Curse of Anubis

Sarothias

New Member
Quick question, can Curse of Anubis be used in the damage step, or is it only quick play spell/trap cards that modify atk/def ratings be activated?

Thanks
 
Sure. A replay will occur since monsters in defense mode can't attack.

Only monster who could actually attack while in Defense mode is Total Defense Shogun, so far.
 
StRiKe_NiNjA said:
Sure. A replay will occur since monsters in defense mode can't attack.

Only monster who could actually attack while in Defense mode is Total Defense Shogun, so far.
Happy B-day Strike Ninja!

I think he was asking about activating it in Damage Step. I am inclined to say that it is not allowed in Damage Step because it's effect involves switching effect monsters in Defense Position. However, it does change the DEF Stat, so it might be legal to activate it in Damage Step. I'm not really 100% sure about this.
 
Raigekick said:
Happy B-day Strike Ninja!

I think he was asking about activating it in Damage Step. I am inclined to say that it is not allowed in Damage Step because it's effect involves switching effect monsters in Defense Position. However, it does change the DEF Stat, so it might be legal to activate it in Damage Step. I'm not really 100% sure about this.

Oh dizzam! I forgot today is my B-day lol. Thanks Raigekick

I know Sarothias meant activating it in the damage step.

It'd be like Rope of Life, when a monster is destroyed in battle. Logically, you'd think you wouldn't be able to activate it, but it clearly modifies the ATK value of a monster.

But, back to the question. During the Damage Step, you may activate this card before Damage Calculation, monsters would be swtiched to defense with their defense depleated to 0. A replay would then occur.
 
StRiKe_NiNjA said:
But, back to the question. During the Damage Step, you may activate this card before Damage Calculation, monsters would be swtiched to defense with their defense depleated to 0. A replay would then occur.
However, no Replay may occur when Damage Step is reached.
 
Thanks that makes sense as Curse of Anubis does modify the def of monsters.

Now one other card please, interdimensional matter transporter.

Dueling with my friend a minute ago here is the situation

Player A: attacks

Player B : allows it to go to damage step. Activates limiter removal and chains blast with chain on top of that making monster stronger than play A's monster

Player A: activates Interdimensional matter Transporter to remove his own attacking monster to safety.

Would this b allowed as it does not affect any stats, it only removes from play said monster?

Thanks for your time guys, appreciated

Also happy B-Day Strike Ninja :D
 
Sarothias said:
Thanks that makes sense as Curse of Anubis does modify the def of monsters.
I'm still not convinced that "Curse of Anubis" can be activated during Damage Step.

Sarothias said:
Player A: attacks

Player B : allows it to go to damage step. Activates limiter removal and chains blast with chain on top of that making monster stronger than play A's monster
You can NOT activate "Blast with Chain" during Damage Step because it's main effect is to convert it into a Equip Spell card, rather than direcly modifying the ATK/DEF stat.

Sarothias said:
Player A: activates Interdimensional matter Transporter to remove his own attacking monster to safety.
You can NOT activate IMT during Damage Step.
 
You can NOT activate "Blast with Chain" during Damage Step because it's main effect is to convert it into a Equip Spell card, rather than direcly modifying the ATK/DEF stat.
whoa! Blast with Chain can indeed be activated in the Damage Step, specifically Step 1 of Damage Calculation.

ATK/DEF modifers generally use the wording of "increase/decrease" or "doubles/halves".

"the original DEF of those Effect Monsters become 0" ...does not sound like an ATK/DEF modifier to me.

My guess is Curse of Anubis cannot be activated in the Damage Step.
 
the original DEF of those Effect Monsters become 0" ...does not sound like an ATK/DEF modifier to me.

My guess is Curse of Anubis cannot be activated in the Damage Step.
Neither for me. Curse of Anubis cannot be activated in the damage step because it does not increase/decrease/double/halve atk or def; it only changes the value to another number.

However, why don't you activate it before the attack? It's completely legal!(obviously if you are not attacking with an effect monster :D)
 
It's a Trap, thus spell speed two and modifies the stats of a monster(s), so I'd say that it can be activated.
For those who don't consider making the defence values 0 as satisying the stat modification part of whether a spell/trap can be activated in the damage step check up on Kazejin on the Specific card rulings on UDE:
"KAZEJIN
...
You can use the effect of this card even if it is face-down when it is attacked because its effect is activated during the Damage Step, and it will be face-up at that point.
..."
 
daivahataka said:
It's a Trap, thus spell speed two and modifies the stats of a monster(s), so I'd say that it can be activated.
For those who don't consider making the defence values 0 as satisying the stat modification part of whether a spell/trap can be activated in the damage step check up on Kazejin on the Specific card rulings on UDE:
"KAZEJIN
...
You can use the effect of this card even if it is face-down when it is attacked because its effect is activated during the Damage Step, and it will be face-up at that point.
..."
This still does not apply to Curse of Anubis. While it does decrease all effect monsters face-up on the field to 0 defense, it is not "specifically" modifying defense only and that is the criteria.

The first part of Curse of Anubis' effect is to "change all face-up effect monsters to defense". That statement is what prevents this card from being activated in the Damage Step.

Your best course of action is to activate it when the announcement of an attack is made.
 
masterwoo0 said:
This still does not apply to Curse of Anubis. While it does decrease all effect monsters face-up on the field to 0 defense, it is not "specifically" modifying defense only and that is the criteria.

