The Dark Hex-Sealed Fusion

  • Thread starter RedEyesBlackKnight
  • Start date
R

RedEyesBlackKnight

Guest
Can The Dark and Dark MAgician be sacrificed to summon Dark Paladin from the fusion deck by using the effect of The Dark?
 
Sure can't. Because Dark Paladin can only be brought out through a PROPER Fusion Summon. A proper Fusion Summon only occurs when you use the pieces listed on the Fusion Moster card and Polemerization (and I think Fusion Gate. But don't quote me on that.)

Forgive me if someone already answered this. I'm on a extremely slow connection.
 
You can use Hex as a fusion sub with DM the same way you can use Beastking of the Swamps, Goddess with the Thid Eye, etc. But you still have to use Poly or Fusion Gate to Fusion Summon, so that part of Hex's effect will not work with Paladin.
 
Fusion Gate CAN be used for proper fusion summons, just so you know, Digital Jedi (the card text sez so, I think....)
EDIT: sorry, jdos, I forgot to look at ALL posts before replying ^_^ , oh well)
-chaosruler
 
chaosruler said:
Fusion Gate CAN be used for proper fusion summons, just so you know, Digital Jedi (the card text sez so, I think....)
EDIT: sorry, jdos, I forgot to look at ALL posts before replying ^_^ , oh well)
-chaosruler
No harm, no foul. :) Here's the ruling on Fuson Gate, just for clarity's sake:

"¢ Fusion Monsters Special Summoned without "Polymerization" while "Fusion Gate" is on the field are still considered properly Summoned by a Fusion Summon. So they may be the target of "Monster Reborn", "Call of the Haunted", etc. (This does not apply to Fusion Monsters Special Summoned by the effects of other cards, such as "Magicial Scientist" or "Summoner of Illusions".)
 
jdos said:
You can use Hex as a fusion sub with DM the same way you can use Beastking of the Swamps, Goddess with the Thid Eye, etc. But you still have to use Poly or Fusion Gate to Fusion Summon, so that part of Hex's effect will not work with Paladin.
Good point, Jdos. To correct myself I'll quote Dark Paladin's first two rulings:

"Dark Paladin" cannot be Special Summoned, EXCEPT by Fusion Summon. So you cannot Special Summon "Dark Paladin" using "Monster Reborn", etc., even if he was properly Summoned before. You cannot Special Summon "Dark Paladin" using "Magical Scientist", etc.

You can use "substitute" Fusion Material Monsters such as "Goddess With the Third Eye", etc. to Fusion Summon "Dark Paladin".
 
really? so the dark, the light, and the (earth) cant be used the same way as Poly? i mean, i guess that was blaringly obvious, but still...

its not like they would let a monster like dark paladin be summoned that easily anyway, truly... (its a really good card)

still, the dark, the light, and the earth are really interesting new additions to the game (and the dark makes me want to gag) and i think that this attempt by Konami to make people (practically force them) to use fusions is going pretty well.... i mean, just IMHO... ^_^
 
I really like the Hex fusion subs. Sure, they can't get the "staple" LOD fusions or the Fusion Summon only ones, but they can get some of the other decent ones, Dark Blade the Dragon Knight, Sanwitch, Dark Flare Knight, Reaper, Gatling, King Dragun, etc.

Not a bad selection...and you could always use them for easy Morph fodder to get out Balter & Senshi.

I really like that, minus Scientist (whom I will continue to weep for), Konami is finally making an attempt to make fusions playable. Heck, my wife even got King Dragun out at the FET sneak a couple of times...Hex fusion subs are a great addition to the game, IMO.
 
lol um... these aren't just fusion substitutes

You can use The Dark/Earth/Light-Hex-Sealed second effect in place of Polymerization, so you don't need it.

This is to get out Gatling Dragon easier...

Tribute The Dark Hex + Blowback Dragon = Gatling Dragon

No polymerization needed.
 
