Lord of D. vs Premature Burial

ancient_duelist

Gold Member
Lord of D. is face-up on the field preventing Dragon-Type monsters from being targeted. Why is it possible for Premature Burial to target a Dragon-Type monster in the Graveyard?

Is this a translation/text error and Lord of D. should read, "all Dragon-Type monsters on the field cannot be targeted..."?

Is there a game mechanic that I don't understand that allows this?

BKSS?
 
As a rought guide, unless specifically stated otherwise, all effects activate on the field, are active only while on the field, and/or only affect other cards on the field.

Lord of D. is a case whereby it doesn't specifically say where the Dragon-Type monsters have to be. Therefore it means that they should be on the field in order to benefit from the "can't target me!" effect of Lord of D..

As I said, it's only a rough guide, and there are probably examples that are ruled otherwise, but in general it's good enough.
 
Maruno said:
As a rought guide, unless specifically stated otherwise, all effects activate on the field, are active only while on the field, and/or only affect other cards on the field.
This would probably be true in most cases. It's similar to instances where a card effect doesn't specify how many times per turn it can be used, whether its efffect is active of the field etc. The default mechanic would one thing and one thing only. Any contradictions to that rule would either be pointed out by the text, a ruling or Judges List messages
 
ancient_duelist said:
Lord of D. is face-up on the field preventing Dragon-Type monsters from being targeted. Why is it possible for Premature Burial to target a Dragon-Type monster in the Graveyard?

Is this a translation/text error and Lord of D. should read, "all Dragon-Type monsters on the field cannot be targeted..."?

Is there a game mechanic that I don't understand that allows this?

BKSS?

Copy of ruling from Netrep.net-
If you have "Lord of D." on the field, and activate "Premature Burial" to Special Summon a Dragon-Type monster from your Graveyard, that is okay, but if your opponent later destroys "Premature Burial" your Dragon-Type monster is also destroyed because "Premature Burial" is NOT selecting your Dragon-Type as a target.
No translation error that I am aware of thus far. And no new game mechanic concerning this card.
 
....because the targetting was done in the Graveyard, I suppose? But the fact is, an equip card does target; and stays targeting. I think an erratta should be made to say "...cannot be selected as a target...." Otherwise, how does it flesh out with the Spirit Reaper ruling?

If "Skill Drain" is active, "Spirit Reaper" can be equiped with Equip Cards, but if "Skill Drain" is later removed from the field "Spirit Reaper" wil be destroyed.

Spirit Reaper
Effect Monster (Zombie / DARK / 3 Stars / ATK 300 / DEF 200)
This card is not destroyed as a result of battle. Destroy this card when it is targeted by the effect of a Spell, Trap, or Effect Monster. If this card successfully attacks your opponent's Life Points directly, your opponent discards 1 card randomly from his/her hand.

I mean, I understand the difference between being a target and "selecting" a target. Lord of D. could be clearer, that's all.
 
Yes, I initially thought about Spirit Reaper too. But reading Lord of D. again, I found that only the initial targeting matters, not the continuous targeting of an Equip Spell Card. And when that initial targeting occured, the Dragon-Type monster was in the Graveyard, so it wasn't covered by Lord of D.. See quote: first ruling under Lord of D..

"¢ "Lord of D." cannot negate effects; he only prevents Dragon-Type monsters from being selected as targets of effects. Once a target has been selected, the effect of "Lord of D." is irrelevant.

Besides, Lord of D. says "cannot be targeted", so if taken literally that would be a conflict. It would suggest that the monster cannot come to the field because it would be being targeted, which Lord of D. forbids, so therefore Premature Burial couldn't be activated. Therefore Dragons in the Graveyard can't be targeted either, meaning Lord of D. would apply his effect everywhere, which contrasts with his ruling that says, "only on the field".

That's called, "Proof by Contradiction", if you were interested.
 
...hence his suggesting the specification of dragon-types "on the field". How about we put both in an erratta. **grins satisfactorily**

**whack--get's slapped upside the head by unseen entity**
"The game does not need more errattas; it's rulings are plain enough."

**rubbing head** Okay, sheesh! You don't have to get violent...Forget I said anything. **Sulks off into corner**
 
Back
Top