Skilled Dark Magician vs. Double Spell

I guess Wave-Motion Cannon doesn't work with Double Spell. =/ If it did we'd see a lot more Double Spell in our Side Boards being used as Anti-Burn cards to bring back Wave-Motion Cannon and then using our own actual Wave-Motion Cannons on them.

But what about cards like Swords of Revealing Light? I mean, it was never officially activated and thus it shouldn't be a legal target for Double Spell as it wouldn't do anything. Sure it would sit on the field but since it isn't a Continuous Spell card wouldn't it just be destroyed via Game Mechanics?


EDIT: Just read the ruling. Wow, I'm really horrible at this. At least Alan Hockman was right, I don't stop until it drives me insane..xD
 
Tkwiget said:
I guess Wave-Motion Cannon doesn't work with Double Spell. =/ If it did we'd see a lot more Double Spell in our Side Boards being used as Anti-Burn cards to bring back Wave-Motion Cannon and then using our own actual Wave-Motion Cannons on them.

But what about cards like Swords of Revealing Light? I mean, it was never officially activated and thus it shouldn't be a legal target for Double Spell as it wouldn't do anything. Sure it would sit on the field but since it isn't a Continuous Spell card wouldn't it just be destroyed via Game Mechanics?


EDIT: Just read the ruling. Wow, I'm really horrible at this. At least Alan Hockman was right, I don't stop until it drives me insane..xD
Not neccasarily. Swords only counts turns, but doesn't care whether they were after activation or not like Wave-Motion specifically says it does. I may be wrong about the cannon, but Konami seems to like to put these little technicalities in everything.

Swords is a legal target. Its abiltiy to stay on the field for three turn isn't dependant on being "activated". It's just part of how it functions.
 
Then cards with the word "activation" in their text don't work with Double Spell. That I'm understanding very clearly. Now cards like Swords of Revealing Light that don't state whether the turns are being counted after they officially were activated or not I'm starting to understand.

8^D Good thing I brought all this up for discussion. =) Because how I originally viewed Double Spell in working before I checked with you guys was that the spell card being used that was being used from my opponent's Graveyard would be activated. However, this is all new game mechanics to me as I'm still trying to feel like I'm qualified enough to take the Level 2 test.

I find cards like Double Spell and the mechanics behind them to be rather interesting.

The original ruling I was coming up with before all of this discussion was that Skilled Dark Magician would gain two Spell Counters. One from both Spell card. However, since I now know that the card from the graveyard being used isn't officially activated. =) Saves me some advil for later discussions. XDXDXDXD
 
DJ where is the world did you get the idea that Double Spell doesn't actually "activate" the card?

All Spell Cards activated by Double Spell are considered "Activated" you just can't chain to that activation because it occurs inside resolution of Double Spell.

Wave-Motion Cannon is completely unaffected by this, and would operate as normal.

As far as the original question is considered, SDM only recieves 1 Spell Counter, as "you" are not activating the second Spell... Double Spell is... that is also the reason why Curse of Darkness doesn't inflict damage, not because of the ruling they give.
 
I got it from the rulings Nova

When "Curse of Darkness" is active, and you activate "Double Spell", you take 1000 damage for activating "Double Spell" but not for the target of "Double Spell", because it is not considered "activated".

When "Double Spell" is played, you get a Spell Counter on this monster for the activation of "Double Spell", but not for the target of "Double Spell" because the target is never activated; so you get 1 Spell Counter on this monster.
 
novastar said:
DJ where is the world did you get the idea that Double Spell doesn't actually "activate" the card?
I was in the middle of typing a big giant response beginning something very similar to what you said.

Then I re-read ALL the rulings for "Double Spell" and came across the ones that DJ posted after you, so I deleted all that I had worked on cause I felt kinda stoopid at that point.

I hate it when common sense conflicts with Konami's rulings.
 
densetsu_x said:
DJ

Except you forgot the first ruling:

You select the card you are activating in your opponent's Graveyard when you activate "Double Spell". "Double Spell" can then be chained to after you announce your selection.

So when Double Spell resolves, the card you selected will activate (by the effect of Double Spell).
I don't see how that changes the fact that rulings say the card is never activated.
 
novastar said:
The Curse of Darkness ruling is incorrect, i will qoute myself again.

"As far as the original question is considered, SDM only recieves 1 Spell Counter, as "you" are not activating the second Spell... Double Spell is..."

That is also the reason why Curse of Darkness doesn't inflict damage, not because of the ruling they give.

Double Spell works very similar to Bait Doll.
Apparently the reasons have been changed. Just like the ruling that a Normal Spell Card or similar wil not use up a Spell/Trap Zone is a change.
 
novastar said:
That is not a change, you never did pull Normal Spell Cards out of the Graveyard, Double Spell was always ruled that way.

Only cards of a continuous nature were required to have a free Spell/Trap Zone.
I remember reading the old ruling for Double Spell back when I used to run it. It very clearly stated that you had to have two available Spell/Trap Zones to activate it whether you tageted a Continuous Spell Card or not.
 
Netrepâ„¢ 200



A: If you activate "Double Spell" and select a Continuous, Field, or Equip Spell Card, or "Swords of Revealing Light," you place the selected Spell Card in your Spell & Trap Card Zone, so you need 2 vacant Spell & Trap Card Zone spots (1 for "Double Spell," 1 for the selected card). The Continuous/Field/Equip/"Swords of Revealing Light" Spell Card then remains on the field as normal. bishop, 12/18/2003


Q: After a continuous card has been activated by "Double Spell," does "Double Spell" stay on the field until the continuous card is destroyed?


A: "Double Spell" will go the Graveyard after resolving. It does not remain on the field.
Q: Can You use "Magic Jammer" to negate the Spell Card that they activate from your Graveyard with "Double Spell"?
A: You cannot chain to the activation of the target Spell Card as you are already in the resolution of the Chain at that point.

Netrepâ„¢ 300 (no changes from 200)


Netrepâ„¢ 400
Double Spell

If "Double Spell" targets a non-continuous Spell Card, an extra space in the Spell Zone is not needed.

Continuous Cards activated through the effect of "Double Spell" go to the Spell/Trap zone of the player who activated "Double Spell."


Netrepâ„¢ 600

Continuous Cards activated through the effect of "Double Spell" go to the Spell/Trap zone of the player who activated "Double Spell".

If "Double Spell" targets a non-Continuous Spell Card, an extra space in the Spell Zone is not needed.

Spell Cards activated from the Graveyard by the effect of "Double Spell" must still have their Activation costs paid.

"Double Spell" vs. "Skilled Dark Magician" - If "Double Spell" successfully activates a Spell in


I believe you are quoting out of context. The ruling only said that you need 2 spaces to activate it targetting Swords of Revealing Light. IT never actually said that you "Always" need 2.
 
Thanks for the quotations DaGuy...

The first ruling specifically mentions Swords as an exception to the rule, where Normal Spell Cards are concerned. Simply because it takes on some continuous properties once resolved into play.

The Swords (and others like it) ruling does not apply to most Normal Spell Cards.

In general Double Spell will activate Normal Spell Cards from the graveyard of the opponent.
 
Back
Top