine/LVL 6
As long as this card remains face-up on the field, all Trap Cards cannot be activated. The effects of all face-up Trap Cards are also negated.

Quote:
www.netrep.net
Statue of the Wicked
Normal Trap
When this face-down card is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard, Special Summon 1 "Wicked Token" (Fiend-Type/DARK/4 Stars/ATK 1000/DEF 1000) in Attack or Defense Position on your side of the field.

RULING: The effect of "Statue of the Wicked" is activated in the Graveyard, so its effect is activated even if "Jinzo" is on the field, because "Jinzo" only applies to Trap Cards and Trap Card effects on the field. Also, cards like "Seven Tools of the Bandit" cannot be used against "Statue of the Wicked".

Quote:
www.netrep.net
Black Pendant
Equip Spell
A monster equipped with this card increases its ATK by 500 points. When this card is sent from the field to the Graveyard, inflict 500 points of Direct Damage to your opponent's Life Points.

RULING: "Black Pendant" activates in the Graveyard, so if it is destroyed when "Imperial Order" is on the field, it still does damage to your opponent.



Jinzo states in its card text that it only negates trap card effects on the field. Imperial Order states no such thing. This implies that Imperial Order negates ALL spell cards, much like Ha Des negates ALL monster cards it destroys. However, Imperial Order has been ruled to not negate cards in the graveyard and there is no erretta... Is this just a case of a lack of updating everything together? Imperial Order being missed in the shuffle, or is there something more to it?
 
No, the text on Jinzo states that while he is on the field, trap cards can't be activated and negate the effects of all face up trap cards. (Re-read what you copied/pasted).

Regardless in any case neither Jinzo nor Imperial Order have any negation abilities for Trap/Spell cards (respectfully) that don't resolve on the field of play. That's why cards like "Statue of the Wicked" and "Black Pendant" still get their effects.

- A
 
Traps have to be on the field to be face-up...

Well, actually, I suppose they could be face-up in the deck, but there are no traps that actually have an effect activate face-up in the deck. (Don't say Pharaoh's Treasure... It activates when you draw it and sends itself to the graveyard. Nothing happens in the deck).

*sigh*

I suppose I should just ignore the minor error. It's not like it's worse than Exiled Force (which got an errata! yea!)...
 
Part of the difference is that "Jinzo" negates the activation of trap cards as well as the effects of any that are face up on the field.

"Imperial Order" only negates the resolution of Spell Cards (and the effects of any that are face up on the field). There's nothing stopping you from activating "Monster Reborn" while "Imperial Order" is on the field... the effect just gets negated.

But in both cases they only affect what is on the field and the field alone.

- A
 
Back
Top