Can´t be

Hi guyz,

accord a web of a guy of Japan say that:

FET-JP027 Fusion Spellborn Creature - Light, FET-JP028 Fusion Spellborn Creature - Dark,
FET-JP029 Fusion Spellborn Creature - Earth
- The other Fusion material cannot be Fusion substitution
- You must sacrifice ALL of the other Fusion material from your field. All the
difference between it is you do not need to use the Magic card [Fusion].
- You cannot use this card's second effect to special summon Fusion monsters that
could only be "Fusion Summon" (e.g. [Black Paladin], [Master of Dragon Knight])

I dont know why, but that is the rule...
 
StRiKe_NiNjA said:
lol um... these aren't just fusion substitutes

You can use The Dark/Earth/Light-Hex-Sealed second effect in place of Polymerization, so you don't need it.

This is to get out Gatling Dragon easier...

Tribute The Dark Hex + Blowback Dragon = Gatling Dragon

No polymerization needed.
Right...that's kina what the whole thread has been about. And the reason you can't use that effect with Dark Paladin. :)
 
jdos said:
Right...that's kina what the whole thread has been about. And the reason you can't use that effect with Dark Paladin. :)

I need glasses lol, i thought i read that someonw posted that somewhat these monsters didn't have Poly-Like effects.
 
The Hexes are very nice indeed. Sure there are some certain Fusion creatures you can't get out with its second effect, but for instance you can still use Dark-Hex and Sangan on the field to bring out Sanwitch. You can use Earth-Hex and Des Kangaroo on the field to pull out Master of Oz. If that's not a frightening thought, I'm not sure what would be. ;)
 
Well, I like what the Hex Sealed Fusions do.

I don't get what some of you are saying.

You can Special Summon nearly ANY fusion (Paladin, XYZ series excluded).

You can, for example, summon Sealed Dark and tribute it and Possesed Dark Soul to SPECIAL SUMMON Dark Balter the Terrible. But you CAN'T use Polymerization to fuse Possessed Dark Soul and the Sealed Hex Dark.

You can summon Sealed Earth and tribute it and Spirit Ryu to SPECIAL SUMMON Ryu Senshi. But you CAN'T use Polymerization to fuse Spirit Ryu and the Sealed Hex Earth.


They can't be a replacement for Scientist, but at least now, we can rest assured that some fusions will only be used in certain decks.

Fiend decks, of course, benefit the most from the Dark Seal Hex, since we can still run our fusion Material monster and Sealed Dark.



Waldo10032 "“ The Fiendish Duelist says:
"What? You attack my Giant Orc while he's in Defense mode?
You shouldn't do that. He's got a very contagious sickness called "Deck Devastation Virus". Ooops! Look at that! You've been infected!!!
 
Dark Ruler Ha Des said:
You can, for example, summon Sealed Dark and tribute it and Possesed Dark Soul to SPECIAL SUMMON Dark Balter the Terrible. But you CAN'T use Polymerization to fuse Possessed Dark Soul and the Sealed Hex Dark.

You can summon Sealed Earth and tribute it and Spirit Ryu to SPECIAL SUMMON Ryu Senshi. But you CAN'T use Polymerization to fuse Spirit Ryu and the Sealed Hex Earth.
You're half right. Let's look at the text of the card AND the rulings shall we.

The Dark - Hex-Sealed Fusion:
"You can substitute this card for any 1 Fusion-Material Monster. When you do this, the other Fusion-Material Monster(s) must be the correct one(s). Tribute Fusion-Material Monsters on the field, including this card, to Special Summon 1 DARK Fusion Monster from your Fusion Deck."

Let's look at the 1st effect:

"You can substitute this card for any 1 Fusion-Material Monster. When you do this, the other Fusion-Material Monster(s) must be the correct one(s)."

This means it can be used just like the previous Fusion substitute monsters. From the UDE FAQ:

"If you use "Polymerization" then you can revive the Fusion Monster from the Graveyard, even if you used this monster as a "substitute" Fusion Material Monster."

That clearly states you can use these 'Hex' monsters with 'Polymerization'.

Let's look at the second effect:

"Tribute Fusion-Material Monsters on the field, including this card, to Special Summon 1 DARK Fusion Monster from your Fusion Deck."

