Digital Jedi's Erratas That Make Sense

And it just ended like that. Didn't realize it had been so long since I had done one of these. It's about time we rivisited this thread. (Give me a minute, and I'll ad it back in my sig, as well.) Seems it was more controvertial then I remember.

Here's a card that has only been seeing some problems in recent weeks:

Current Text: Call of the Haunted
Select 1 monster from your Graveyard and Special Summon it in face-up Attack Position. When this card is removed from the field, destroy the monster. When the monster is destroyed, destroy this card.

Digital Jedi's Errata: Call of the Haunted
Select 1 monster from your Graveyard and Special Summon it in face-up Attack Position. When this card is removed from the field, destroy the face-up monster. When the face-up monster is destroyed, destroy this card.
I didn't want to get into the hows and why on the card text itself. I could have added a whole extra sentance, but clarifying that the last two effects only work when the monster is face-up sews up a lot of problems for me.
 
Lately a few newer players didn't seem to understand that, as it's not expressly stated in the card text. The vets know it works this way, and never really had a problem with it. But there is no way to prove to someone new, other then an ancient post I found on the judges list that merely refrenced the old Battle Position rules before the changes, that it is the case. Too many vets have left this game for VS and a lot of "givens" are now being questioned.

Tha argument given is that Nightmare Wheel and other Continuous Traps still target a face-down, why doesn't all of the haunted. The answer is ... because it doesn't.
 
Let's try something:
Current Text: Toll
Each player must pay 500 Life Points to declare an attack.

Digital Jedi's Errata: Toll
Monsters cannot attack unless their controllers pay 500 Life Points per attack.
Current Text: Gravekeeper's Servant
Unless your opponent sends 1 card from the top of his/her Deck to the Graveyard, he/she cannot declare an attack.

Digital Jedi's Errata: Gravekeeper's Servant
Your opponent's monsters cannot attack unless their controllers sends 1 card from the top of his/her Deck to the Graveyard.
Current Text: Threatening Roar
Your opponent cannot declare an attack during this turn.

Digital Jedi's Errata: Threatening Roar
Monsters on your opponent's side of the field cannot have attacks declared with them during this turn.
 
Wow! After all this time:

Current Text: Ultimate Offering
At the cost of 500 Life Points per monster, a player is allowed an extra Normal Summon or Set.

Digital Jedi's Errata: Ultimate Offering
At the cost of 500 Life Points per monster, the controller of this card is allowed an extra Normal Summon or Set during his/her Main Phase and your opponent's Battle Phase. (This does not include your Battle Phase)

http://www.upperdeckentertainment.com/yugioh/en/faq_errata_01.aspx
Konami/UDE's Errata: Ultimate Offering
By paying 500 Life Points, Normal Summon or Set 1 extra monster. You can only activate this effect during your Main Phase or your opponent's Battle Phase.
Now if only I had had something to do with that, I'd be proud. But this threads been dead too long. :D

Though not quite as clear as I wanted, the absence of the phrase "a player" eliminates the notion that your opponent can use it. It seems they like to make you extrapolate card text by giving you the barest information you need. That can only lead to confusion, but a least they made the effort this time. Now, at least, we have an errata to point people to, in addition to the old Judges List message.

OH, by the way, the Registry still has the old text, so I'm imagining this is really recent. Any idea when the registry will be updated?
 
Who knows?

Speaking of erratas, there's one pet peeve I have when it comes to text. You know all those cards that 'Select' whatever card(s) for an effect? Some of them target cards at activation (ex. Tribute to The Doomed), some of them don't (ex. Creature Swap).

Wouldn't it be nice if the cards that target actually mention the word 'target'? Instead of saying 'Select 1 monster on the field and destroy it.', it could say 'Target 1 monster on the field and destroy it.' Isn't that any easier?

But, I could get technical and wish to put a lot of TCG jargon on a card. I'll use Mobius the Frost Monarch as an example.

Here's the text that we all know and love for Mobius:
When this card is Tribute Summoned successfully, you can destroy up to 2 Spell or Trap Cards on the field.

Here's what I could do to it:
Trigger: Successful Tribute Summon
Optional: Destroy up to 2 Spell or Trap Cards on the field when triggered.

