end of anubis vs dark world monsters

I haven't had anytime to really look at this, but I was asked the question from some players at my local shop, does End of Anubis stop the effects of the dark world monsters since they are activating in the graveyard? I am going to have to post something in the "are you stressed post" but I can't find a moment to do it. Thanks in advance to those who provide input.
 
-Fires a volley of Monkeys-

The OCG and the TCG both agree that Exiled Force is not a Graveyard Effect. They also agree that Peten is a Graveyard Effect. Personal views need to be prefaced with "Well I think ... should be a ..." Emergency Provisions is not a Graveyard Effect although you could chain them to each other and both would go there as costs before the effects go on the chain by your logic. These are just facts of the game. An effect is only a Graveyard Effect if it is either Triggered by going to the Graveyard or is manually activated once it is in the Graveyard. That is all.
 
Ahem. Well I think Exiled Force should be a graveyard effect. Well I think activation costs should be a pre-activation event. As is portrayed in the show, and by all logic of what activation is defined as. No offense, but people are always telling me Exiled is not a graveyard effect, and then never giving a real reason why. Basically, I believe I'm right, and will continue to believe I'm right until something comes along to change that. Now, who wants some Monkey-target practice?
-pssvr
 
lol...thank god you guys are answering this...

i would have tried to give a 1 line answer and ended up with a 3 page essay on it...LOL

Im just going to sit an watch on this one. :)
 
Nova, we can't argue correctly without you! Seriously, you're all liek ttly brilsliant nd stough! Com on an joinn n are argument. </kidding> Really, join in!

-pssvr
 
The way i see it...there is no arguement here (no offence)...

The posts by Rai, Skey and Anthony respectively are clear, concise, and complete...nothing more to say.
 
No offense taken, nova. But to me the fact that the show displays costs paid before activation, and that negating activation does not negate the cost, are together more than enough evidence to warrant an argument.

-pssvr
 
Meh. If both me and novastar are arguing for the same side, we soon split on the semantics of a technicality. Just for fun.
pssvr said:
Ahem. Well I think Exiled Force should be a graveyard effect. Well I think activation costs should be a pre-activation event. As is portrayed in the show, and by all logic of what activation is defined as.
Activation is defined as the setting in motion of something. In this case, an effect. Like pushing a boulder off a cliff.

Now, when I push that boulder, am I activating it from where I contact it, or am I activating it from where I stop applying force?
pssvr said:
No offense, but people are always telling me Exiled is not a graveyard effect, and then never giving a real reason why. Basically, I believe I'm right, and will continue to believe I'm right until something comes along to change that. Now, who wants some Monkey-target practice?
-pssvr
Exiled Force is not a graveyard effect because the starting location the instant before activation is carried out is on the field, same as Wave Motion Cannon. Wave Motion Cannon is also sent to the graveyard when you activated it, but it can be negated by Imperial Order because the activation starts on the field.

Edit: ONE MORE THING.

You may be tempted to think of the point of activation as where you activate it TO (where it ends up at the end of activation) rather than where you activate it FROM (where it starts off when you declare the activation).
 
Raij: I'll admit, I'm a little confused. Are you saying that the card is treated as being where it was just before activation? Forgive me if I've completely misunderstood.

-pssvr
 
You know, that actually makes perfect sense. You are one heck of an explainer, sir. I've had a lot of people say that, but it never made sense until I heard it from you. I wish I had an award to give you.

-pssvr
 
...and to add... regarding your cost arguement...

Activation "negation" is a common point of confusion for a lot of people.

The truth is... that negating a card's (or effect for that matter) activation will simply remove the Chain Link from the Chain Block. Thus creating an unsuccessful activation (and preventing all side effects with it).

So, the reason that cost is never refunded, is because negating activation DOES NOT mean that you didn't attempt to activate, and cost is paid as part of that attempt...

Just as negating a Tribute Summon does not give you your tribute monster back, and the game still counts it as your "one Normal Summon or Set" for that turn and prevents you from performing another one.
 
But haven't we argued this one to 7 shades of purple already. Do you really want to go back to me restating that the effect has to come from somewhere in order for it to happen. Or shall we re-open that thread if there is still an issue. Better yet, since Curtis seems to absolutely love answering questions that have already been answered before on the Judge's List we could repost the question there and get another answer on it. It just seems pointless when we do have agreement between Konami and UDE and have discussed something on completely different threads months apart with the same outcome each time that we re-open it yet again. Even if the cost is paid prior to the effect activating the effect is activating on the field. The card can be in the grave if you want, but the effect is still activating on the field.

-Edit- Must type faster. I looked away for a moment and missed the whole end of the discussion. :)
 
Back
Top