Snatch Steal vs. Tailor of the fickle

Javario

New Member
Hello all,

I'm not sure if this is a legal situation. If someone activates snatch steal during their main phase two: Can I summon ( you know on my turn, or chain call of the haunted on their turn_) then change the target to the new monster and since it's their card they would instead take the other "new" monster I choose? Basically to prevent any confusion,

they choose/ designate a monster on my field with snatch, then I on my turn use tailor of the fickle to change this new target to whatever I want. Of course a monster on my side of the field since it's still they're equip card. I just want to know all possible situations .....

-Javario
 
Well, I'm gonna extrapolate from Cyber Raider's rulings and say you cannot activate TotF then:
"¢ You cannot equip an inappropriate Equip Spell Card like "Premature Burial" or "Snatch Steal" to Cyber Raider with his effect.
"¢ When you Normal Summon, Flip Summon, or Special Summon "Cyber Raider" and there is no Equip Spell Card on the field, "Cyber Raider"'s effect does not activate and cannot be chained to.

So, if you apply that to TotF, then you cannot switch the inappropriate Snatch Steal to their monster

-chaosruler
 
You should be able to change the target of Snatch Steal at that point to any face-up monster on the Field.

Going by this previous ruling from the Netrepâ„¢ Files 6.0

"Snatch Steal" may only initially target a monster on the opponent's side of the field.

You are not actually "playing" the card to the Field, you are simply switching the target. If you choose a monster you control, it will switch control to the opponent's side.

Unless someone has a more current ruling to contradict this.

EDIT: Maybe i am wrong here, i've never been solid with this card's effect. The Cyber Raider effect seems to point it being illegal or inAppropriate.
 
Well, the current RONIN files are where I got the Cyber Raider rulings from, meh, I dunno, maybe you're right, oh well, I tried ^_^

EDIT: Nova, where do you get the NetRep files? I'm tired, so I prolly just overlooked it, heh, blah

-chaosruler
 
chaosruler said:
Well, the current RONIN files are where I got the Cyber Raider rulings from, meh, I dunno, maybe you're right, oh well, I tried ^_^

-chaosruler
You are probably right.

The real crux here is the wording of "Equip it to this card" vs. "switch the target"

In the case of Cyber Raider you are actually performing an "equip" action, Tailor simply switches the target.

I'm not sure if i'm readin too much into this, i probably am.

:cool:
 
novastar said:
You should be able to change the target of Snatch Steal at that point to any face-up monster on the Field.

Going by this previous ruling from the Netrepâ„¢ Files 6.0

"Snatch Steal" may only initially target a monster on the opponent's side of the field.

You are not actually "playing" the card to the Field, you are simply switching the target. If you choose a monster you control, it will switch control to the opponent's side.

Unless someone has a more current ruling to contradict this.

You are correct.

Player1: activates Thousand-Eyes Restrict, and designates Summoned Skull
Player2: chains Enemy Controller, tributing 1 Scapegoat Token to initiate control swtich effect and designates Thousand-Eyes Restrict
No players respond
Resolve Steps
Step2: Enemy Controller resolves, gaining control of Player1's Thousand Eye Restrict
Step1: Thousand-Eyes Restrict effect "dissappears"

Javario, this would be the same scenario. Since Thousand-Eyes Restrict now has an illegal target being that Player1 was the one controlled the effect when it was initially activated, but now is no longer within Player1 control. Player2's Thousand -Eyes Restrict cannot target a monster within the same side of the as Thousand-Eyes Restrict.

Snatch Steal can only legally target the opponent's monster.
 
novastar was correct. The example I posted was only to support the answer.

For Cyber Raider: these answers are just my opinions

As for Snatch Steal, you cannot choose your "own" Snatch Steal.

As for Premature Burial, it can only remain equipped to the targetted monster it has Special Summoned, in order to determine what monster was "Special Summon" by Premature Burial's effect.
 
not so sure...

hey, thankyou~

But, I'm not sure if the situation is over.. Why? because it's not completely the same situation. Why? because I'm not trying to change fields of the monsters, just the target. You know as if he took another monster that he didn't really want like using shift or something. Or like patrician of darkness for magic/spell cards. I'm not trying to get they're monster to my field. My field in a sense wouldn't necessarily change. Because I'd still be stuck with one monster. Leaving it one one one. Because in my situation that didn't actually happen I was just wondering.

If they snatch my let's say Berserk Gorilla and I draw tailor of the fickle, and I get sinister serpent back from the graveyard. I summon sinister serpent with no chains let's say the field is clear except for beserk, sinister, and snatch. Plus let's say were both top decking, and I play tailor of the fickle and switch his target of my monster. I only think it'll work because the monster wasn't flipped down. The monster is still mine, and wasn't reset by a manual flip face down. So, I'm not so sure that rule on thousand eyes restrict applies. Because in a sense it's still an equip card, I'm just manipulating the target. Because if it wasn't considered my monster any more I wouldn't gain. because for me to gain he would need my monster. So it's a give and take situation, he has my monster and I gain life. So what happenes now?
 
That situation is prefectly fine. It's legal.

Where Tailor of the Fickle states, "appropriate target" means you must select an appropriate target, following the text of the Equip Card.

Snatch Steal may be switched to Sinister Serpent, being that it is "your monster" and it is "under your current control".
 
StRiKe_NiNjA said:
That situation is prefectly fine. It's legal.

Where Tailor of the Fickle states, "Appropriate target" means you must select an Appropriate target, following the text of the Equip Card.

Snatch Steal may be switched to Sinister Serpent, being that it is "your monster" and it is "under your current control".

And if you want to back this statement up with an official ruling, check out Collected Power, ruling #4: (I knew there was one somewhere, just took too long to find it)

"¢ You can move "Snatch Steal" with this card's effect, and it will affect the newly equipped monster (the controller of "Snatch Steal" gains control of it, and loses control of the previously equipped monster).
 
yeah:>lol

yeah I missed it, I wasn't thinking about what fickle said but what it did. >lol But, thanx.... I'm glad I can do that. I doubt that I would use it, but it's not bad for snatch. I just wanted to know just in case I ever think I'd use it.
 
Back
Top