Kaiser Seahorse + Moisture Creature

CraniumX

New Member
Here's a question I've had come up when designing different decks for friends and such. I wasn't sure on this, and found no actual listed ruling anywhere, so I wanted to be clear if it would work or not, as designing a deck around an effect that doesn't work, even for casual play, would be completely foolish.

Now I know you can easily tribute summon Moisture Creature without its effect by just tributing Kaiser Seahorse, but, when using its effect, which takes three tributes, since it is still a light monster, Kaiser Seahorse still counts for two of the three tributes, correct? I also assume if/when Gilford the Lightning would be released in English, the same ruling would apply for him as well?
 
Actually, technically you can Tribute Kaiser Sea Horse and 1 other monster to Summon Moisture Creature without activating Moisture Creature's effect, by calling Kaiser Sea Horse 1 Tribute. Making it 2 Tributes is optional by the text of the card. But everyone can see that it'd just be stupid to do that.
 
I did say it'd be stupid to do that. Doesn't mean you can't do it, though. Perhaps your opponent has a Continuous Trap Card that helps you (eg. Royal Decree) and your Monster Zone is full with good monsters plus Kaiser Sea Horse and another one, and you want to bring out your Chaos monster. Tribute 2 of your monsters, save that Royal Decree, bring out Chaos Sorcerer or whatever.

All sorts of situations can arise in the game. Moves that may seem stupid in one situation can be life-saving in another.
 
Back
Top