imperial order vs wave motion cannon

StRiKe_NiNjA

Dimension Shift Ninja
since skill drain can't negate the effect exiled force when tributed through the effect if skill drain was chained to it, could this be applied to wave motion cannon being tributed vs imperial order?
 
Actually theres a few rulings on Wave-Motion Cannon that can help to clarifiy:

Sending "Wave-Motion Cannon" to the Graveyard is a cost, so when you send it to the Graveyard, it's too late for your opponent to chain "Mystical Space Typhoon", etc., to destroy "Wave-Motion Cannon", because "Wave-Motion Cannon" is already in the Graveyard.

If I remeber correctly, costs can never be negated unless something specificaly negates cost effects.

Your opponent cannot chain "Magic Jammer", or use "Dark Paladin", etc., when you send "Wave-Motion Cannon" from the field to the Graveyard. Your opponent CAN chain "Magic Jammer" or use "Dark Paladin", etc., when you first activate "Wave-Motion Cannon" (meaning when you place it face-up on the field).

And since the cost can't be negated, Imperial wouldn't negate the effect because it activates in the Graveyard. This is the way I've always played it and I've not run into any contradictions or complaints so far. But I have yet to see anything more official other than what I have gleened from the rulings.
 
Digital Jedi said:
And since the cost can't be negated, Imperial wouldn't negate the effect because it activates in the Graveyard. This is the way I've always played it and I've not run into any contradictions or complaints so far. But I have yet to see anything more official other than what I have gleened from the rulings.
I'm not contradicting that you can't send "Wave Motion Cannon" to the Graveyard if "Imperial Order" is active. In fact you can send WMC, but the inflicting part will be negated because of IO.

In addition, I don't think WMC activates in the Graveyard, it's effect is still on the field, after it got sent to the Graveyard, that is why IO negates its inflict Life Point damage.

I could be wrong on this too, since I've been giving bad ruling lately :eek:
 
And since the cost can't be negated, Imperial wouldn't negate the effect because it activates in the Graveyard. This is the way I've always played it and I've not run into any contradictions or complaints so far. But I have yet to see anything more official other than what I have gleened from the rulings.
Reply With Quote
Wave-Motion Cannon is activated on the field, exactly the same way Cannon Soldier's effect works.

The reason you cannot chain Magic Jammer or Dark Paladin's effect is because they can only be chained to Card Activation not Effect Activation.

Imperial Order will not stop you from activating WMC's effect and sending it to the Graveyard. However, once the effect tries to resolve, if IO is still activate it will be negated.

Not likely. Since "Imperial Order" doesn't require a card to be face-up in the field to negate it.

All it requires is that the effect be activated on the field, what happens to the card afterwards is irrelevent.
 
novastar said:
Imperial Order will not stop you from activating WMC's effect and sending it to the Graveyard. However, once the effect tries to resolve, if IO is still activate it will be negated.



All it requires is that the effect be activated on the field, what happens to the card afterwards is irrelevent.
Hmmm. Wouldn't Imperial be unable to negate the Cannon because it activates in the Graveyard.
 
Digital Jedi said:
Hmmm. Wouldn't Imperial be unable to negate the Cannon because it activates in the Graveyard.
Like what I said, WMC does not activate in the graveyard, it activates on the field when you sent it to the Graveyard. I know, kinda confusing huh.

EDIT: It's effect is still on the field.
 
So this is different from monster effects that activate activate in the Graveyard? I've been hearing a lot more about the effect of Spells/Traps remaining on the field as oppossed to monster effects. That is kinda confusing.
 
Digital Jedi said:
Hmmm. Wouldn't Imperial be unable to negate the Cannon because it activates in the Graveyard.

"Send this card on the field to the Graveyard during your Main Phase."

That is a cost... for an effect that can only be activated when WMC is face-up on the field.

This game has Zones...

- WMC's effect is activated in the Field Zone (by Sending it itself as cost).
- IO only negates effects that are activated or exist in the Field Zone.

So, IO negates WMC's effect.

Hope that helps
 
Digital Jedi said:
So this is different from monster effects that activate activate in the Graveyard? I've been hearing a lot more about the effect of Spells/Traps remaining on the field as oppossed to monster effects. That is kinda confusing.

Just think of it in terms of Cannon Soldier tributing itself, the idea is the same for WMC, its only the wording of "Send" vs. "Tribute" as they are really effectively the same thing or action. Both effects are activated on the field.

The real difference here is that Skill Drain and Imperial Order operate differently, and Monster Effects operate differently from Spell/Trap Effects.

Skill Drain must actually see the Effect Monster face-up on the field in order to negate the effect, IO does not have to see the Magic/Spell face-up on the field...
 
novastar said:
"Send this card on the field to the Graveyard during your Main Phase."

That is a cost... for an effect that can only be activated when WMC is face-up on the field.

This game has Zones...

- WMC's effect is activated in the Field Zone (by Sending it itself as cost).
- IO only negates effects that are activated or exist in the Field Zone.

So, IO negates WMC's effect.

Hope that helps
"Send this card on the field . . ."

I missed that. Makes a bit of difference. I run a Stall Deck built exclusivly around Wave-Motion so I was a little concerned. But actually, I like it. You can keep paying for Imperial if you want to. I'll just keep counting Stanby Phases. :p
 
novastar said:
"Send this card on the field to the Graveyard during your Main Phase."

That is a cost... for an effect that can only be activated when WMC is face-up on the field.

This game has Zones...

- WMC's effect is activated in the Field Zone (by Sending it itself as cost).
- IO only negates effects that are activated or exist in the Field Zone.

So, IO negates WMC's effect.

Hope that helps

On that same line of thought what about Jinzo/Royal Decree vs Stone Statue/Dark Coffin? Since those are destroyed face down and hit the graveyard to activate the effect.... is that a "field effect" or "graveyard effect"?
 
hey, just think of WMC as sort of, and I use that term VERY loosely, a lingering effect. You send it off, then it's effect lingers trying to resolve, but IO stops this, and also, I don't think you count turns while IO is active (hammer me on this if I'm wrong, anyone)

-chaosruler
 
Consider yourself Hammered. (What a minute. That doesn't sound right. :eek: )

Wave-Motion counts the number of Standby Phases that have passed since activation. It doesn't recieve counters or anything like that. The number of Standby Phases dont change just because Imperial's on the field.
 
OKShadow said:
On that same line of thought what about Jinzo/Royal Decree vs Stone Statue/Dark Coffin? Since those are destroyed face down and hit the graveyard to activate the effect.... is that a "field effect" or "graveyard effect"?
They are Graveyard Triggers and will not be negated by Jinzo/Royal Decree.

Jinzo/Royal Decree work exactly as Imperial Order.
 
I don't think this would work, obviously, with WMC's dealing damage being a "cost", but yet again, card wording has led me to asking another question...

Could it possibly be abused during your Main Phase by Emergency Provisions, since the text on Emergency Provisions says "send", the same as on WMC?
 
CraniumX said:
I don't think this would work, obviously, with WMC's dealing damage being a "cost", but yet again, card wording has led me to asking another question...

Could it possibly be abused during your Main Phase by Emergency Provisions, since the text on Emergency Provisions says "send", the same as on WMC?
No, as WMC has to be sent to the graveyard via its own effect, not that of another card, in order to inflict the damage.
 
Imperial Order cannot negate cost, but it can negate effects.

While IO is active, you only count turns that WMC has been on the field. IO does not prevent you from sending WMC to the Graveyard (due to it being a cost), but it stops the damage that the "effect" creates.
 
Back
Top