Premature Burial vs. Sangan, Pinch Hopper, etc.

CraniumX

New Member
Alright, just to clear things up in my head, since I'm not completely sure...

When Premature Burial targets that lovable Critter - Sangan, Pinch Hopper, or any other creature that has an effect that activates when it's sent from the field to the graveyard, if the Premature is countered with Magic Jammer, Spell Shield Type 8, Imperial Order, Solemn Judgement, etc, I know the monster will never hit the field, but...

If Mystical Space Typhoon or Dust Tornado (or another card that's chainable that just destroys a magic card) are activated in response to playing Premature, will the creature hit the field and then go back to the graveyard, or will it never make it out of the grave?
 
DuelzEntity said:
No...I thought that if I activate Premature Burial and I target Sangan and you activate MST I still get my monster from my deck?
There are two situations here:

1. Player A activates "Premature Burial" choosing "Sangan". Player B does not respond. "Premature Burial" resolves bringing "Sangan" to the field. Player B then decides to activate his "Mystical Space Typhoon"/"Dust Tornado" to destroy "Premature Burial". Player A does not respond. "Premature Burial" is destroyed, "Sangan" is sent to the Graveyard, and Player A gets to choose a qualifying monster from their deck.

2. Player A activates "Premature Burial" choosing "Sangan". Player B chains with "Mystical Space Typhoon"/"Dust Tornado", destroying "Premature Burial" BEFORE it resolves. "Sangan" is never brought to the field, so Player A DOES NOT get to choose a qualifying monster from their deck.

It would be silly to go the way of Option 1 above.
 
Back
Top