The first part of Curse of Anubis' effect is to "change all face-up effect monsters to defense". That statement is what prevents this card from being activated in the Damage Step.

Your best course of action is to activate it when the announcement of an attack is made.
I don't see why this would prevent it being activated in the damage step, as it is the rule that the card even has to modify stats or be spell speed 3 has gone out the window with FET's Cross Counter, it's a standard trap, doesn't modify any stats and yet it can be activated in the damage step, just before actual damage calculation.
 
Wow, talk about a subject with equal confliction going around it! I'm inclined to agree that Curse of Anubis wouldn't be able to be activated during the Damage Step, myself. I also would think Blast with Chain couldn't either, since it's an equip, even though it does modify ATK/DEF, but I've seen no rulings on that, so I'm not sure. Both cards modify ATK or DEF in some way, yet neither in the normal way most cards allowed to activate do. I think we could use a higher power on this one.
 
"Cross Counter" isnt really unique.

It is basically a Trap Card that catches your opponent off guard after he attacks so that he cant change his mind if you were to flip it before he declares an attack.

Pretty much, I dont see where this one card would change the way Trap Cards are played during the Damage Step since this one basically says,

"If your defense position monster does damage to the attacking monster, double the damage and destroy it."
 
masterwoo0 said:
"Cross Counter" isnt really unique.

It is basically a Trap Card that catches your opponent off guard after he attacks so that he cant change his mind if you were to flip it before he declares an attack.

Pretty much, I dont see where this one card would change the way Trap Cards are played during the Damage Step since this one basically says,

"If your defense position monster does damage to the attacking monster, double the damage and destroy it."
Because it can in fact be activated in the damage step (after the attack target monster has been flipped) even though it's neither a counter trap nor does it modify a monster's stats.
 
daivahataka said:
It's a Trap, thus spell speed two and modifies the stats of a monster(s), so I'd say that it can be activated.
For those who don't consider making the defence values 0 as satisying the stat modification part of whether a spell/trap can be activated in the damage step check up on Kazejin on the Specific card rulings on UDE:
"KAZEJIN
...
You can use the effect of this card even if it is face-down when it is attacked because its effect is activated during the Damage Step, and it will be face-up at that point.
..."

Firstly lets understand something... when the text of a card states when you can use it, you use it then... regardless of whether it is like other effects.

"You can only activate this card's effect during your opponent's damage calculation. Make the ATK of a monster attacking this card 0 during damage calculation. This effect can only be used once as long as this card remains face-up on the field."

The fact that Kazejin specifically states that you only use it during Damage Calculation overrides any preset rule or mechanic set in place by the Official Rules. In otherwords... it doesn't matter what the effect says...

As for ATK/DEF modifiers, there seems to be a misconception here... Just because an ATK/DEF modifier performs other actions does not exclude it from being activated during Damage Calculation. As long as it "increases/decreases" or "doubles/halves" it can be used, regardless of secondary effects.

Blast with Chain, Shadow Spell, Mask of Weakness are all examples of ATK/DEF Modifiers that can be activated during Damage Calculation.

The term "become 0" seem like a text modifier to me, much in the same way Reverse Trap makes "increases/decreases" become the opposite. It simply erases the original DEF number and replaces it with 0.

It does not actually add/subtract anything, and thus is not a true ATK/DEF modifier, and cannot be activated during Damage Calculation.

Just my thoughts
 
novastar said:
the term "become 0" seem like a text modifier to me, much in the same way Reverse Trap makes "increases/decreases" become the opposite. It simply erases the original DEF number and replaces it with 0.

It does not actually add/subtract anything, and thus is not a modifier, and cannot be activated during Damage Calculation.

Just my thoughts
It was ruled that "reduce to zero" was an effect that could be activated in the damage step.

Micro Ray can be activated in the Damage step because of this.
 
novastar said:
Firstly lets understand something... when the text of a card states when you can use it, you use it then... regardless of whether it is like other effects.

"You can only activate this card's effect during your opponent's damage calculation. Make the ATK of a monster attacking this card 0 during damage calculation. This effect can only be used once as long as this card remains face-up on the field."

The fact that Kazejin specifically states that you only use it during Damage Calculation overrides any preset rule or mechanic set in place by the Official Rules. In otherwords... it doesn't matter what the effect says...
My bad, all my copies of it, Suijin and Sanga are pre-errata and didn't even notice they'd errata'd it.

novastar said:
As for ATK/DEF modifiers, there seems to be a misconception here... Just because an ATK/DEF modifier performs other actions does not exclude it from being activated during Damage Calculation. As long as it "increases/decreases" or "doubles/halves" it can be used, regardless of secondary effects.

Blast with Chain, Shadow Spell, Mask of Weakness are all examples of ATK/DEF Modifiers that can be activated during Damage Calculation.

The term "become 0" seem like a text modifier to me, much in the same way Reverse Trap makes "increases/decreases" become the opposite. It simply erases the original DEF number and replaces it with 0.

It does not actually add/subtract anything, and thus is not a true ATK/DEF modifier, and cannot be activated during Damage Calculation.

Just my thoughts
I believe the reason Reverse Trap isn't allowed in the Damage step is that it references the modifications made by other cards and so doesn't directly modify the stats. CoA however changes the original Defense without reference to any other changes made to the stats.

With both yourself and Masterwoo0 saying no I'd certainly go with that unless a higher power states otherwise.
 
Back
Top