Horus Lv 6 vs Dark Necrofear

Milo di Scorpio

New Member
Easy question...i think...

SCENARIO:

Player A has Horus Lv 6
Player B has Dark Necrofear
Player A use Smashing Ground and destroy Dark Necrofear

End Phase
Dark Necrofear equip Horus Lv 6

Is Horus Lv 6 unaffected by the effect of Dark Necrofear?
 
Jason is correct. The Turn Player can choose to resolve effects they control or may pass and allow the Non-Turn Player the chance to resolve effects that they control. Once the Non-Turn Player passes back the Turn Player must now resolve any other outstanding effects and then the Non-Turn Player will have to do the same. This question has been answered many times, Strike Ninja/IMT vs. Dark Necrofear was one occurrence I recall.
 
anthonyj said:
Jason is correct. The Turn Player can choose to resolve effects they control or may pass and allow the Non-Turn Player the chance to resolve effects that they control. Once the Non-Turn Player passes back the Turn Player must now resolve any other outstanding effects and then the Non-Turn Player will have to do the same. This question has been answered many times, Strike Ninja/IMT vs. Dark Necrofear was one occurrence I recall.
So, in theory, as long as I have more "Standby Phase" effects, I can still resolve my Lava Golem last, which is what I said.
 
hm... no.
say you have 'Mirage of Nightmare' and 'Lava Golem' to be resolved, your opponent only has 'Snatch Steal'.
you: "I don't want to resolve anything right now, do you?"
opp: "no, you resolve"
you: "I resolve 'Mirage of Nightmare' now" *resolves*
you: "I don't want to resolve anything right now, do you?"
opp: "no, you resolve"
you: "I resolve 'Lava Golem' now" *resolves*
you: "I resolved everything, now it's your turn"
opp: "I resolve 'Snatch Steal' now" *resolves*
End of Standby Phase.

your opponent will always be able to pass priority back to you, so unless HE wishes otherwise, YOU will always have to resolves ALL your effects first.
 
you: "I don't want to resolve anything right now, do you?"
opp: "no, you resolve"
you: "I resolve 'Mirage of Nightmare' now" *resolves*
you: "I don't want to resolve anything right now, do you?"
opp: "no, you resolve"
you: "I resolve 'Lava Golem' now" *resolves*
you: "I resolved everything, now it's your turn"
opp: "I resolve 'Snatch Steal' now" *resolves*
End of Standby Phase.
Bolded statement is false. OP must resolve an effect now. He already skimped out before, he can't do it again.
 
Cropz said:
and why not?
Because.

For the same reason that TP can't keep skimping out over and over, OP can't either. These things must be taken care of. It's like when you are at the airport and have to pee, but you're about to miss your flight, so you just hold it. Well, when you land, now you MUST pee at this airport. You CAN'T just get on your connection without taking care of business first. You put it off once, you can't put it off again.

What a great simile.
 
Jason_C said:
Because.

For the same reason that TP can't keep skimping out over and over, OP can't either. These things must be taken care of. It's like when you are at the airport and have to pee, but you're about to miss your flight, so you just hold it. Well, when you land, now you MUST pee at this airport. You CAN'T just get on your connection without taking care of business first. You put it off once, you can't put it off again.

What a great simile.
But wait, didn't you say this earlier...
Jason_C said:
And you as the TP MUST resolve your effects before the opponent MUST resolve their effects.
Correct me if I'm wrong, but that's EXACTLY what is happening in cropz' example. The Turn Player is resolving all of his/her effects before the opponent.
 
Cropz said:
the thing is, once the Turn Player resolves his effect, you restart the cycle, Priority is not passed to the opponent.
(yes, great... :p)
Ooooh...wait! What about 'the opponent of the controller of the last effect to resolve' is the one that gets Priority? If that holds true, then your scenario is indeed incorrect..lol.
 
Let me explain a little bit better since I got no response to my last post...lol.

you: "I don't want to resolve anything right now, do you?"
opp: "no, you resolve"
you: "I resolve 'Mirage of Nightmare' now" *resolves*

Now, if it holds true that the opponent of the controller of the last effect to resolve gains Priority, then this is how it would end up working out.

Priority would automatically pass to the opponent after your effect resolves.
opp: "I don't want to resolve anything right now, do you?"
you: "no, you resolve"
opp: "I resolve 'Snatch Steal' now" *resolves*

Again, priority switches to the opponent of the controller of the last effect to resolve. That's you!

you: "I don't want to resolve anything right now, do you?"
opp: "no, you resolve"
you: "I resolve 'Lava Golem' now" *resolves*

And again priority is passed back to opponent.
opp: "I have nothing else to resolve."
you: "I have nothing else to resolve."

End of Standby Phase.

At least that's how I see it working.
 
skey23 said:
But wait, didn't you say this earlier...
Correct me if I'm wrong, but that's EXACTLY what is happening in cropz' example. The Turn Player is resolving all of his/her effects before the opponent.
I disagree with my earlier statements. I thought I said that?
 
skey23 said:
So, then do you agree with my scenario above?
No.

I do not EVER accept the theory that the opponent of the controller of the last effect to resolve, henceforth known as TOOTCOTLETR, gains priority.

I disagree with my earlier statements. The statements made quite recently I stand by.
 
Jason_C said:
I disagree with my earlier statements. The statements made quite recently I stand by.
Ok, I'm confused now..lol. I just re-read this entire thread and you NEVER changed your stance. The statement I quoted has been your stance since your 1st post, up until you just said you don't agree with it anymore...


So....which is it?
 
Big Oldprankster said:
I don't quite agree with you here. Your statement would be correct if the turn player controlled both effects trying to activate, but he does not. Turn player controls Horus and non turn player controls Dark Necrofear. There is a question similar to this on one of the judge tests. The answer was when the turn player enters the end phase he can choose to use priority or pass. The non turn player has choice to activate Dark Nercofear's effect or can choose to pass at this time. Now choice goes back to turn player. If he chooses not to activate Horus's effect then it will not happen. Next non turn player has choice to activate Necrofear's effect. If they choose not to activate then Necrofear stays in the graveyard. These cards were not the cards in the question by the way but it is the same scenerio.

Horus Lv 6 has an ignition effect, ignition effects are definition completely optional.

Dark Necrofear's effect of taking control of a monster is mandatory.

If those are the only 2 effect waiting to resolve/activate in the end phase, when the turn player passes priority to the Opponent, the Opponent must activate Dark Necrofear's effect.
 
skey23 said:
Ok, I'm confused now..lol. I just re-read this entire thread and you NEVER changed your stance. The statement I quoted has been your stance since your 1st post, up until you just said you don't agree with it anymore...


So....which is it?
Post #s 18-22 are all accurate and reflect opinions of me, masterwoo0, and Anthony.

Post # 29 is where you quoted two of my statements that conflict.
 
Back
Top