Multiple chains during Damage Step?

skey23

Council of Heroes
Ok, I'm apparently a little fuzzy on this subject so here's a scenario for you.

Player A has a face-up "X-Head Cannon".
Player B has a face-up "Mobius the Frost Monarch" and a face-down Spell/Trap.
Player A attacks "Mobius" with his "X-Head Cannon".
Player B doesn't respond.
In the Damage Step, Player A activates "Limiter Removal" from his hand to boost his "X-Head Cannon".
Player B chains "Magic Jammer", Player A doesn't respond.
Everything resolves.

NOW, can Player A, in response to the resolution of the chain, activate another "Limiter Removal" from his hand to attemp to boost his "X-Head Cannon" again?

Thanks.

P.S. I know this scenario no longer fits the current ban list, but it's just a scenario..;)
 
I knew I read that scenario somewhere before!...:drugged:[font=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]

Kevin also did NOT say you couldn't do what was asked in the example. He simply said that multiple chains are,
[/font][font=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]for the most part, "only practical during the Battle Step". He didn't say you couldn't have them in during the Damage Step. He then proceeds to give an example of multiple chains in the Damage Step.
[/font]
[font=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif] You CAN have a chain where "Airknight Parshath" attacks "Mystic Tomato", and "Divine Wrath" is chained to the effect of "Airknight Parshath" to negate and destroy it, and then another "Divine Wrath" is chained to the effect of "Mystic Tomato" to negate it. That's 2 chains at 2 separate points during the same Damage Step.
So what makes this different?[/font]
 
I think the difference is that one chain is responding to Airknight's Effect and the other is responding to Tomato's example.

A "simpler" example of two chains responding to the same event would be:

Player A declares an attack.
Player B responds with Sakuretsu Armor.
Player A chains Seven Tools of the Baindit
Everything resolves, Sakuretsu is negated and destroyed.
Player B decides to respond again to the declaration of the attack with Waboku.
Player A chains Seven Tools of the Bandit (yeah, I know, full trap load here 8^D).
Everything resolves and Waboku is negated.

Now if Player B is done trying to keep himself alive, then it moves into damage calculation.
 
Right, I understand all that. I don't have an issue with multiple chains during the Battle Step. It's during the Damage Step that's got me wondering.

The 'one time only' chances are spelled out in his post as well.
[font=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif] However, there are certain specific points during an attack at which a required element of the attack is happening. Examples: declaring an attack, flipping the target face-up, performing damage calculation, sending monsters to the Graveyard. In each of these cases, the action being performed, if it involves effects that can be chained, is a One-Time-Only-Everything-Must-Happen-NOW event.
And guess what...I just answered my own stoopid question...lol...:delete:

The timing that I'm referring to is during Sub-step 3 Damage calculation part 1. And what does he refer to having the 'one time only' clause...

That's right boys and girls....Damage Calculation.

Ok, I feel completely stooooopid now.

Thanks though!...:tssk:
[/font]
 
I would think the issue here is that for the actual "cards that directly modify ATK/DEF" there is only one opportunity (chain) to activate those effects. Obviously there are possibilities for the "fallout" as it were from the battle to generate multiple chains such as Airknight drawing effect, Sangan searches, Tomato summons, Axe of Despair returns, but those have to be "sorted out" after damage calculation has been done.

BTW can anybody remember reading in an official ruling about SEGOC that only the last effect on the chain could be negated (chained to)? I swear I remember reading that the player could decide between his effects which would be first on the chain and then the opponent would only be able to negate the final link but quite clearly in the Airknight vs. Mystic Tomato explanation he states that these are "seperate chains". This has been nagging at me for quite a while. Is the SEGOC chain an actual chain (can't activate new cards in response during resolution) or are we just placing those card effects in an order that they will each trigger and resolve? Since it has been referred to multiple times as "between chain links" I always took it as the former. But being able to Divine Wrath both definitely makes it the latter.
 
You can't voluntarily start a new chain in the same sub-step of the damage step.

So for example there is only one chain that will modify the attack and defense of the cards (don't mention Slate Warrior...)

If you play Rush Recklessly, and it gets negated by Magic Jammer, you may not play another Rush Recklessly.

There is only one chain opportunity when you first flip the monster face-up, so if your Cross Counter gets negated by Seven Tools of the Bandit you may not activate another Cross Counter.

But you may Activate Cross Counter, have it resolve, then later activate Reliable Guardian in that one Damage step.
 
anthonyj said:
BTW can anybody remember reading in an official ruling about SEGOC that only the last effect on the chain could be negated (chained to)? I swear I remember reading that the player could decide between his effects which would be first on the chain and then the opponent would only be able to negate the final link but quite clearly in the Airknight vs. Mystic Tomato explanation he states that these are "seperate chains". This has been nagging at me for quite a while. Is the SEGOC chain an actual chain (can't activate new cards in response during resolution) or are we just placing those card effects in an order that they will each trigger and resolve? Since it has been referred to multiple times as "between chain links" I always took it as the former. But being able to Divine Wrath both definitely makes it the latter.

Mystic Tomato is still on the field when Airknight Parshath is activating and resolving. It's effect hasn't been triggered yet.
This is not a case of SEGOC.
 
DaGuyWitBluGlasses said:
Mystic Tomato is still on the field when Airknight Parshath is activating and resolving. It's effect hasn't been triggered yet.
This is not a case of SEGOC.
So I just read Kevin's post wrong. It makes sense but he could have actually stated these were two seperate chains. The wording flubbed me up. Sorry. There should be a course on translating what Kevin means from what he says. :)
 
Back
Top