Protector of the Sanctuary+Bait Doll+Disturbance Strategy

CardsOfTheHeart

New Member
If this question is covered on another thread, don't blame me; I can't find it.


I've been asking several judges about this and I'm getting conflicting rulings.

Protector of the Sanctuary + Bait Doll + Disturbance Strategy

1. Can Bait Doll activate a f/d Disturbance Strategy while Protector of the Sanctuary is on the field?
2. If it can, does the effect of Disturbance Strategy resolve normally?

I've had a lv1 judge say that the timing would be incorrect on Disturbance Strategy in that case (since it can't be activated while Protector of the Sanctuary is on the field).
But I've also had a lv2 judge say that since Bait Doll forces the activation of Disturbance Strategy and cards that are forced to be activated while Protector of the Sanctuary is on the field still work (e.g. Morphing Jar), the timing isn't incorrect and the effect resolves as usual.

So who's right?
 
Most cards that would cause the opponent to draw outside of the Draw Phase, such as "Card Destruction", cannot be activated, even by the controller of "Protector of the Sanctuary". However, effects that are forcibly activated, like "Morphing Jar", can be activated (but results may vary; see below).
Ok, so let's see below...
  1. If "Protector of the Sanctuary" is on the field, then Flip Effects like "Morphing Jar" will still activate because they must activate when the monster is flipped (whether it was Flip Summoned, flipped by an attack, or flipped by "Book of Taiyou", etc.).
  2. If "Morphing Jar"'s effect activates, then both players discard their hands, but if you control "Protector of the Sanctuary", your opponent does not draw a new hand.
  3. You cannot activate cards if they make your opponent draw, such as "Dragged Down into the Grave", "Card Destruction", or "Disturbance Strategy".
  1. Now, it says results may vary. And look at that, they DO vary. It would appear that Monster effects work just fine when forcibly activated, and that Spell and Trap cards would not even be able to be activated period.
I could be incorrect in my logic, and if I am, then great.
 
Your logic seems sound. But I'm merely raising the point of... well, I'll use their words, since this is difficult for me to phrase.
because they must activate when the monster is flipped
Now, try replacing the words "monster" and "flipped" with, respectively, "trap" and "forced". Of course, we all know what debates the term "force" has led to in the past.
-pssvr
 
krazykidpsx said:
You didnt activate the card.

it says, That "YOU" the owner of Protector of the Sanctuary cant activate Disturbance Strategy.

now if your opponent activates it, then its on them.
OMG!..I can't believe I didn't even think of THAT!

If I am the controller of "Protector of the Sanctuary", then sure, I can use "Bait Doll" on THEIR set "Disturbance Strategy" and it will work just fine because I would be the one to merge cards into the deck and then draw....duh!

But if it were the other way around...It's my opponent's "Protector", then, when I tried to use "Bait Doll" on their set "Disturbance Strategy" it would be considered incorrect timing and would be destroyed by "Bait Doll".
 
Ok, now I'm confused...lol!

Here's the deal.

If I control "Protector of the Sanctuary", then I can activate things that make me and me ONLY draw, not counting "Morphing Jar". My opponent can activate things that make me and me ONLY draw, not counting "Morphing Jar". I can use "Bait Doll" on my opponent's set "Disturbance Strategy" because it's making me and me ONLY draw.

If my opponent controls "Protector of the Sanctuary", then I cannot activate things that would make both of us draw, like "Card Destruction", but not including "Morphing Jar". I can activate my set "Disturbance Strategy" because it would make ONLY my opponent draw.

Note: "Morphing Jar" was not included because of the rulings previously mentioned. And because I think we all agree that "Morphing Jar"s effect will activate w/o issue while "Protector of the Sanctuary" is active.

Does this help?
 
*light bulb begins glowing* You are the most brilliant monkey I've ever met. And that really IS saying something; I mean you should meet my friend's pet monkey. o_0 One of these days I'm gonna get over your name, but not for a while...
-pssvr
 
Back
Top