Mandatory Effects

Most effects are considered mandatory effects. That means that while they may not activate immediately after they trigger, they will indeed activate.

What is easier to point out are the optional effects. These are the effects that have the word "CAN" in their text. Archfiend of Gilfer is a great example of this. His text reads that if he is sent to the graveyard, he CAN come back and equip to you opponent's monster.

The key to optional effects is that the activation trigger must be the last event to occur for the effect to be activated. If you discard Gilfer for Raigeki Break, you cannot activate its effect because the last event to occur was a card being destroyed. However, if you activate The Cheerful Coffin and send Gilfer to the graveyard, you can use its effect because the last event to occur was a monster(s) was sent to the graveyard.

It sounds a bit crazy, but its easier to look at things this way. Were there any cards in particular you were questioning?
 
No. No card in particular. I'm just trying to get my head around some of these harder rules. My main problem is where cards resolve after being activated like in a chain. But yeah your explanation was great thanks for the help :)
 
That will depend on the type of effects that they are. Triggered effects will "trigger" (hence the name) when a certain event occurs (such as being discarded to the graveyard), but they won't activate until the current chain they are on finishes resolving. For example. If you play Raigeki Break and discard a Night Assailant, its effect triggers because it was sent from your hand to the graveyard. However, your opponent chains Compulsory Evacuation Device to bounce a monster to the hand and you chain Seven Tools of the Bandit to negate this. You must wait until the entire chain finishes resolving (negating CED and you destroying a card on the field). Then Night Assailant's effect will activate and start a new chain, which with no other chains will bring a Flip effect monster to your hand.

Other effects are considered continuous effects. These effects will resolve the instant they get a chance to and do not start another chain. Don't confuse this with continuous spell/trap cards, for those are a different beast. Jinzo is an example of a continuous effect. While it may appear so, there is no "hook" or trigger to his trap negation, it just happens. Additionally this effect kicks in as soon as it can. For example. If your opponent activates Sakuretsu Armor and you chain Call of the Haunted to bring back your Jinzo from the graveyard, as soon as Call of the Haunted resolves its effect comes in to play, so it will negate Sakuretsu Armor.

Just remember that continuous effects must wait until the card resolves in order for it to take effect. If you have a face down Jinzo and activate Ceasefire, Ceasefire will still do damage because flippping the face down cards face up and calculating is all part of the card's resolution and Jinzo's effect can't come into place until things are done.

Hopefully this helps out more. I highly recommend the Netrep Guides and Articles sections here, there is TONS of great insight from some great folks here.
 
Thanks - I just gotta try to get my head round it :)

But how do you know WHERE these cards resolve?

Like Exiled Force. I know it resolves off the field but not in the graveyard. and if you activate Just Desserts and chain Emergency Provisions (from what I've been told) it resolves in the graveyard - you know the rest.

So confusing....I also don't get if this game was designed for children to play why is it so god damn hard even for a 23 year old like me to understand LOL
 
Not exactly. Spells/Traps behave differently from Monsters. The effects of S/T always are considered to "resolve on the field" (unless the card effect says differently). So if your opponent's "Royal Decree" is active and you activate "Ceasefire" and then chain "Emergency Provisions" to gain the 1000 and send "Ceasefire" to the graveyard, "Ceasefire" would still be negated.

Like I said, some S/T cards have effects that say they activate in the Graveyard. Some of those include "Statue of the Wicked", "Dark Coffin", and "Ojamagic". But the vast majority follow the previous example.
 
densetsu_x said:
Not exactly. Spells/Traps behave differently from Monsters. The effects of S/T always are considered to "resolve on the field" (unless the card effect says differently). So if your opponent's "Royal Decree" is active and you activate "Ceasefire" and then chain "Emergency Provisions" to gain the 1000 and send "Ceasefire" to the graveyard, "Ceasefire" would still be negated.

Like I said, some S/T cards have effects that say they activate in the Graveyard. Some of those include "Statue of the Wicked", "Dark Coffin", and "Ojamagic". But the vast majority follow the previous example.

