Solemn Judgement Vs Barrel Behind the Door: When do I pay half my life?

Tonylaudat

New Member
I was just wondering, if my opponet uses Ring of Destruction on a monster, and then chains Barrel to it (in this case, I am assuming that I chain nothing in response to ring), and then I decide to use Solemn Judgement to negate his/her Barrel, do I pay half of my life before or after ring resolves. I am asking this, becasue Barrel can only redirect damage, and I my opponet won't actually take the damage (which he/she is trying to redirect), until ring resolves.

Would I take the damage from Ring first and then pay half of my remaning life, or would I pay half of my remaing life first, and then take damage from ring. Thank you all in advance for your time.
 
Tonylaudat said:
I was just wondering, if my opponet uses Ring of Destruction on a monster, and then chains Barrel to it (in this case, I am assuming that I chain nothing in response to ring), and then I decide to use Solemn Judgement to negate his/her Barrel, do I pay half of my life before or after ring resolves. I am asking this, becasue Barrel can only redirect damage, and I my opponet won't actually take the damage (which he/she is trying to redirect), until ring resolves.

Would I take the damage from Ring first and then pay half of my remaning life, or would I pay half of my remaing life first, and then take damage from ring. Thank you all in advance for your time.
If you were going to use Solemn, it would have been much better to chain it to Ring of Destruction as your opponent would have to use Seven Tools of the Bandit to stop Solemn. That way, you only take the damage from the cost.
 
masterwoo0 said:
If you were going to use Solemn, it would have been much better to chain it to Ring of Destruction as your opponent would have to use Seven Tools of the Bandit to stop Solemn. That way, you only take the damage from the cost.
If they activated Seven Tools as a chain to your SJ then you'd still take the RoD damage too since SJ was itself negated, allowing RoD to resolve normally. Think you meant that you'd only take the cost, and not RoD damage, if they failed to negate SJ.
 
daivahataka said:
If they activated Seven Tools as a chain to your SJ then you'd still take the RoD damage too since SJ was itself negated, allowing RoD to resolve normally. Think you meant that you'd only take the cost, and not RoD damage, if they failed to negate SJ.
Well, that IS what I meant. I guess it kind of turned into a run on sentence if it was interpreted as them ACTUALLY negating Solemn Judgment.
 
Tonylaudat said:
I was just wondering, if my opponet uses Ring of Destruction on a monster, and then chains Barrel to it (in this case, I am assuming that I chain nothing in response to ring), and then I decide to use Solemn Judgement to negate his/her Barrel, do I pay half of my life before or after ring resolves. I am asking this, becasue Barrel can only redirect damage, and I my opponet won't actually take the damage (which he/she is trying to redirect), until ring resolves.

Would I take the damage from Ring first and then pay half of my remaning life, or would I pay half of my remaing life first, and then take damage from ring. Thank you all in advance for your time.
In that scenario, you would have the first chance to chain to Ring of Destruction, not your opponent. (Unless of course, you weren't thinking, which can and does happen sometimes. To me especially.) So would actually get to chain your Solemn Judgement before he could activate the Barrel Behind the Door. But if you do pass on the chain, then and it plays out as you have stated, then you would pay your half first and then BBD would resolve (or fail to) and then Ring.
 
Back
Top