cannon vs ring

removefromp

New Member
Both Players have no cards in their hands.
Player A has 500 LP and Player B has 3000 LP.
Player B has a face-up cannon solider from the previous turn.
It's Player A's turn.

Player A draws a ring of destruction, set it on the field, then ends his turn.
Player B draws a Black Luster Solider-Envoy of the Beginning and successfully summons it to the feild.
Player A then activates his face down ring of destruction targeting BLS.

My question is can Player B use his prioirty and tribute BLS with cannon solider's effect and wins the duel, or he can't and therefore the duel results in a draw?

Thanks in advance. ^^
 
OK, now I am confused. It seems everyone is saying the monster used for Cannon Soldier is not around for Bottomless Traphole. Even with priority does this not create a chain?
CHAIN: 1) effect of cannon soldier2)BTH

RESOLVE: 2)BTH 1)cannon soldiers effect.

This is just like the other example they ruled on the judge list:

Red has a catapult turtle from a previous turn. Blue has 1 Set Card in his S/T zone.
Red: Summons Giant Orc
Blue: Responds with Torrential tribute
Red: Claims priority to use catapult turtle´s effect... Tributes Giant Orc.
is correct this?
Thanks
Answer:
Yes it is.
Chain:
Catapult Turtle --> Torrential Tribute
"Torrential Tribute" resolves first and destroys all monsters in play.
"Catapult Turtle's" effect resolves next and deals damage to Blue's Life Points.

How is is this ruling different from the above:


QUESTION:
In all of the priority talk, it is normally "I summon Exiled Force (for example,
can I tribute it per its effect before Trap Hole can destroy it?"
What I am wondering, is can priority be used for a card that was not the last card
played, as this example shows:
-Player A is in his/her Main Phase 1, and controls a Cannon Soldier
-Player B has a Bottomless Trap Hole set, and is at 900LP.
-Player A Normal Summons Archfiend Soldier, and wishes to activate Cannon Soldier's
effect with priority to tribute Archfiend Soldier so that he may then tribute
Cannon Soldier (in a seperate chain) for the victory.
Can Player A do this, or will Player B be able to activate Bottomless Trap Hole to
remove Archfiend Soldier from play?

ANSWER:
Yes, Player A can certainly activate the effect of "Cannon Soldier" and Tribute the
newly Summoned "Archfiend Soldier", before the opponent activates "Bottomless
Trap Hole".
Many 'knowledgeable' people on web sites will tell you otherwise. They're wrong.
Best to wait for the priority article to go up before making dangerous
assumptions.
If anyone has a specific question, such as this, we'll be happy to answer it in
the meantime.
Kevin Tewart
Game Developer
UDE Yu-Gi-Oh! TCG R&D Lead
Upper Deck Entertainment

Why does the effect of Cannon Soldier happen before BTH? I would think this still forms a chain.
 
Big Oldprankster said:
OK, now I am confused. It seems everyone is saying the monster used for Cannon Soldier is not around for Bottomless Traphole. Even with priority does this not create a chain?
CHAIN: 1) effect of cannon soldier2)BTH

RESOLVE: 2)BTH 1)cannon soldiers effect.

This is just like the other example they ruled on the judge list:

Red has a catapult turtle from a previous turn. Blue has 1 Set Card in his S/T zone.
Red: Summons Giant Orc
Blue: Responds with Torrential tribute
Red: Claims priority to use catapult turtle´s effect... Tributes Giant Orc.
is correct this?
Thanks
Answer:
Yes it is.
Chain:
Catapult Turtle --> Torrential Tribute
"Torrential Tribute" resolves first and destroys all monsters in play.
"Catapult Turtle's" effect resolves next and deals damage to Blue's Life Points.

How is is this ruling different from the above:
Remember that the effect of Cannon Soldier/Catapult Turtle requires a tribute and you pay costs at activation => BTH is trying to remove a monster that's no longer on the field.

In the above example the Torrential Tribute is destroying all monsters remaining on the field AFTER the activation of Catapult Turtle's effect, the monster tributed for it doesn't get destroyed by TT.
 
Big Oldprankster said:
OK, now I am confused. It seems everyone is saying the monster used for Cannon Soldier is not around for Bottomless Traphole. Even with priority does this not create a chain?
CHAIN: 1) effect of cannon soldier2)BTH

RESOLVE: 2)BTH 1)cannon soldiers effect.

The problem here is that Cannon Soldier launches the newly summoned monster as a cost at activation. That newly summoned monster is no longer on the field for BTH to send it out of play.
 
So in the scheme of things, the BTH could go back to face down because of illegal activation? Or would it reslove without effect? I guess if the player who activated BTH would have slowed down to see if the other player would respond with his priority, this would not be an issue in the first place.
 
Big Oldprankster said:
So in the scheme of things, the BTH could go back to face down because of illegal activation? Or would it reslove without effect? I guess if the player who activated BTH would have slowed down to see if the other player would respond with his priority, this would not be an issue in the first place.
I can see where this might really matter to the non turn player. He might want to play BTH anyway. I'm wondering about the legality of the following scenerio....but let's say, for instance:

Player 1 summons AFS to the field and uses priority to launch him with Catapult Turtle.

Player 2 activates BTH in response to the summon (even though the effect will fizzle) because his S/T zone is full and he wants to make room to play his premature Burial on his next turn.

Would that be legal, I wonder? On one hand, it is still player 2's first opportunity to respond to the summon so the activation of BTH would still be legal. On the other hand, because of priority, the summon was not technically the "last action", so this would throw the timing off for BTH.

John? :confused: :D
 
Unfortunately, that would not be legal. And not because the "timing is off," but because there is no longer a valid monster for "Bottomless Trap Hole" to affect, making this a "kara uchi" situation (the BTH cannot be legally activated -- if it was accidentally turned face-up, it returns to its face-down set position).
 
Back
Top