Necrovalley Qustion?

Kyhotae said:
"Dedication through Light and Darkness" does not specifically designate a target. The monster Special Summoned by its effect is selected at resolution, not activation. As such, "Necrovalley" cannot negate it because it's not specifically targeting a card in the Graveyard.
As long as this card remains on the field, negate the effects of Spell, Trap, and Monster Cards that affect a card(s) in the Graveyard, and neither player can remove cards in the Graveyards from play. Also, as long as this card remains on the field, increase the ATK and DEF of all monsters that include "Gravekeeper's" in their card name by 500 points.

Necrovalley prevents graveyard altercations of card effects that target a card or cards in the graveyard that would alter it.

Fiber Jar
Big Burn
Soul Release

Those are three examples.
 
Exactly and I had to edit my post a little bit ago before you posted because I didn't word my explaination correctly. It sounded wrong IMO.

The way Necrovalley functions is it prevents graveyard altercations. That's how its always functioned IMO.
 
slither said:
That is the one ruling that needs to really be cleared up by Konami:

"Necrovalley" will NOT negate effects that do not target a card or cards in the Graveyard. So "Necrovalley" will NOT negate the effects of "Dark Necrofear" (when destroyed and sent to the Graveyard), "Revival Jam", "Winged Sage Falcos", "Twin-Headed Behemoth", "Mystical Knight of Jackal", and "Red-Moon Baby".

And because of that it can go either way.... this is saying that it does matter that it doesn't target.
That's what I'm saying. :thumbs_up
 
And yet Necrovalley has this ruling..

""Necrovalley" negates costs and effects that require removing cards from the Graveyard. So "Necrovalley" WILL prevent a player from removing cards in the Graveyard from play to activate the effect of "Bazoo the Soul-Eater" or "Chaosrider Gustaph". "Necrovalley" WILL prevent a player from removing cards in the Graveyard from play to Special Summon "Dark Necrofear" or "Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning". "Necrovalley" WILL negate card effects like "Big Burn", "Gravedigger Ghoul", "Disappear", and "Soul Release"."

Hmmm...interesting development. =)
 
They also need to update dozens of rulings besides just Necrovalley's. There's too many things they need to update for rulings and terminology that it probably would be a busy job to take on. Just wish they weren't being so slow about it.
 
slither said:
That is the one ruling that needs to really be cleared up by Konami:

"Necrovalley" will NOT negate effects that do not target a card or cards in the Graveyard. So "Necrovalley" will NOT negate the effects of "Dark Necrofear" (when destroyed and sent to the Graveyard), "Revival Jam", "Winged Sage Falcos", "Twin-Headed Behemoth", "Mystical Knight of Jackal", and "Red-Moon Baby".

And because of that it can go either way.... this is saying that it does matter that it doesn't target.

Winged Sage Falcos, Red-Moon Baby, and Mystical Knight of Jackal don't allow the creature to reach the graveyard, they alter the destination like Banisher of the Light does. Not to say they all RFG the cards, but they all prevent the cards from reaching the graveyard thus out of Necrovalley's reach. The first 3 creatures either summon the critter (RMB) or return it to the top of the deck like Legendary Jujitsu Master.

Dark Necrofear, Revival Jam, and Twin-Headed Behemoth are effects from within the graveyard that cannot be negated. Necrovalley's effect prevents cards/effects from OUTSIDE the graveyard alter the contents or affect the INSIDE of the graveyard.
 
OKShadow said:
Winged Sage Falcos, Red-Moon Baby, and Mystical Knight of Jackal don't allow the creature to reach the graveyard, they alter the destination like Banisher of the Light does. Not to say they all RFG the cards, but they all prevent the cards from reaching the graveyard thus out of Necrovalley's reach. The first 3 creatures either summon the critter (RMB) or return it to the top of the deck like Legendary Jujitsu Master.

Dark Necrofear, Revival Jam, and Twin-Headed Behemoth are effects from within the graveyard that cannot be negated. Necrovalley's effect prevents cards/effects from OUTSIDE the graveyard alter the contents or affect the INSIDE of the graveyard.
You might want to read their effects.

Mystical Knight of Jackal
When this card destroys 1 monster on your opponent's side of the field and sends it to your opponent's Graveyard as a result of battle, you can then return the card to the top of your opponent's Deck.

Red-Moon Baby
You can Special Summon to your side of the field a monster destroyed and sent to the Graveyard as a result of battle by this card at the end of the Battle Phase.

Winged Sage Falcos
You can return your opponent's face-up Attack Position monster, that this card destroyed and sent to the Graveyard as a result of battle, to the top of your opponent's Deck.
 
OKShadow said:
Winged Sage Falcos, Red-Moon Baby, and Mystical Knight of Jackal don't allow the creature to reach the graveyard, they alter the destination like Banisher of the Light does. Not to say they all RFG the cards, but they all prevent the cards from reaching the graveyard thus out of Necrovalley's reach. The first 3 creatures either summon the critter (RMB) or return it to the top of the deck like Legendary Jujitsu Master.

Umm no they don't:

"Mystical Knight of Jackal" sends a monster to the Graveyard as a result of battle, and THEN returns it to the top of the deck, so "Sangan" or "Witch of the Black Forest", etc., will activate their effects.
 
Yes, though it still lacks of explanation by Konami, on how did they come to a conclusion on how to divide a why of some effects and why not on other effect.
 
What's so difficult about this? Kyhotae's initial answer is the correct one. It's all in the rulings.

"Necrovalley" will not negate effects that don't target cards in the Graveyard.
"Dedication through Light and Darkness" does not target.


Those are the only two rulings you need to answer this question correctly.

Why does it negate costs? Because it says so on the card text. Because that's the way The Creator wanted it played...lol.

Why is it split between target and not target, because that's the way The Creator wanted it...lol.
 
skey23 said:
What's so difficult about this? Kyhotae's initial answer is the correct one. It's all in the rulings.

"Necrovalley" will not negate effects that don't target cards in the Graveyard.
"Dedication through Light and Darkness" does not target.


Those are the only two rulings you need to answer this question correctly.

Why does it negate costs? Because it says so on the card text. Because that's the way The Creator wanted it played...lol.

Why is it split between target and not target, because that's the way The Creator wanted it...lol.

So by this you are saying that Fiber Jar and Big Burn target??
 
slither said:
So by this you are saying that Fiber Jar and Big Burn target??
"Fiber Jar" would be an oddball exception....BKSS.

[edit]Actually, let me change that. According to the rulings, "Fiber Jar" DOES target cards in the Graveyard, so again, there should be no issue with this card, based off the rulings.

"Big Burn" fits into the 'neither player can remove cards from play' part of "Necrovalley". There shouldn't even be a question with it.
 
Back
Top