Lava Golem vs Ultimate Offering

miiaah

New Member
I tried to Special Summon Lava Golem on my opponent's side of the field and he answered that he chained to Lava Golem's effect (being summoned on the opponent's field) with Ultimate Offering, tributing his two monsters to Summon Guardian Angel Joan. Is it legal ?
 
On top of waht Big Red said, ultimate offering cannot use its effect when it is flipped face-up, it must have already resolved before activating its effect.

daivahataka said:
Bigred Blues said:
He cant do anything till Lava Golem has hit the field.
This is called responding to the summon, summons have no spell speed and so cannot be chained to.

Just to be clear, your opponent wouldn't be able to respond to the summon with ultimate offering in this case:
A) The tributes have already been offered before Lava Golem hits the field.
B) As mentioned above, Ultimate Offering can't be used to surprise the opponent, it has to have already resolved and be face-up on the field before activating its effect.
C) (C is for Courtesy of Masterwoo) Ultimate offering can never be used to respond to the opponent summoning Lava Golem as it can not be used in the opponent's Main Phase.
 
Most important is, the fact that it can only be used in his Main Phase 1 and 2 or his opponents Battle Phase. If the controller of Lava Golem was attempting to summon Lava, then it had to be in Main Phase 1 or 2 and not the Battle Phase.

Once Lava was successfully summoned, if his opponent tried to attack, which I doubt, then he could attempt to tribute.
 
daivahataka said:
This is called responding to the summon, summons have no spell speed and so cannot be chained to.

Just a query...since summons cannot be chained to...Then cards like horn of the heaven is chained to?
FYI horn of heaven's description
Offer 1 of your own monsters on the field as a Tribute to negate the summon (including Special Summon) of a monster and destroy it.
 
cabbage said:
Just a query...since summons cannot be chained to...Then cards like horn of the heaven is chained to?
You respond to the attempted summon using Horn of Heaven or Solemn Judgement, and when it resolves, it will negate the summon.

This is also why the turn player cannot claim priority because when you respond with HoH or SJ, the monster is not considered summoned yet.
 
Back
Top