Stealth Bird vs Ring

D

Dead Panda

Guest
Say if I summon a Stealth Bird, and my opponent Rings it out of spite.

Could I use it's effect to flip it back down, thus negating the effect of Ring and saving the bird?


Also, if Area B is activated, and I flip summon a monster like Guardian Sphinx, does that use up a manual battle position change, since it stays in defense mode?
 
Re: "Stealth Bird"
No, you can't do that. "Stealth Bird"s effect is Spell Speed 1 and can't be chained to "Ring of Destruction", which is Spell Speed 2.

Re: "Level Limit Area-B"
It doesn't 'stay' in Defense position. You still Flip Summon the monster like normal, so it goes to face-up attack position, then, the effect of "Level Limit" kicks in and switches it to Defense Position. So to answer your question, yes, that counts as a battle position change for that monster for that turn, not including the one from the Flip Summon.

Remember, you can still flip it back face-down via it's effect again later that turn if you so choose.

Hope this helps!

[edit]Howdy Andrew!
 
hmm, well I could understand the area b, but I heard you can do things like use exiled's effect before it gets killed by ring, and a bunch of this priority rulings.

So I thought the same could be applied to stealth. =/
 
Digital Jedi said:
Priority isn't even a issue here. Stealth Bird's abilty to flip itsef back face-down is Spell Speed 1 effect and cannot be chained to Ring of Destruction (Spell Speed 2)


This is my point of view on priority. You as the turn player have priorty upon summoning (normal, flip, or special) a monster to use any spell speed 1 or spell speed 2 effect. When I flip summon Stealth Bird I have priority. Stealth Birds effect of dealing damage takes that priority up.

Now say I would flip summon Tribe-Infecting Virus and my opponent responds with Ring. I then have the right to claim priority to use tribes effect if I want to. This would make tribes effect link one in the chain.

The problem with Stealth Bird is even if the effect damage didn't take up priority it would still be destroyed. Ring would resolve first before Stealth Bird could be flipped down.
 
blade146 said:
This is my point of view on priority. You as the turn player have priorty upon summoning (normal, flip, or special) a monster to use any spell speed 1 or spell speed 2 effect. When I flip summon Stealth Bird I have priority. Stealth Birds effect of dealing damage takes that priority up.

Now say I would flip summon Tribe-Infecting Virus and my opponent responds with Ring. I then have the right to claim priority to use tribes effect if I want to. This would make tribes effect link one in the chain.

The problem with Stealth Bird is even if the effect damage didn't take up priority it would still be destroyed. Ring would resolve first before Stealth Bird could be flipped down.
Which is correct on all but one point. The scenario mentioned invloves Ring of Destruction already being activated and chained to Stealth Birds' Flip Summon effect. Stealth Bird's other effect can't be chained to that. It's too slow.
 
Dead Panda said:
hmm, well I could understand the area b, but I heard you can do things like use exiled's effect before it gets killed by ring, and a bunch of this priority rulings.

So I thought the same could be applied to stealth. =/

Priority isn't an issue here.

The reason to Exiled Force it's that it's tributed itself as the cost to activate it's effect of course, then it is placed onto a chain, then your opponent could respond. And of course Ring of Destruction cannot target Exiled Force if it isn't there...
 
And in his example, it has nothing to do with flipping Stealth Bird. All he said was that he summoned it. Now he could use his turn priority to flip it face down, but then if the opponent chains Ring to that, it still goes "boom". Basically there's no way to save Stealth Bird using his own effect in this scenario.
 
Stealth Bird's effect is a monster effect and monster effects is Spell Speed 1 (as they call it in the roul book) while Ring of Destruction is Spell Speed 2, Spell Speed 1 can not chain other spell speeds or it self, while spell speed 2 can chain it self and spell speed 1. The last spell speed is spell speed 3, spell speed 3 can chain every thing.
SPELL SPEED 1 is:
Effect Monster (Trigger)
Normal Spell Cards
Field Spell Cards
Equip Spell Cards
Unlimited Spell Cards

SPELL SPEED 2 is:
Effect Monster (Multi Trigger)
Quick Play Spell Cards
Normal Trap Cards
Unlimited Trap Cards

SPELL SPEED 3 is:
Counter Trap Cards


(What ho is the differense between effect monster trigger and effect monster multi trigger does i not know, but i am sure that f.eks. Jinzo is Multi Trigger)
 
Ok, when answering a question, please read through the responses to make sure you are not repeating an answer that was already given and further please don't complicate it more by giving an incorrect answer as well.

Jinzo is a Continuous Effect Monster which as such is considered "Speed 1" according to the rule book BUT it does not use the chain at all. It merely activates upon summoning and resolving all other continuous effects. He DEFINATELY is not Multi-Trigger. (Please see "Sorcerer of Dark Magic" for your Multi-Trigger Trap Negation Monster).
 
Back
Top