level modulation versus serial spell

woltarr

New Member
rules says that serial spell wont work with level up! because serial spell is unable to find a monster LV on the field in order to correct copy the effct of level up´ed creature

since level modulation dont have this problem because it can target any LV creature in grave , may i chain serial spell to it and special sumon 2 diferent Lv creatures ?

example ; my grave has 1 armed 7 properly sumoned before and 1 horus 6

woltarr
 
Tkwiget said:
Umm, Rising Energy requires you to have at least one card in hand. If you have no hand then you can't activate it. That's a requirement; thus, is an activation requirement.

Mobius the Frost Monarch must be Tribute Summoned successfully in order to activate. That's a requirement for the activation of Mobius the Frost Monarch.

Activation requirements in general are things that have to be met in order for those effects or cards to have a chance to activate.
Crud..you got me on both...lol...I got nothing...lol
 
First off if you have no eligible LV Monsters to Special Summon with Level Modulation then you can't activate it anyway. If your opponent has 1 or less cards in their deck you can't activate it.

Anyone else see how I see the "Your opponent draws 2 cards." is a cost rather than the effect?

EDIT: And Slither did butt in!
 
Tk, didn't I just say that I aGreed that your opponents cards are a cost?? I was agreeing with you.

I was just clearing up the difference between the "cost" and the "requirement", the requirement would be to have a Lv monster in the grave, and the cost that your opponent has 2 cards.
 
It's more on the problem of people throwing around "activation requirement" so loosely. It's vague that covers various card effects and wordings. Because of that it creates confusion around what something actually is.
 
Why can't the card simply have more than one activation requirement? If both requirements can be met, then you can activate it. Any other scenario would end up in you not being able to activate the card.

That seems simple enough to me..lol.
 
It would be simple, the problem is that costs are paid before the effect and Level Modulation states that the first thing that has to happen is that your opponent has to draw to cards, that makes it a cost.
 
Dragged Down into the Grave isn't worded to have a cost.

"You and your opponent look at each other's hands, select 1 card from each other's hands and discard them to the Graveyard, and each draw 1 card."

I bolded the commas for a reason. This is telling you the order in which things happen when this card resolves. Sure both players must have a card in hand and in their decks for this card to ever be activated. However, the point is this card has no cost no matter how long or what way you look at it. The commas simply are giving you the order in which things happen when the card is resolving. Nothing more and nothing less.
 
Actually, the only activation requirement is that both players have a card in hand. Both players could have no cards in the deck and you can still activate it.
 
So obviously the question that needs to be posted to the Judge's List is simply.

When you activate Level Modulation does the opponent draw the 2 cards at activation of the effect, or do they draw the 2 cards after the effect of Level Modulation resolves?

If the former then it would be a cost. If the latter then it is part of the effect.
 
The card text doesnt imply it any more than Creature Swap implies that monsters are selected at resolution.

To me, it shows what your opponent's action is once a LV Monster is Special Summoned.

The card is activated, resolves, and your opponent draws 2 cards while you get to summon a monster.
 
Back
Top