Sasuke Samurai #4 effect when attacked?

skey23

Council of Heroes
'Sasuke Samurai #4':
"If this card battles a monster, toss a coin and call heads or tails before damage calculation. If you call it right, destroy the opponent's monster with this effect."

I have two questions about this card.
I have read the rulings and searched for specific info about this card on this forum, but have not found the answers to these questions.

1. If a face down 'Sasuke Samurai #4' is attacked, can it's effect be activated when it is flipped face up by the attack, or is it too late because you have already entered the 'Damage Step'?

2. Can you use the effect of 'Sasuke Samurai #4' when it's attacked in FACE UP defense position, before damage calculation.

The card text does not state that 'Sasuke Samurai #4' must be in face up attack position; however, the current rulings would suggest that it does.

Is the 'trick' to this card the fact the card text states "When this card battles a monster", not "When this card battles WITH a monster"?


Thanks.
 
1. It is too late. Sasuke Samurai #4's effect activates at the same time as all the other Sasuke Samurais. At the point when a monster is flipped face-up, it is too late.

2. Yes. It is face-up and battling a monster. That is sufficient.

Battling a monster and battling with a monster are much the same thing. There may be some nuance I am missing, but I don't think it would be a large difference.
 
Thank you very much!

On the 'battling' and 'battling with' I was thinking the following:

'Battles with' a monster automatically implies either attacking or being attacked.
'Battles' a monster means only attacking, not being attacked.

???
 
A monster battles either on attack or defense. The only difference is one is active voice (battles) the other is passive voice (battles with). 'Battles with' is generally used when referring to the opponent's monster (like 'If a monster battles with . . .') while 'battles' is used when referring to itself ('When this monster battles').
 
skey23 said:
'Sasuke Samurai #4':

I have read the rulings and searched for specific info about this card on this forum, but have not found the answers to these questions.

1. If a face down 'Sasuke Samurai #4' is attacked, can it's effect be activated when it is flipped face up by the attack, or is it too late because you have already entered the 'Damage Step'?

This is right off of the judge list:

Sasuke Samurai's (#1) Effect activates before an attacked f/d Monster can be
flipped face-up.

When Sasuke Samurai #4 attacks a face-down, the same occurs - the Effect activates
before the f/d Monster can be flipped f/u. Based on this, SS#4's Effect obviously
activates in Step 1 of the new Damage Step Chart.

Am I then correct in deducing that if I attack my opponent's f/d Sasuke Samurai #4
and SS#4 is flipped, that it is too late for my opponent to activate the newly
flipped SS#4 as we have already moved beyond Step #1 of the Damage Step?

Thank you,
~ENM

Answer:

That is correct. The timing window for "Sasuke Samuai #4's" effect will have passed.

---------------------------------------
Curtis Schultz
Official UDE Netrep
CurtisSchultz_Netrep@Hotmail.com


As you can see the effect of SS#4 will not activate if attacked while face down.
 
Back
Top