Emergency Provisions

BURN

New Member
If I have a Wave Motion Cannon with three counters on it (3000 lp hit) and I have an Emergency Provisions down. It is my opponents turn and he draws a MST and targets my Wave Motion Cannon can I use my Emergency Provisions to send Wave Motion Cannon to the grave yard and gain 1000 lp and my opponent lose 3000 lp?


I just read you have to send WMC to the grave yard during your main phase.

Sorry for the question.
 
IO negates their effect, not their activation and since a cost is paid at the activation it would work, since IO would no longer be on the field to negate the effect's resolution.
 
Imperial Order does not prevent you from activating Spell Cards. Sending a card to the Graveyard with Emergency Provisions is not an effect, its a Cost.

Emergency Provision's effect is to increase your life points by 1000 per card sent (excluding this card).

So, Imperial Order cannot stop EP from sending Imperial Order to the Graveyard, and since it is no longer on the field, it cant negate EP's effect.

Understand?
 
<laffin> Okay, so I'm not the only one who at first glance scratched their head and had to think about it for a while. Glad to hear that!

I had to go and check the FAQ first, and then reason it out in my head. masterwoo0 has explained it well though. I hadn't played with Imperial Order in so long I hadn't checked up on the rulings for it in a long time. It just goes to show, just when you think you've got a good grasp of the popular cards something comes along and twists your mind.

I understand how and why the Emergency Provisons and Imperial Order ruling works....but can anyone give me another example of a parallel scenario and card combo? Whenever I see something like this that's unusual I always like to have a couple of scenarios to show so people can understand more easily.
 
John Danker said:
...I understand how and why the Emergency Provisons and Imperial Order ruling works....but can anyone give me another example of a parallel scenario and card combo? Whenever I see something like this that's unusual I always like to have a couple of scenarios to show so people can understand more easily.
I can't think of another card combo that is identical to this, but it is somewhat similar to the reason Exiled Force can tribute itself to destroy a monster, or Cannon Soldier can tribute itself to inflict 500 damage, even when Skill Drain is on the field. They just happen to be tributing themselves as a cost instead of the card that is negating them, but it might help draw the parallel.
 
That works for me as far as a parallel explination. Often times, when there is a hard to fathom ruling, it's much easier if you give a sim. example so people can grasp and relate to it. This should help me do so, thanks :)
 
Emergency Provision effect of send Spell/Trap to to the graveyard, yes true it is a cost.

But if Imperial Order were face-up and Emergency Provision was to be activated, it would be negated and you wouldn't send any cards to the graveyard.

Emergency Provision is a "effect" that allows you to send Spell/Trap cards to the graveyard as a "cost". It isn't a cost to activate it. Emergency Provision must resolve before sending Spell/Trap cards to graveyard. Imperial Order would negate it.

An example would be like Mystik Wok. Yea true it is a "cost" but not to activate it. And fact that it is a "cost", you can send monsters that are unaffected by Spell cards, like Legendary Fisherman or Horus the Black Flame Dragon Lv6, when it resolves.

This would be an incorrect example:
Player A: activates Mystik Wok and offers Lv6 Horus (upon activation)
Player B: chains Magic Jammer

See what I mean? Player A lost a monster for no reason.

Imperial Order would negate the "effect" of Emergency Provision, so no sending cards to the graveyard as a "cost" through the "effect"
 
:) Do you think you're the first one to argue this point with the FIRM belief that you're right Strike-Ninja?

I had to eat some pretty untasty crow when I argued with the same logic as you did yesterday! <laffin>

If I would have been a little wiser I would have checked the FAQ first. It states that it works in the last line.

Imperial Order doesn't stop a spell card from being activated. Part of the activation of Emergency Provisions is paying the cost. Emergency Provisions isn't completely activated until the cost is paid....at that point Imperial Order isn't on the field anymore to negate the effect of the player gaining the 1000 lp.

Yeah, I know, a hard pill to swallow. I'm still choking on it a bit <grabbing a Diet Coke>
 
John Danker said:
:) Do you think you're the first one to argue this point with the FIRM belief that you're right Strike-Ninja?

I had to eat some pretty untasty crow when I argued with the same logic as you did yesterday! <laffin>

If I would have been a little wiser I would have checked the FAQ first. It states that it works in the last line.

Imperial Order doesn't stop a spell card from being activated. Part of the activation of Emergency Provisions is paying the cost. Emergency Provisions isn't completely activated until the cost is paid....at that point Imperial Order isn't on the field anymore to negate the effect of the player gaining the 1000 lp.

Yeah, I know, a hard pill to swallow. I'm still choking on it a bit <grabbing a Diet Coke>

LoL Wow are you serious?

You're correct on the other statement too. :)

The real logic is that it would work is that the facts state thisfrom Card Registry:

Sending Spell and Trap Cards on your side of the field to the Graveyard is a cost for activating this card.

Of course Imperial Order does not negate that.

Iv'e always looked at Emergency Provision effect, when it resolves sending cards to the graveyard is then cost. I never knew it was a cost to activate the actual card.


grabs inhaler and inhales.... but it's empty lol
 
StRiKe_NiNjA said:
An example would be like Mystik Wok. Yea true it is a "cost" but not to activate it. And fact that it is a "cost", you can send monsters that are unaffected by Spell cards, like Legendary Fisherman or Horus the Black Flame Dragon Lv6, when it resolves.

This would be an incorrect example:
Player A: activates Mystik Wok and offers Lv6 Horus (upon activation)
Player B: chains Magic Jammer

See what I mean? Player A lost a monster for no reason.


Would Mystik Wok be ruled the same way if Imperial Order were face-up?
 
I'm confussed one person says that you don't have to send a s/t to the graveyard to activate EP and others say you do.

The way I read the ruleing on the card is that you have to send a card to the graveyard to activate EP.

Which is correct answer?
 
I would say yes, since tributing a monster is a cost for activating 'Mystik Wok'; however, you would not get the life point gain if 'Imperial Order' was active on the field.
 
BURN said:
I'm confussed one person says that you don't have to send a s/t to the graveyard to activate EP and others say you do.

The way I read the ruleing on the card is that you have to send a card to the graveyard to activate EP.

Which is correct answer?

The correct answer is YES, you send the cards to the graveyard as a cost to activate 'Emegency Provisions'.
 
BURN said:
I'm confussed one person says that you don't have to send a s/t to the graveyard to activate EP and others say you do.

The way I read the ruleing on the card is that you have to send a card to the graveyard to activate EP.

Which is correct answer?

It is a cost of activation, as stated earlier in the thread just like it's a cost of activation to tribute Exiled Force to use it's effect.
 
BURN said:
So if you have a swords of reveling light on the field and it is going off the field can you use EP to gain 1000 lp?

Sure, as long as you catch it before it's off the field. Tag it with Emergency provisions in your opponent's main phase 2 and you gain 1000lp
 
BURN said:
So if you have a swords of reveling light on the field and it is going off the field can you use EP to gain 1000 lp?
Yes you can. You activate EP on your opponent's End Phase on his/her 3rd turn and use SoRL for the cost to gain 1000 LP.
 
Yes, if it was the end of your opponent's 3rd turn on the 'Swords', then you could activate 'Emergency Provisions' during the End Phase and send 'Swords' to the Graveyard to gain 1000 Life Points.

Or you could do it anytime after the Battle Phase, it doesn't matter, just as long as you do it before your opponent's turn has completely ended.
 
Back
Top