Macross

JokeR_MaN

New Member
Example 1. If I summon mobious and destroy 2 m/t removal and one is macross can they chain macross & get helious out?

Example 2. If I activite smashing ground on a D.D surivour and my oppent chains macross what happens?

I thought countous trap cards have to be face up alrdy on the field in order for the effect to be there.

O one more thing if I summon exiled to get rid of dd surivor can my oppent chain macross? so his dd surivor will be out of play and return at the end phase?
 
JokeR_MaN said:
Example 1. If I summon mobious and destroy 2 m/t removal and one is macross can they chain macross & get helious out?

Example 2. If I activite smashing ground on a D.D surivour and my oppent chains macross what happens?

I thought countous trap cards have to be face up alrdy on the field in order for the effect to be there.

O one more thing if I summon exiled to get rid of dd surivor can my oppent chain macross? so his dd surivor will be out of play and return at the end phase?

As to example 1: based on the rulings for al Space Typhoon which reads, If al Space Typhoon is chained to "Macro Cosmos's" activation to destroy it, then you will not Special Summon "Helios - The Primordial Sun". Because "Macro Cosmos" is a Continuous Trap Card, it needs to remain on the field to resolve.
So your answer to that example is that Macro Cosmos must resolve and be face up on the field in order to summon Helios. Since it was chained and ultimately destroyed by Mobius' effect, it will not remain face up on the field to summon Helios.

As to example 2: Since D.D. Survivor was face up (it would have to be in order to use Smashing Ground against it) and the opponent activated Macro Cosmos, it would be removed from play and be able to return at the End Phase of the turn. When activated, Macros resolves and remains face up, thus allowing it's effect to activate and remove D.D. Survivor from play.

Continuous trap cards don't have to "already" be face up in order to activate their effect but they have to remain face up after it's flip activation and resolution if it was flipped and chained to another card effect.
 
HorusMaster said:
As to example 1: based on the rulings for al Space Typhoon which reads, If al Space Typhoon is chained to "Macro Cosmos's" activation to destroy it, then you will not Special Summon "Helios - The Primordial Sun". Because "Macro Cosmos" is a Continuous Trap Card, it needs to remain on the field to resolve.
So your answer to that example is that Macro Cosmos must resolve and be face up on the field in order to summon Helios. Since it was chained and ultimately destroyed by Mobius' effect, it will not remain face up on the field to summon Helios.
Ummm, if you "chain" Macro Cosmos to Mobius the Frost Monarch's effect, Mobius is Chain Link 1 and Macro Cosmos is Chain Link 2. It resolves before it will be destroyed. It would be no different than using Call of the Haunted in a chain to Mobius, but in this case, it doesnt matter that it gets destroyed at the end of the chain because it has already summoned Helios.

In the example you provided, Macro Cosmos is Chain Link 1 and mystical space typhoon is Chain Link 2, so it will be destroyed before it can resolve properly.

You might want to brush up on Chains and Resolution.
 
masterwoo0 said:
Ummm, if you "chain" Macro Cosmos to Mobius the Frost Monarch's effect, Mobius is Chain Link 1 and Macro Cosmos is Chain Link 2. It resolves before it will be destroyed. It would be no different than using Call of the Haunted in a chain to Mobius, but in this case, it doesnt matter that it gets destroyed at the end of the chain because it has already summoned Helios.

In the example you provided, Macro Cosmos is Chain Link 1 and al space typhoon is Chain Link 2, so it will be destroyed before it can resolve properly.

You might want to brush up on Chains and Resolution.

I'm quite aware of Chains and Resolutions, just switched the two cards.
 
JokeR_MaN said:
I thought countous trap cards have to be face up alrdy on the field in order for the effect to be there.
This is true to some extent. There are different types of Continuous Trap Cards.

Continuous Continuous
Triggered Continuous
Ignition Continuous

Continuous Trap Cards that have truly Continuous effects like "Macro Cosmos" or "Royal Decree" can apply their effect immediately upon their resolution to the field, even in the middle of a chain.

Continuous Trap Cards that have Trigger-like or Ignition-like effects, such as "Ultimate Offering", "Fairy Box" and "Royal Oppression", are the ones that must already be face-up on the field before you can use their effects. So, if you activate them in the middle of the chain, you won't be able to use their effects until that chain is finished resolving.



Hope this helps!
 
Back
Top