[JCP-YGO] "The Six Samurai - Yaichi" vs Face-Down Card that is then Flipped Up

UDEbot

More Machine Than Man
"The Six Samurai - Yaichi" vs Face-Down Card that is then Flipped Up
from UDE's Judge Certification Program (YGO)

The current ruling on "The Six Samurai - Yaichi" when it targets a face-down spell or trap is:

If the targeted face-down card is chained to the activation of this effect, it will not be destroyed because it is face-up when the effect resolves.

This seemed to have been justified in the Yu-Gi-Oh! advanced gameplay section of the FAQ:
In general, if a card has specific conditions in order to be activated, those conditions only have to be correct at the time the card is activated. If they are no longer correct when the card resolves, the card's effect still resolves.

However, if a card has specific conditions regarding its target, and those conditions are no longer correct at the time the card is activated and when the card resolves, then the card's effect disappears.

Everything seemed to be perfect until a ruling was made about the activation and resolution of two "Trap Dustshoot" cards on this page. I know that this isn't "official", but the ruling seemed kind of contrary.
The "Trap Dustshoot" ruling that I mentioned stated that the activation requirement of having four cards in the opponent's hand needed to be fulfilled at activation, and not resolution.
However, isn't "The Six Samurai - Yaichi"'s clause of having a face-down spell or trap only need to be proper at activation and not resolution?
I believe this will fall under the "in general" portion that I quoted in the advanced gameplay FAQ.
So, how would a judge be able to distinguish between the two?​



http://entertainment.upperdeck.com/COMMUNITY/forums/thread/971930.aspx
 
Back
Top