Spirit Reaper targeted by Snatch Steal

Madma

New Member
Player A activates Snatch Steal, targeting Player B's Spirit Reaper; Player B chains Dust Tornado to destroy Snatch Steal before Player A can get its effect.

What Happen? Will Spirit Reaper destroy itself? Or not? The activation of Snatch Steal isn't negated, but it has a continous effect and needs to remain on the field to work...
 
"Spirit Reaper" will not be destroyed in this scenario.

"Spirit Reaper"s self-destruction does not happen unless it is still face-up at the resolution of the effect that targets it. So in this case, the card that targetted it was destroyed, and never resolved, so the "Reaper" survives.

Hope this helps!
 
The reason for some of the confusion is that Sprit Reaper's text used to read that it was "immediatly" destroyed by a targeting effect. It doesn't work that way as, Skey pointed out, however.

It should also be noted that a card targeting Spirit Reaper will only fail to destroy Spirit Reaper if it fails to resolve, not if it resolves without effect. There is a difference. From the FAQ:

"Spirit Reaper" is destroyed by its own effect after a card that targets it resolves. If a Spell Card targets it, and the activation of that Spell Card is negated (such as with "Magic Jammer"), then "Spirit Reaper" is not destroyed. However, if the effect of the Spell Card was negated, such as if "Imperial Order" is active, then "Spirit Reaper" is destroyed because the Spell Card resolves (even though its effect is negated). Even if "Imperial Order" is already active on the field, you can activate a card such as "Tribute to The Doomed" designating "Spirit Reaper", and "Spirit Reaper" will be destroyed by its own effect.

Which kind of answers a question on another thread in a more official capacity.
 
Back
Top