Lava Golem / Royal Oppression

John Danker

Administrator
P1 Has Royal Oppression resolved to the field and attempts to special summon Lava Golem.

P1 uses their priority to activate Royal Oppression's effect to negate the special summon

Now obviously the two monsters tributed to special summon Lava Golem are gone, no refunds there.

Question...since the special summon was negated is there any reason to believe that P1 couldn't still normal summon or set in the same turn?

Keep in mind this isn't like having your normal summon negated by Solemn Judgment / Horn Of Heaven and trying to normal summon / set another monster, that would be a game mechanic. The question I'm posing comes from the card text of Lava Golem

Text

Text
This card cannot be Normal Summoned or Set. This card can only be Special Summoned by Tributing 2 monsters on your opponent's side of the field, and is Special Summoned to your opponent's side of the field. This card inflicts 1000 points of damage to the Life Points of this card's controller during each of his/her Standby Phases. If you Special Summon this monster, you cannot Normal Summon or Set a monster during the same turn.

The way I see it Lava Golem was never special summoned, therefore a normal summon / set would still be permisable by P1.
 
As long as it was Special SUmmoned correctly in the first place I beleive you can Special Summon it to your side of the field with Premature Burial or Call of the Haunted. But seeing as how Royal Oppression negates the Special Summon of a monster(s), and the effect that Special Summoned the monster(s), and destroy both. I don't see why you cannot Normal Summon or Set afterwards. But i'm not really 100% sure on this. I couldn't really find anything on it.
 
Existing rulings show that normal summons function like costs, that as soon as you attempt to normal summon you do not get another chance because you already used that "ticket." The assumption would then be, taht Lava Golem uses that "ticket" as well because it would certainly prevent Lava Golem's summon if the situation were reverse:
If your normal summon is negated, you cannot attempt to Special Summon Lava Golem afterwards, because the game remembers that you attempted to normal summon.
 
I don't see it that way at all in this situation. I'm not normal summoning and then attempting to special summon Lava Golem. I'm attempting to special summon Lava Golem, it's being negated, therefore the conditional text of Lava Golem isn't met....and then normal summoning or setting a monster.

In your situation you're looking at a game mechanic. In this situation we're looking at a restriction based on card effect text which conditions haven't been met....

If you Special Summon this monster, you cannot Normal Summon or Set a monster during the same turn.

This is card effect text, not a game mechanic. The condition is if you special summon this monster....the monster hasn't been special summoned in this scenario.

It's a good question though and one I'm having trouble finding a similar scenario to compare it to.
 
If you attempt to normal summon, you cannot do anything that would normally require you to have not normal summoned.

So why should it be allowed in reverse? (just because its contained in the text doesn't mean it doesn't involve game mechanics)
 
John Danker said:
I don't see it that way at all in this situation. I'm not normal summoning and then attempting to special summon Lava Golem. I'm attempting to special summon Lava Golem, it's being negated, therefore the conditional text of Lava Golem isn't met....and then normal summoning or setting a monster.

In your situation you're looking at a game mechanic. In this situation we're looking at a restriction based on card effect text which conditions haven't been met....

If you Special Summon this monster, you cannot Normal Summon or Set a monster during the same turn.

This is card effect text, not a game mechanic. The condition is if you special summon this monster....the monster hasn't been special summoned in this scenario.

It's a good question though and one I'm having trouble finding a similar scenario to compare it to.
Scapegoat
If your opponent chains "Magic Jammer" to your "Scapegoat" you may still perform Summons that turn, but if they chain "Imperial Order" you may not perform Summons.
 
There's a difference between using your ticket up and having your ticket taken away. In one sense your using up something and failing to reap the benefits of it. (Negated Normal Summon) In the other sense, your attempting to put a restriction on yourself and failing fulfill the conditions that place restriction. (Negated Lava Golem summon, or Scapegoat)
 
Back
Top