ChaosMachine
New Member
If Jinzo is one of the monsters special summoned by return from the different dimension will he negate them being removed from play at the end of the turn?
Maruno said:No. Return from the Different Dimension has already resolved, and so Jinzo cannot negate its effect. The removing from play again part of the Trap is a condition placed on the Special Summoned monsters which can only be removed from the monster if it is flipped face down or removed from the field.
That would not remove the condition. Only make it pointless, not remove it. There's a difference between negate and simply not be affected by.NLFW said:or if the special summoned monster is Elemental Hero Wildheart...
Players don't attack; monsters do. So Threatening Roar will not stop Wildheart.slither said:No, no please no more :'( I can't talk about Wildheart anymore, with the Threatning Roar vs Wildheart issue going on everywhere, its just too much...
![]()
Which is what distinguishes Threatening Roar form Thunder of Ruler. One will directtly affect the monster, the other will directly affect the phase.pssvr said:
Last Turn has nothing to do with many things because Last Turn's only initial effect is the sending of cards to the graveyard.pssvr said:No. Nothing can ever negate the effect of a card that has already resolved. RftDD qualifies as a lingering state, and cannot be negated.
*waits for someone to mention Jowgen vs Last Turn*
That is different. Jowgen does NOT negate the effect, only prevent the summoning.
-pssvr
I strongly disagree. <EDIT: Yeah, you read that right. I just basically said I think Mr. Danker is wrong. Lotta nerve, eh?> The problem is not how the wording is defined; the wording is flat wrong. Players do not attack, nor do they declare attacks. Players just guide their monsters, in the actual attacking process, only the monster is up for consideration. Hence why Horus the Black Flame Dragon LV6 laughs in the face of The Dark Door.John Danker said:It really comes down to how Konami / UDE decides to define the wording of the card. Does Threatening Roar target the player or the player's cards?
You're right, players don't attack....they do, however, DECLARE the attack. You can't attack with a monster until you DECLARE which one you're attacking with. If you're prevented from declaring then who's to know what monster you mean?
*EDIT* I should also add that Swords of Revealing Light says the same thing and we know that it doesn't stop monsters uneffected by spell cards from attacking <shrug>
As I said, it's all up to Konami's thought pattern at the moment.
You're basing that off of a translation of the Japanese anime, which is based off the Japanese manga.pssvr said:I strongly disagree. <EDIT: Yeah, you read that right. I just basically said I think Mr. Danker is wrong. Lotta nerve, eh?> The problem is not how the wording is defined; the wording is flat wrong. Players do not attack, nor do they declare attacks. Players just guide their monsters, in the actual attacking process, only the monster is up for consideration. Hence why Horus the Black Flame Dragon LV6 laughs in the face of The Dark Door.
We must never forget the show. Despite the elaborations of priority and junk like that, YGO is, in fact, based on the show. Which, in turn, is based on battles between monsters. These monsters are the ones who attack. I don't ever recall Yugi yelling, "I attack you directly with my Celtic Guardian!" I do, however, distinctly recall him saying, "Go, my Celtic Guardian, and attack his Life Points directly!"
The show. It pwns.
-pssvr
Ummm... Indeed I am... Is there something wrong with that? These discussions always make me feel so clueless... <grumble grumble>Raijinili said:You're basing that off of a translation of the Japanese anime, which is based off the Japanese manga.
No. The players "declare" the attack, but that doesn't make it any less the mosnter's attack. The monsters attack, even if the players announce it. And declaring an attack is treated the same as attacking, because of the wording issues.John Danker said:<laffin> Oh we're going to include the cartoon in on a debate of rulings now? THIS should get interesting!
I can't remember once one of the monsters speaking...though I must admit I don't watch the cartoon nearly as often as I judge <smirk> To the best of my recollection a declaration is to state formally or officially....I don't ever remember Blue Eyes White Dragon or Celtic Guardian telling their opponnent that they're attacking do you?