Soul excahnge and Scape Goats

PerfectZelgadis

New Member
Alright I think i know the answer to this one, and its probably been addressed on this forum already.

Can Soul Exchange target a Scapegoat token. And if it can, could it then be used for a summons?

Alright I think it can be targeted, but not used for a tribute summons.

Someone Holla back,
 
Conversely I say that you CAN target a goat token for soul exchange, since there are other uses for a tribute besides tribute summoning. I agree that you cannot use a goat token for a tribute summon, but you could soul exchange a goat token for cannon soldier say.
 
Manta would be correct on this issue.

You CAN target your opponent's sheep token created by "Scapegoat".

You CANNOT use that sheep token for a tribute summon.
You CAN use that sheep token for "Cannon Soldier", or any other tribute effect that is NOT a summon.
 
skey23 said:
Manta would be correct on this issue.

You CAN target your opponent's sheep token created by "Scapegoat".

You CANNOT use that sheep token for a tribute summon.
You CAN use that sheep token for "Cannon Soldier", or any other tribute effect that is NOT a summon.
Hold on guys, your mixing up some things here. Cannon Soldier and other monster like him offer monsters as tributes for thier effects. Sheep Tokens are ONLY restricted from being offered as tributes for Tribute Summons. Soul Exchange is offering your opponent's monster as a substitue for your monster when you go to Tribute Summon.
This is still a Tribute Summon. You are still offering the selected monster as a tribute for a Tribute Summon, not a Special Summon, not a tribute effect, not even as a cost effect. All Soul Exchange does is switch which side of the field you can select monsters from for your Tribute Summon. And that makes the Sheep Token ineligable for targeting.
 
The text on "Soul Exchange" is as follows:

"Select 1 monster on your opponent's side of the field. When you offer your monster as a Tribute, offer the selected monster in place of 1 of your monsters. During this turn, you cannot conduct your Battle Phase."

Nowhere on there does it limit the act of 'Tributing' to ONLY a Tribute Summon. And the rulings support this.

[edit]..C'mon..c'mon...pud 'em up!..pud 'em up! (as the Cowardly Lion)
 
You activate Soul Exchange and target a monster (or Token in this case) to be used at a later time for a Tribute of some sorts.

Sheep Token's are legal to target with this. You cannot use them for a Tribute Summon later on, but if you happen to gain another effect of some sorts that could use it, it will work.
 
skey23 said:
The text on "Soul Exchange" is as follows:

"Select 1 monster on your opponent's side of the field. When you offer your monster as a Tribute, offer the selected monster in place of 1 of your monsters. During this turn, you cannot conduct your Battle Phase."

Nowhere on there does it limit the act of 'Tributing' to ONLY a Tribute Summon. And the rulings support this.

[edit]..C'mon..c'mon...pud 'em up!..pud 'em up! (as the Cowardly Lion)
lol Okay I guess I should have noticed that. I'm not used to seeing Soul Exchange used for a Tribute Effects and forgot that it could be. Of course, for the effect of Cannon Soldier it would work, but for the act of Summoning Jinzo it wouldn't.

[edit]Alright, but I'll fight like the black lion from The Wiz. :p
 
Back
Top