Tribute Token King: Blockman DPK-ENSE1

Okay, I was somewhat confused about how to play this card and thus I didn't rate it so far. But now I got some clarity from the metagame site, so I can finally rate it!

http://www.metagame.com/yugioh.aspx?tabid=33&ArticleId=4963

Okay, let's look at this lego dude.

Blockman
Rock EARTH
level 4

1000ATK 1500DEF

Effect
By Tributing this face-up card, Special Summon in Defense Position a number of "Block Tokens" (Rock-Type/EARTH/Level 4/ATK 1000/DEF 1500) equal to the number of turns this card has been face-up on your side of the field. These tokens cannot declare an attack.

---------------

Okay, the confusion I had was what's the "turn" count system goes. Well, according to this dude. It counts both your turn and your opponent's turn AND it count the turn you you played Blockman if you normal summoned it in face-up attack position.

Okay, so that's settled. Lets look at his stuff. His attack and defense is pretty poor. So stat wise, he's not gunna live long in battle. However, since it's stats are low, it's easily searchable by Sangan and Giant Rat. That's a good thing.

So like most "good" cards, it's effect is what makes this card good. You summon free tokens from the number of turns this card is face-up when you tribute itself. (Since it's tributing itself, you can only activate it's own tribute effect during your own main phase, either 1 or 2) Basically, the point is to have alot of tokens. And these tokens have no restrictions other then that it cannot attack, so it means they can be tributed for tribute summon.

And man, since it DOES count the turn you summoned it, if you summon Blockman, and then protect it 1 turn of your foe, (Like Saku so your foe doesn't attack it to destroy it) then at your next turn, it's been 3 turns so by tributing Blockman, you get 3 free tributable Token. 3 Tributable tokens? Bling bling, yeah, I was like "Gilford the Lightning THAT ****!" (Or Moisture Creature.) Heck, make a good Blockman deck and Gilford might actually be playable! *gasp* This is something not even the mighty Treeborn Frog can do, making Gilford "usable".

But Gilford isn't the only options. Just regular level 7-8 monsters can do in here too. Like say Phoenix can work here, The Creator can work here, BEWD can work here, DMoC can work, heck we can throw in Ancient Gear Golem for ultra piercing can work here.

Not just Tribute monsters, but also Rituals. Unlike Scapegoats, or even Ojama Tokens your opponent gives you, these tokens are level 4! That's ALOT of stars. Meaning, your Ritual monsters will have a breese getting their Ritual monsters out. I mean look at it this way. You set Giant Rat, then at your foe's turn, they bust the rat and you special summon Blockman. Now at your turn, you tribute Blockman and you get 2 free level 4 tokens. A total of 8 stars can pretty much all you need for Ritual summons, and they're nothing but tokens! Or again, since you have 2 tokens for tribute, any lvl 7-8 monsters are a breeze with Giant Rat combo too.

Even without that, the point that your special summoning a bunch of tokens that have 1500DEF is alot better then Scapegoat, which have 0DEF. It's really an annoying wall. And that since Blockman is a Rock type, it does support Rock themes. Like say Megarock Dragon. You tribute Blockman immediately, get a Blockman token out, and still it's Megarock food. So no monster presence at all.

It's not just this, since your swarming your field with tokens, you can BURN them with stuff like Cannon Soldier or Mass Driver.

And oh yeah, one option not great is Meta. You "can" Metamorphosis this although in THIS case, definately not good as Scapegoat since you won't get a TER, but uhh... Darkfire Dragon? Yeah... forget that, don't meta it. That's just silly.







------------

Anyway, I'm gunna be pretty nice to this card since it'll somewhat make the impossible card Gilford the Lightning in the "maybe playable" range. Until we get Dandylion, this card is a pretty solid token creator. (I would say Dandylion is a Tribute GOD of tokens.)

A 8 out of 10

Need a deck theme, but when used right, it can help a whole alot of deck designs.
 
Yeah, so far, you can tribute it, and then normal tribute summon using tokens IF you didn't normal summon Blockman that turn. Cause there's no ruling for it.

And also, there's also no ruling about Blockman, so according to the metagame site, it counts all turns, your turn, my turn, the turn it was summoned.

But yeah, you have to tribute it with it's own card effect, meaning it's effect activation is only during your main phase 1 or 2. So no, it's not like Dandylion where when it get busted by any means (Or directly from hand to grave) it'll automatically pop tokens. You have to successfully stall and then tribute Blockman with it's own effect. Like I said in my review, it's no Dandylion brokeness, but it's still pretty darn good compared to other tribute options.
 