This could be misconstrued and it sounds like you need BOTH of the material monsters PLUS the 'Hex' monster, but you DON'T.
From the UDE FAQ:

"To use the second effect of this monster, you must Tribute this monster plus the legal Fusion Material Monster (s) written on the Fusion Monster. For example, to Special Summon "B. Skull Dragon" you must Tribute "The Dark - Hex-Sealed Fusion" as well as either "Red-Eyes B. Dragon" OR "Summoned Skull"."

The keyword in the ruling is the OR when listing the two material monsters.

The thing to remember with these 'Hex' monsters is you have a choice on how to summon the Fusion monster.

You CAN use 'Polymerization' with one 'Hex' monster and the remaining CORRECT material monsters to PROPERLY Fusion summon the monster.

OR

You can use the 'Hex' monster's second effect plus the remaining CORRECT material monsters to special summon the fusion monster. If this method is used, the Fusion monster WAS NOT properly Fusion summoned.

Hope this helps!
 
Dark Ruler Ha Des said:
Well, I like what the Hex Sealed Fusions do.

I don't get what some of you are saying.

You can Special Summon nearly ANY fusion (Paladin, XYZ series excluded).

You can, for example, summon Sealed Dark and tribute it and Possesed Dark Soul to SPECIAL SUMMON Dark Balter the Terrible. But you CAN'T use Polymerization to fuse Possessed Dark Soul and the Sealed Hex Dark.

You can summon Sealed Earth and tribute it and Spirit Ryu to SPECIAL SUMMON Ryu Senshi. But you CAN'T use Polymerization to fuse Spirit Ryu and the Sealed Hex Earth...
You know, after reading it again, you're right. Nice catch there. If you use both effects of the Hex monsters, then you can get Balter, Senshi, and Fiend Skull out since they are being special summoned not fusion summoned. Good call.
 
it reminds me of what i thought of Guiding Hand of Nephthys too... i thought you had to tribute a total of 3 monsters, and i was like whoa...

but this makes me like the Hexes a LOT more... it makes me want to use fusions more... too bad you still cant use it with dark paladin... (well, the summoning part)

so you can "reborn" fusion monsters with this too? now THATS useful ^_^
 
chaos general said:
it reminds me of what i thought of Guiding Hand of Nephthys too... i thought you had to tribute a total of 3 monsters, and i was like whoa...

but this makes me like the Hexes a LOT more... it makes me want to use fusions more... too bad you still cant use it with dark paladin... (well, the summoning part)

so you can "reborn" fusion monsters with this too? now THATS useful ^_^
You can't reborn them if you use both effects of the Hex subs. Don't forget, the Hex subs special summon the fusion monsters, just like Scientist and Metamorphosis, they do not fusion summon them...that's the only reason you can get Balter, et al, with them.
 
Let's try and simplify the whole matter.

Fusion substitutes can only be used when the other monster being used is the proper fusion material.

The Hex Sealed Fusions are Fusion substitues with the additional effect of "acting" as there own Polymerization. (Notice I say: "acting.")

A proper Fusion Summon only occurs when the card effects involved in Special Summoning the monster actually use the words "Fusion Summon." (So far, that's only Fusion Gate and Polymerization)

If you use Poly or the Gate with a Fussion Substitute it still counts as a proper Fussion Summon.

If you use the Hex's Effect to Special Summon the Fusion Monster (instead of Poly or the Gate) it is not a proper Fusion Summon, only a regular Special Summon.

When a monster says it "can only be Special Summoned by a Fusion Summon" like Dark Paladin, it's what's sometimes refered to as a NOMI fusion monster. Which mean that the only way to ever Special Summon this monster is through a proper Fusion Summon.

The only way to bring a Fusion Monster back from the Graveyard is if (1) it was not a NOMI fusion and (2) it was properly Fusion Summoned in the first place.
 
yeah, nomi cards bug me, since they usually have good effects too....

(zerato, gearfried, armed dragon, horus, silent swordsman, etc)

does nomi stand for anything? its just kinda odd that we would use that term to mean "cant be reborned" (as i like to call special summoning from the graveyard) if it doesnt mean something... besides that of course.

Just as a clarification for those who dont know:

Nomi monsters say on the card "This card cannot be special summoned except by". the "except by" is what makes it a nomi monster... (right? i am right? right? lol)
 
Back
Top