The question is: how far do you go with it?
 
Personally, I would not be upset if they went ALL the way with it.

It was noted in another thread recently that most TCG's have basic mechanics and new cards are structured around those mechanics, whereas Yu-Gi-Oh! has a basic structure that gets redifined by new cards. I would love to see a stable structure adeded to Yu-Gi-Oh! that made one thing mean one thing ALL the time.

In VS, "cannot" always overides "can". Use of the word "target" and the recuritment of equipment cards are the ONLY targeting effects in the game. EVERYTHING uses the chain except continuous effects, so understanding effect interaction is easy enough if you play it out in your head. Even the Draw uses the chain. Trigger effects are identifiable by the use of the words "when", "whenever" and "at the start of".

I say take it to the limit. It could only help the game's longevity
 
Monsters Attack. Players Declare.

Something novastar said just a few minutes ago got me to thinking about these cards that prevent attacks. Let's try them from a different route.

Current Text: [ycard="SD1-EN014]Swords of Revealing Light[/ycard]
Flip all face-down monsters on your opponent's side of the field face-up. This card remains face-up on the field for 3 of your opponent's turns. As long as this card remains face-up on the field, your opponent cannot declare an attack.

Digital Jedi's Errata: [ycard="SD1-EN014]Swords of Revealing Light[/ycard]
Flip all face-down monsters on your opponent's side of the field face-up. This card remains face-up on the field for 3 of your opponent's turns. As long as this card remains face-up on the field, your opponent's monster do not have the ability to attack.
Current Text: [ycard="FET-EN052]Threatening Roar[/ycard]
Your opponent cannot declare an attack during this turn.

Digital Jedi's Errata: [ycard="FET-EN052]Threatening Roar[/ycard]
Your opponent's monsters do not have the ability to attack during this turn.
 
For some reason, this just bugs me. The current text just seems confusing to a newer player. It's backwards.

Current Text: Gateway to Dark World
If you activate this card, you cannot Normal Summon, Flip Summon or Special Summon during the turn this card is activated. Special Summon from your Graveyard 1 monster that includes "Dark World" in its card name.

Digital Jedi's Errata: Gateway to Dark World
Special Summon from your Graveyard 1 monster that includes "Dark World" in its card name. If you activate this card, you cannot Normal Summon, Flip Summon or Special Summon any other monster during this turn.
 
Digital Jedi said:
For some reason, this just bugs me. The current text just seems confusing to a newer player. It's backwards.
I have a :beef: with that! :p Isn't it more confusing to have it that way, with the two sentences reversed? :confused: With all the talk about cost vs effect (much of which came from you ;)), few people will realize that not summoning is indeed a cost. Or am I missing something?

-pssvr

PS Where did your smileys go?
 
Payment for a cost will always be the loss of something in Exchange for something else. A discard, payment of Life Ponts, sending cards to the Graveyard, these are costs since they require something given in Exchange for something else. It's also the general definition of the word "payment".

Special Summoning would not be a payment if phrased in the first sentance any more then Call of the Haunted's first sentance would be a cost for activation.

EDIT: DaAmazing1 might be working on making the Pot smileys not overlap with the :p smiley. Or he's just sorting them.
 
I believe they did:

You can only activate this card by paying 1000 Life Points when your opponent activates a Normal Spell Card. The effect of the Normal Spell Card that your opponent activated at that time becomes "Your opponent discards 1 random card from their hand".​
As I recal, it didn't used to be that clear.
 
Digital Jedi said:
When ever a counter was definitively not a Spell Counter I felt it should say so. Also to help clarify this particular card's rulings:
Current Text: Magic Reflector
Select 1 Spell Card that remains face-up on the field and put 1 counter on it. If the selected card is destroyed, the counter is removed instead of the card being destroyed.

Digital Jedi's Errata: Magic Reflector
Select 1 Spell Card that remains face-up on the field and put 1 "Reflector Counter' on it. If the selected card is destroyed by an effect (other than its own), the "Reflector Counter" is removed instead of the card being destroyed.

Wow. I hadn't noticed this. Alien Grey marks the first card to follow this template that Vs and Magic have always had..
 
Back
Top