HorusMaster
New Member
Is Dark Lucius LV8's effect of negating effect monsters destroyed in battle contigent upon being summoned by the effect of LV6?
Will Level Up! work for this card as well?
Will Level Up! work for this card as well?
That is a bit of a loophole. Based upon the strict interpretation of the card text, I would say that this would be legal.What would happen if I have dark ruler and Dark Lucius lv6 on the field and i attack opponent's monster with dark lucius lv6 and negated its effect in battle due to dark ruler. Will I able to special summon lv 8?
Note that, lv 6 was not special summon by lv 4's effect.
It doesn't specifically state that it has to use it's own effect. Wicked-Breaking Flamberge-Baou would work as well if this holds true. Not sure what how the rulings will come down on this, though.TextIf this card was Special Summoned by the effect of "Dark Lucius LV4", the effects of your opponent's monsters that this card destroys by battle are negated. During your next Standby Phase after this card has negated your opponent's monster effect, by sending this card to the Graveyard, Special Summon 1 "Dark Lucius LV8" from your hand or Deck.
drzero7 said:Yeah, Level Up! will NOT trigger the effect of Lucius LV8 effect. That's the price of being this card not being a nomi. Yeah, you have to do the annoyingly long way of bring this out. (IMO, Lucius got one of the slowest ways of leveling up with the exception of Silent Swordsman)
HorusMaster said:Looking back I have to disagree that Level Up cannot be used to bring Dark Lucius LV8 out. Level Up works for sending Horus LV6 to the graveyard WITHOUT destroying a monster to summon Horus LV8, so why wouldn't the same hold true for Lucius?
Looking back I have to disagree that Level Up cannot be used to bring Dark Lucius LV8 out. Level Up works for sending Horus LV6 to the graveyard WITHOUT destroying a monster to summon Horus LV8, so why wouldn't the same hold true for Lucius?
blade146 said:It can bring him out. His effect doesn't activate because he wasn't brought out by Level 6.
Fury said:My question is if there are Dark Ruler and Lucius LV6 (summoned by LV4) both on the field when Lucius LV6 destroys a monster which one negates the effect? I hope the controller can choose.
John Danker said:Yes, the controller can choose, there is a similar ruling for Cross Counter vs Stone Statue of the Aztecs that will allow the turn player to determine who is actually negating the effect when it comes down to that.
The difference between Horus LV8 and Dark Lucius LV8's summoning though is in the card text. There is nothing in Hours LV8's text that links it's effect to how it was summoned as with the text of Dark Lucius LV8
Dark Lucius LV*
Text:
If this card was Special Summoned by the effect of "Dark Lucius LV6", your opponent's monsters that this card destroys by battle are removed from play, and their effects are negated.
Hours LV8
Text:
This card cannot be Normal Summoned or Set. This card cannot be Special Summoned except by the effect of "Horus the Black Flame Dragon LV6". While this card remains face-up on your side of the field, you can negate the activation and effect of any Spell Cards and destroy them.
EmeraldDragon said:Horusmaster its like this.
LV8 doesnt need LV6 to be summoned. It has no summoning restrictions except on his effect. You can tribute for it or whatever ya just wont get his effect
LV8s effect is restricted that the only way the effect can become "active" is if it was summoned via LV6 and only LV6. You can summon LV8 any way you want but you wont get his effect unless LV6s effect is used to summon him.