spirit reaper being rushed...

roadhouse007

New Member
Here is the situation:

A player attacks the face down monster of their opponents. Damage step starts, and the monster is flipped face up to be revealed as spirit reaper. During the damage step, a player targets spirit reaper with rush recklessly. How would this resolve?


- Does spirit reaper die immediately and cause a replay?

- Does spirit reaper die and the attack stops?

- Does the attack go as normal and spirit reaper die at the end of damage step?

I think it would be the first one, but the reason I ask is because it is already during damage calculation. Please help.
 
so hes destroyed after calculation. which is after the resolution of the effect that targets it.

why does that make absolutly no sence to me?

mr. danker could you please explain how it works? :D
 
I think that answers my question. The attack hits the defense position reaper, and it dies after damage calculation.(lets say the attacker happened to be Airknight, the 1700 would go through, then attacking player would draw a card, then Spirit Reaper would realize it had been designated by rush and destroy itself?)

Would this be right?
 
Many things that happen in the Damage Step (that can happen elsewhere) need to wait until the Resolve effects portion of the battle step.

For example the ruling of Giant Kozaky vs Drillroid.
Giant Kozaky is a continuous effect and would normally become active after being flipped face-up; active before any chain starts. But because its in the damage step it has to wait, and gets destroyed by Drillroid instead.

(this does not apply to ALL continuous effects, different types of effects have different speeds if you wish. I'd try and say continuous effects with trigger-like conditions are the ones that have to wait, but i'm sure to be proven wrong shortly after"¦)
 
but if we remember correctly, if that one gravekeeper that targets it and kills it replay happens, yes its outside of damage step but its something emidiate that happens.

id figure, Id get destroyed on the spot since an effect is resolving.

okay now lets add this to the mixture,

dark ruler vs Spirit Reaper getting targeted with Rush Recklessly during the damage step.

what would happen there, when would the reaper die and by what hand will it die in?

i know its rush since dark ruler wouldnt be able to destroy it.
 
krazykidpsx said:
thats way to far ahead in time that a card that targeted had resolved for it to then realized that it die.

its like stating that if you Change of Heart it face up that it in fact will end up in opponent terretory and then die.

But the card does resolve before Spirit Reaper dies by its own effect. Example: Book of Moon. once the reaper is face down it cannot die by its own effect. So sir, it is true that, in fact, if you Change of Heart it face up that it in fact will end up in opponent terretory and then die.

What I needed to know is if a replay was triggered,and based on now knowing that those effects go off in Damage Sub Step 5, I understand how it would go. I figured that once in damage calculation you could not have a replay for that attack, I just wanted to make sure.
 
Back
Top