Rulings update: A-Counters

skey23

Council of Heroes
I thought I'd just let everybody know that rulings have been clarified for A-Counters.

The A-Counters themselves have no effect....period.

The only time they will cause the monster to lose ATK when battling an "Alien" monster is if that monster specifically says so, or another effect gives them that ability ("Otherworld - The "A" Zone" for example).
UDE FAQ said:
The effect to reduce the ATK of monsters with A-Counters is an effect of this card. If this card (or another with the same effect) is not on the field, then a monster with an A-Counter will not lose ATK while battling an "Alien".
And...
UDE FAQ said:
"Alien Hunter" does not have the A-Counter ATK reduction effect. So if it is the only "Alien" you control, and it battles a monster with an A-Counter, that opposing monster will NOT lose 300 ATK.
Joy...
 
Wha?

Alien Hunter
Alien Infiltrator
Alien Mars
Alien Mother
Alien Psychic
Alien Shocktrooper

All those do NOT have the effect. In fact, only Grey, Skull, Warrior and Gangi'el DO (even though the latter is NOT an "Alien").

And Otherworld - The "A" Zone does NOT care about A-Counters. It just does a 300 reduce, that's all.

Blah, this sucks. Aliens have taken a huge blow. I don't suppose the effects stack (2 Greys + 1 A-Counter = a 600 reduce)...? Didn't think so.

I'd argue some more (like if it's the effect of a card, why is it in brackets; and why can't it just be a game mechanic or a field condition or something?), but I won't. We can argue logic and reason all we want, but it won't help.
 
Where was it changed? Because the fourth ruling when I click the Levia-Dragon - Daedalus link still claims it is destroyed.



EDIT: http://entertainment.upperdeck.com/yugioh/en/gameplay/faqs/cardfaqs/default.aspx?first=L&last=O

It seems it HAS been changed. It's amazing how much I didn't hear about it. A sneak update, no doubt. I'm sure it would have been mentioned on this site when it was changed, if anyone had noticed.

If an effect is chained to "Levia-Dragon Daedalus'" effect to flip "Levia-Dragon Daedalus" face-down, it is still not destroyed by its effect.
 
masterwoo0 said:
This is how I thought it would be all along. I didnt really see how it could have been interpreted any other way.

Now I feel sooo much better about the ruling on Venom Counters...Ah, consistancy at last. Levia...all is right with the world...Jinzo w/ CoTH... peace and Tranquility.

Hey, wait a minute!! If They keep fixing rulings to make sense, anybody will be able to Judge......
 
DarkLogicianOfCaos said:
Hey, wait a minute!! If They keep fixing rulings to make sense, anybody will be able to Judge......

Why not Paul? You still do....(huge laughter!!!) Just kidding buddy!
icon10.gif
 
Back
Top