I was playing in Regionals and I had Royal Decree active and 3 monsters on my side field i think when he activated 3 Just Desserts and Chained Emergency Provisions. I even called the Judge and he agreed (with his friend by the way =/) that it would work because Emergency Provisions would cause them resolve in the graveyard. Because of that I lost. He also said Divine Wrath would still work but I couldn't get the attention of the Judge for that.

I am pretty sure though even with Royal Decree he can activate Trap Cards but they will negated.

I'm so confused
 
snezzlebear said:
I was playing in Regionals and I had Royal Decree active and 3 monsters on my side field i think when he activated 3 Just Desserts and Chained Emergency Provisions. I even called the Judge and he agreed (with his friend by the way ) that it would work because Emergency Provisions would cause them resolve in the graveyard. Because of that I lost. He also said Divine Wrath would still work but I couldn't get the attention of the Judge for that.

I am pretty sure though even with Royal Decree he can activate Trap Cards but they will negated.

I'm so confused

You can activate Trap Cards with Royal Decree active (unlike Jinzo, which prevents activation to being with) but the effect will still be negated. That call was inaccurate. Like DX points out, Trap/Spell Card effects resolve on the field regardless of where the card may end up after activation. The exceptions are the Graveyard activated ones that say different on their card text.

The problem I see with the judge you ran into was they appeared to be confusing one game mechanic with another. For example, the big deal about chaining Emergency Provisions to your your activated Trap Cards is to reap the benefit of certain trap effects that reference the Graveyard for some reason. Like Good Goblin Housekeeping. A player can activate all of his Good Goblin Housekeeping and then chain Emergency Provisions to send all the resolving cards to the Graveyard. Since Housekeeping lets you draw cards equal to the number of "Good Goblin Housekeeping" cards in your Graveyard plus 1 extra, you get to benefit from the fact that you have all them in the Graveyard. So if you sent three (ignoring the limited list for second here), you could draw 4 cards for each one that resolves, a grand total of 12 cards.

But this doesn't mean the effects are resolving off the field. If Royal Decree was out, the effects of Good Goblin Housekeeping would still be negated. In this case, all you had was a trap effect referencing the Graveyard. Not resolving in the Graveyard. It appears the judge in your circumstance made that confusion.
 
thats what the appeal process is for....take it upstairs....eventhen sometimes you get hosed... i've had a lv 3 tell me big burn wouldn't work against pot of avarice...sigh - made for a long day,,, stuff you are running you can read up on andeven have copies of ruling in your binder/backpack - opponents stuff is something else...
 
cuzwbd said:
thats what the appeal process is for....take it upstairs....eventhen sometimes you get hosed... i've had a lv 3 tell me big burn wouldn't work against pot of avarice...sigh - made for a long day,,, stuff you are running you can read up on andeven have copies of ruling in your binder/backpack - opponents stuff is something else...

Yeah but in the end you gotta question whether it is really worth it. I mean sure it sux especially when you lose coz of it but if you beleive in karma like me - what goes around comes around ;)
 
I made a "rulings list" for a friend of mine for every weird card he played in his Fiend Deck for this very reason. It was time consumming, but it came in very handy at his next tournament. He just pulled it out and started quoting...even to the judge. We all make really stupid calls sometimes. Some of us more than others.
 
It's really a good idea to make a copy of rulings for offbeat cards to show a judge. If you know you have an unusual combo in your deck that may be questioned, it's not a bad idea to approach the HJ before the tournament and iron out any misconceptions before they arrise as well.

It's difficult to remember all of the rulings for anyone...and I mean anyone. Never the less, at a regional event or higher a call should rarely be missed and the HJ should have documentation available in one form or another to verify such rulings.
 
I guess but being a very quiet person it's quite difficult to be heard over the 120 we had there in a tiny shop or at least in most tournies =/ There were just so many we had to do a top 3 cut after the first 3 rounds just so we could get some space. I mean it was 40 degrees already.
 
Back
Top