Level Modulation...

My scenario is this:

My opponent played a Silent Magician LV4, followed by Level Up! I chained with Torrential Tribute, clearing the field and preventing the successful summon of Silent Magician LV8.

A few turns later, he attempted to play Level Modulation on that same Silent Magician LV8. And here lies my question:

Level Modulation rulings state: An "LV" monster that normally cannot be Special Summoned except by the method in its text CANNOT be Special Summoned from the Graveyard with "Level Modulation" unless it has been previously Special Summoned by the correct procedure. The "ignore the Summoning conditions" text allows for these monsters to be Special Summoned only after they have been properly Summoned by their own effect. This applies to "Horus the Black Flame Dragon LV8", "Armed Dragon LV7", "Silent Swordsman LV7", "Silent Magician LV8", and "Winged Kuriboh LV10".

Would he still be able to activate Level Modulation and summon the Silent Magician LV8 even if its first summon wasn't successful? And, had it been, would he able to still, if he bypassed the original summoning conditions using Level Up! ?
 
As per the same ruling you quoted:

"¢ An "LV" monster that normally cannot be Special Summoned except by the method in its text CANNOT be Special Summoned from the Graveyard with "Level Modulation" unless it has been previously Special Summoned by the correct procedure. The "ignore the Summoning conditions" text allows for these monsters to be Special Summoned only after they have been properly Summoned by their own effect. This applies to "Horus the Black Flame Dragon LV8", "Armed Dragon LV7", "Silent Swordsman LV7", "Silent Magician LV8", and "Winged Kuriboh LV10".

He cannot use Level Modulation to Special Summon Silent Magician LV8 in either case here. Only if it was properly summoned by the effect of Silent Magician LV4. Using Level Up! does not properly summon anything, unfortunately.
 
Raging Flame Sprite said:
My scenario is this:

My opponent played a Silent Magician LV4, followed by Level Up! I chained with Torrential Tribute, clearing the field and preventing the successful summon of Silent Magician LV8.
I might be nitpicking here, but if SM4 was "played" as you say, I presume you mean summoned. If so, when did you wait to activate Torrential Tribute exactly? Did you play it in response to LV4 or in responce to LV8?

The reason I ask is because Level Up! is a Normal Spell Card, and as such, he would not have been able to play a Spell Speed 1 effect (other then one fom a face-up monster) before you could respond to the summon. LV8 should have never hit the field if you responded to LV4's summon with Torrential Tribute.

If you waited and played it in response to LV8's summon, then you would not be chaining to Level Up!, but instead you would be responding to LV8's summon. In which case LV8 would indeed be succesfully (if not properly) summoned and then destroyed.

He still wouldn't have been able to revive him with Level Modulation, but the reasons why would differ in each case.
 
all you have to say is the following.

"you ignored the special summoning conditions, hence forth you didnt use the proper Special Summoning condition."

that should help you out, becuase proper procedure is the opponent drawing 5 times so that your little buddy can power up and become the next level, then you can do it.
 
It just depends on which one happened here. In the case that you used Bottomless Trap Hole in response to LV4's summon, then LV8 would have never made it to the Graveyard. If you waited and played it in respose to LV8's summon through use of Level Up!, then LV8 would have gone to the Graveyard and been unretrievable.

What I was really concerned about, is it looked like he possibly followed imporoper procedure in ether case.
 
Digital Jedi said:
If you waited and played it in response to LV8's summon, then you would not be chaining to Level Up!, but instead you would be responding to LV8's summon. In which case LV8 would indeed be succesfully (if not properly) summoned and then destroyed.

He still wouldn't have been able to revive him with Level Modulation, but the reasons why would differ in each case.

Why wouldn't LV8 be Special Summoned? He was properly and successfully summoned, although the second he is, he dies.
 
Where does it say it is not properly summoned though? I am sorry but I have a heard time swallowing this and unless I see discussions or talk on the judges forum or else where this is just news to me. Off to WC2006.
 
Tiso said:
Where does it say it is not properly summoned though? I am sorry but I have a heard time swallowing this and unless I see discussions or talk on the judges forum or else where this is just news to me. Off to WC2006.
This has already been resolved on the Judge List when it comes to LV Monsters and Level Modulation.

A Properly Summoned Silent Magician LV8 is one that is Special Summoned by Tributing a Silent Magician LV4 that has been on the field for the required Opponent Draw(s) and accumulated the approriate amount of Spell Counters, or, by the effect of a card(s) that places enough Spell Counters to perform the Tribute.

A Level Up! Silent Magician LV4 is bypassing the requirement to Special Summon LV8. Simple as that.
 
Well, from the Original Posting of the Elemental Energy Preview Rulings, they indicated that was how it would be ruled:


039 Level Modulation Spell
An LV monster that normally cannot be Special Summoned except by the method in its text CANNOT be Special Summoned from the Graveyard with Level Modulation unless it has been previously Special Summoned by the correct procedure. The ignore the Summoning conditions text allows for these monsters to be Special Summoned only after they have been properly Summoned by their own effect. This applies to Horus the Black Flame Dragon LV8, Armed Dragon L7, Silent Swordsman LV7, Silent Magician LV8, and Winged Kuriboh LV10”.
 
It stands to reason that properly Special Summoning a monster would require you to Special Summon it through its summoning conditions and by that token, ignoring the summoning conditions would not be properly summoning it. There's an equation for that, but it slips my mind.
 
Back
Top