Michizure

L

last_impression

Guest
Card text:
You can activate this card when a monster is sent from the field to your Graveyard. Destroy 1 monster on the field.

So does that mean my opponents monster or mine? because it doesn't specifie wich ...
 
Digital Jedi said:
The last thing to happen would be the Damage Step ending? Well isn't the monster going to the Graveyard and the Damage Step ending the same thing? Like a simultaneous event.
No, the Damage Step does not officially end until the response timing for that event (the monster being sent) has been resolved, or passed on by both players.
 
densetsu_x said:
Because when you leave the Damage Step to go to the End Step of the Battle Phase, the last thing to happen is a Step/Phase change and as such, you missed the timing.
Just to make sure you know, once the Damage Step ends you go back to the Battle Step. That is the cycle.

When you finally both pass at the Battle Step, you proceed to the End Step, and then when you pass on the End Step the Battle Phase ends.

This is important, as Goblin Attack Force remains in Attack Position until the you enter the End Step.
 
DaGuyWitBluGlasses said:
DaGuyWitBluGlasses said:


The monster is sent to the graveyard, if their are any "When this card is sent to the graveyard" effects (Like Sangan) they activate and resolve in the damage step... Rope of Life can be activated as wel.



Then when all (if any) effects are resolved the damage step ends.
This is one of those things concerning the Damage Step that has always had me a little confused. Let me see if I understand correctly.



Damage Sub-step 5 is the sub-step where the monster is considered destroyed and effects like Man-Eater Bug and Penguin Soldier resolve, correct? After this, in Sub-step 6, destroyed monsters are sent to the Graveyard and Special Summoning effects that require a monster to be sent to the Graveyard activate now. If I'm right so far, I can understand why you can't activate Michizure here because it truly is the Damage Step and the monster is on it's way to the Graveyard. I guess what I'm asking is how finite is the window of opportunity here? What I mean to say is, the sub-step is a extremely small portion of the Damage Step to begin with, are we further dissecting this particular Damage Sub-step into separate parts where the monster is still on the field in one part, removed from the field in the next part, then in the Graveyard in another part and then we leave the Damage Step?



Or is this sub-step one complete action where the monster is just sent to the Graveyard in one fell swoop and the Damage Step is over? I'm pretty sure it's the ladder. If it is, then I could understand if there is a Giant Rat resolving in this portion of the Damage Step how you also can't activate Michizure. A monster hitting the Graveyard is definitely not the last thing to happen, then.



But if both players pass on the chain and no effects are trying to resolve, what specifically has occurred at the conclusion of Damage Sub-step 6 that prevents activation of Michizure? Is it the actual step change that causes you to miss the timing? Is, in this instance, exiting the Damage Step and reentering the Battle Step in actuality the last thing to happen and not the sending of a monster to the Graveyard?
 
novastar said:
Just to make sure you know, once the Damage Step ends you go back to the Battle Step. That is the cycle.

When you finally both pass at the Battle Step, you proceed to the End Step, and then when you pass on the End Step the Battle Phase ends.

This is important, as Goblin Attack Force remains in Attack Position until the you enter the End Step.

Battle Phase --> 1. Start Step <-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-|
| . . . . . . . . . . .2. Battle Step . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .|
| . . . . . . . . . . .3. Damage Step -->Battle Again? Yes|? . No|?
| . . . . . . . . . . .4. End Step <-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=|

If you decide to battle again you go to the Start Step.
 
If you do decide to attack again, you DO NOT go back to the Start Step.

The Start Step occurs once, at the very beginning of the Battle Phase. It is the entering of the Battle Phase, that's it. It is the "At the start of the Battle Phase" Chain Point. You pulled your quote from the Training FAQ on the Official Site, which is vague and incorrect.

Pages 25-28 of the Official Rulebook 5.0 state specifically the flow of the Battle Phase.

~Turn Player declares the start of the Battle Phase
1.) <Start Step> If the Turn Player wishes not to attack -> proceed to <End Step>

2.) <Battle Step>-----------------------|
3.) <Damage Step>---> Battle Again? Yes| No|
4.) <End Step>------------------------------|
~Both players pass and end the Battle Phase

Additionally, Replay will rewind back to the beginning of the Battle Step, NOT the Start Step.

I was only slightly vague in one aspect, you choose at the end of the Damage Step whether you are going to attack again or not. If not, you proceed to the End Step. However, you could still choose to attack again, go back to the Battle Step, and still decide not to attack, and proceed to the End Step directly from the Battle Step.
 
Battle Step starts with an attack declaration.

Well, I guess that would still fit in, as the Draw Phase similarly begins with a draw.

But if both players pass on the chain and no effects are trying to resolve, what specifically has occurred at the conclusion of Damage Sub-step 6 that prevents activation of Michizure? Is it the actual step change that causes you to miss the timing? Is, in this instance, exiting the Damage Step and reentering the Battle Step in actuality the last thing to happen and not the sending of a monster to the Graveyard?

The ending of a phase (or in this case, a step) is actually when there is no Last Event and both players pass normal turn priority. When the monster is sent to the graveyard, both players get a chance to respond to that as the Last Event.

If either player chooses to respond to the event, or a triggered effect responds to the event, then that Response chain would have to resolve and it would create a new Last Event. Then both players would get a chance to respond, and if either one chooses to or if there is a triggered effect, a new chain and new Last Event would be created, until there is no more triggered effect and neither player wants to respond to a Last Event.

If both players pass on responding to a Last Event, then that Last Event is cleared from the game's memory. Then, the turn player would be allowed to activate an effect free from a Response chain (this is the only time you would be able to play a Speed 1 Magic Card or play a monster from hand, or change a monster's mode, by the way).

If the turn player declines to activate an effect and the opponent declines to activate an effect, then the turn (or phase) would end. There would be no triggered effects to worry about, as there is no Last Event, and thus, no chain, that has triggered them.
 
Back
Top