OCG Text Thanks to DMcomet said:
DD1-JP001
Blockman
Earth/Rock/4/1000/1500
Sacrifice this card, special summon number of [Block Token] (Earth/Rock/4/1000/500) onto your field
in defense mode equal to number of your turns this card is face-up on your field. The tokens cannot

also this card works that way in the EX06 game. so i dont know guys, i really think UDE misprinted this and will soon errated it. :)
declare attack.
 
Well, the reason you cannot summon with Scapegoat and Ojam trio is because of the cards' effect. not a ruling, per se. All the other token cards that do not include that restriction in their text, do not have that restriction period.
 
so your saying i can stray lamb for 1 token if i have 4 creatures on my board?

also the Blockman tokens cant attack so we need to remember to just use them as board precense and nothing more.
 
no its not dj look at the effect for stray lamb.

card regi said:
If you activate this card, you cannot Normal Summon, Flip Summon or Special Summon during this turn. Special Summon 2 "Lamb Tokens" (Beast-Type/EARTH/Level 1/ATK 0/DEF 0) in Defense Position on your side of the field.

now look at the ruling.
Ruling from Registry said:
You can't activate "Stray Lambs" unless you have at least 2 vacant Monster Card Zones.


now look at block man from tcg
[ycard="DPK-ENSE1" said:
Blockman[/ycard]]
[ycard="DPK-ENSE1" said:
By Tributing this face-up card, Special Summon in Defense Position a number of "Block Tokens" (Rock-Type/EARTH/Level 4/ATK 1000/DEF 1500) equal to the number of turns this card has been face-up on your side of the field. These tokens cannot declare an attack.
 
Yeah, you guys are forgetting that these Blockman Tokens cannot declare an attack. (They put that restrictions for a reason, they didn't want another weenie rush OTK deck designs like Rescue Cat.) So you SHOULD NOT equip these monsters with Cylthonian Allailance or UWS. What I would go for is to have another monster out with 4 Blockman Tokens, and THEN maybe UWS that new mosnter. But you can kinda do that with Scapegoat as well soo...
 
correct dj, and if the number of turns pass is 4 and you have 3 creatures on the board how will you summon 4 tokens?

by the number of turns, it refers to the number of tokens itll summon.

if 4 turns pass it places 4 tokens
if 1 turn passes it places 1 token.

so basically that line of text is an X text were it would say.

put into play X tokens on the Field were X is the amount of turns this card has been face up on the field.

so when the turns pass itll be saying.

Turn 1.
put into play 1 tokens on the Field were 1 is the amount of turns this card has been face up on the field.

Turn 2.
put into play 2 tokens on the Field were 2 is the amount of turns this card has been face up on the field.


Turn 3.
put into play 3 tokens on the Field were 3 is the amount of turns this card has been face up on the field.


notice that everyturn itll increase and hence forth want to add that amount of tokens not just a few tokens, or as many as you can, its equal to the turns its been out on the board and with the game restricted at 5 creature 5 s/t and 1 field spell you really dont have the option to keep it alive for 8 turns since it wont place 8 counters.

all itll do is just be tribbuted for nothing cuase you legally cannot place 8 tokens on the board.

I know nobody will belive me till UDE states this or the fact that it only counts your turns but hey when it happens we can all come back here and read about it right? :D
 
FAQ on UDE

The FAQ on UDE states this about Blockman:

[font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]BLOCKMAN[/font]
[font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]"Blockman's" effect only counts the number of your turns. The turn you Summon "Blockman" is the first turn.[/font]



So this explains the card in full. It is still a good card but it is not as playable as it was before this ruling.


Crash
 
It was never as playable to begin with even when it first came out. Even the OCG did not care about it. What is the point to the tokens though? What are the chances you needing 2 tokens for a Tribute summon or anything else? Dandy Lion all the way over this. A fatal flaw about this card is the second you go past 4 counters it becomes useless.
 
Blockman's still sutable for other effects. Not just Tribute Summons. Think Cannon Soldier and other seldom used effects.
 
[font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]BLOCKMAN[/font]
[font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]"Blockman's" effect only counts the number of your turns. The turn you Summon "Blockman" is the first turn.[/font]


Really? I don't see it on Ronin ruling. (Or if you click on blockman on this website.)
 
Back
Top