Royal Oppression

kingpinopie

Himoura Shinta
Ok... Royal Oppression... can it negate ANY special summon?? BLS.. Nimbles... etc?? and do you have to pay 800 each time you negate ??
 
Wait....that JUST hit me! How can the "Megazord" come back from the Graveyard?? I know the rulings say it can, but it's a Fusion Monster. In order for it to be 'properly summoned' it has to be Fusion Summoned properly....doesn't it???
 
They removed this ruling:

yet, these are still on here:
http://entertainment.upperdeck.com/yugioh/en/faq_gameplay.aspx


  • The proper method to summon a Fusion Monster is via a "Fusion Summon". A Fusion Summon can only be performed using "Polymerization" or "Fusion Gate". Any other method of playing these monsters is not a proper summon, and if the monster is then sent to the Graveyard it cannot be revived with "Monster Reborn". Some Fusion Monsters have additional restrictions.


  • [font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]CAN I USE "Monster Reborn" ON MY "Armed Dragon LV7"?[/font] [font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Added January 2005 [/font]
    [font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]No, you will never be able to Special Summon "Armed Dragon LV7" with "Monster Reborn" because "Armed Dragon LV7" is a monster that can only be Special Summoned by the method described in its text. These monsterscan be identified by the text "This card cannot be Normal Summoned or Set. This card cannot be Special Summoned except by "¦". This means that the method described after the "except by" is the only way that monster can ever be Summoned. This prevents it from being Special Summoned from the Graveyard with "Monster Reborn", "Call of the Haunted", or any other effect, even if it was properly Summoned by its own effect first. Some earlier prints of cards do not have the "This card cannot be Special Summoned except by"¦" text, but are still included in this category of monsters. These cards include "Exodia Necross", "Berserk Dragon", "Mirage Knight", and the XYZ Fusion Monsters.

    [/font]
 
masterwoo0 said:
XYZ Family monsters no longer have the "Except By" text, which makes them consistent with the other released Machine Fusions

VW-Tiger Catapult, and VWXYZ-Dragon Catapult Cannon
But, just removing the word 'except' doesn't change the fact they are Fusion Monsters. And by definition the ONLY way to properly summon Fusion Monsters is by a Fusion Summon. There are currently only 5 ways to Fusion Summon a Fusion Monster, if I'm not mistaken. "Polymerization", "Fusion Gate", "Power Bond", "Miracle Fusion" and "Dragon's Mirror".

Now, which one of these methods is being used to Special Summon the VWXYZ monsters?
 
So now we're looking at a possible Royal Oppression / Graceful Charity / 2 Dark World Monsters scenario.

Both Dark World Monsters activate at the same time when discarded from the hand via Graceful Charity, a face up and active Royal Oppression on the field, any reason it can't be chained to their simultanious activations? If so, would it / could it be chained to itself to negate both of the Dark World Monsters special summons? (haven't had the chance to think this one all the way through as I'm at work now)
 
John Danker said:
So now we're looking at a possible Royal Oppression / Graceful Charity / 2 Dark World Monsters scenario.

Both Dark World Monsters activate at the same time when discarded from the hand via Graceful Charity, a face up and active Royal Oppression on the field, any reason it can't be chained to their simultanious activations? If so, would it / could it be chained to itself to negate both of the Dark World Monsters special summons? (haven't had the chance to think this one all the way through as I'm at work now)

The SEGOC chain will prevent chaining to the first Dark World Monster. Only the second would be able to have the summon negated by Royal Oppression.
 
So how is it determined which activates first and which activates second, I take it that it would be the controller's choice and they need to specify at the time of activation.
 
You are correct John. Rules of SEGOC. If one player controls multiple effects that are being placed in the same 'section' of the SEGOC chain, that player gets to choose which effect will go where in that particular 'section'.

Funny enough, I'm explaining all of this over at the UDE forums site right now...lol.
 
John Danker said:
So how is it determined which activates first and which activates second, I take it that it would be the controller's choice and they need to specify at the time of activation.

Exactly. It is just like any other SEGOC situation. There is really no difference between Royal Oppression vs Dark Worlders than there was with Sangan and Witch vs. Divine Wrath. Earlier chain links are protected from negation (unless you can get some kind of preventer into play before resolution (ie. Jowgen, or The End of Anubis)
 
I'd imagine that after the new list comes out people are going to be looking for ways to battle Dark World monsters, this is a good couple of posts to take note of as I'm sure we'll see Royal Oppression pop up considerably more often, at least as a side deck item.
 
The difference between Royal Oppression and Divine Wrath is that, although both negate and destroy the cards in question, DW also negates the activation. This leads me to believe that, since the activation of the effect was negated, this is the reason why VL or Sacred Phoenix never leave the graveyard, whereas with Royal Oppression the activation is not negated, so the cards still attempt to get their effects off. Since this happens, they are still "destroyed" by the effect, even though they never really made it to the field.



Well, this is just my look on it anyway.

Edit--

ignore this post, I didn't realize there were more pages in this thread. ^^;
 
Back
Top